Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emeralds from Kent, England

Nice hotel and staff friendly and helpful

Posted May 30, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff. Hotel itself is nice, can imagine it to be very busy in the high season.
Cons: Wifi in rooms would be nice so you can plan your next day visits. TV had 15 channels, of that, only 1 was an english channel, the news.
Location: The hotel is situated within local houses, which is fine. There is ample parking for guests. Nice resturant at end of the road.
I recently stayed at this hotel (21-28 May 2014). There wern't many guest staying as it was out of season, but i didnt mind that. Unfortunatley the bar was closed 4 of the nights out of 7. You get 8 hours free wifi that can only be used at the reception area, after that, you have to pay for wifi. The pool was good, had the best pick of sun beds! Beach is about 4 minutes drive away, but to walk it would take about 30 minutes. The beach is amazing. Not many things were open whilst i was there as out of season, but there are a few good resturants near by - valentinas at the end of the road is nice. Breakfast was fine, you had a choice of meats, cheese, cakes etc - it was enough to fill you up for the day. Shame there wasnt many other guests but i enjoyed my stay in sardinia. A car is definatley needed to get around and see the place. Roads are fine to drive on, not much traffic at all. I was a bit worried about driving but shouldnt have worried, its fine. A good map would be useful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vik from Luxembourg

Great location, nice views..

Posted Jun 29, 2013
Pros: family friendly
Cons: no internet connection in the rooms
Location: Excellent beaches..poor connection with public transport
The hotel is next to an awesome beach. The hotel has a lot of staff to cater to kids and their entertainment and lots of activities for them, as well as a pleasant live music in the evenings..You pay for everything extra, but in reasonable amounts..but for living in this part of the island, its better to rent a car to travel to other parts..we luckily got a front row - sea-facing cottage room because our own room want ready when we checked in..but a lot of rooms have good views..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

gorgeous hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2012
Great location - few minutes away of walking till the beach, stunning hotel (very clean and exotic), helpful staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Families only and annoying shows

Posted Jul 4, 2012 on Hotels
This hotel is not recommended unless you are a middle class family with children. Although the rooms are fairly comfortable and the grounds fairly pleasant, the noisy breakfast with children (part of it in an ugly room), the unappealing industrial food, the various silly and loud shows (which you have to pay for even if you avoid them), would make the stay for a couple or group of friends a nightmare. The grounds are pleasant, the room and fairly large bathroom decent, but the hotel best feature is the continuous shuttle service to the beach. A word of warning: try to get a room as far as possible from the ugly swimming pool if you want to avoid the annoying shows.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Cala Rosa - Stintino

Posted May 17, 2011
I stayed at the hotel Cala Rosa for four days. The hotel is about 3km from the town of Stintino and about 1km from Pelosa beach. The walk into town is pleasant if you are fit. The hotel provides push bikes free of charge. There are buses into town, but only once or twice a day during low season so we decided to walk, the view is worth the walk. Although the rating is 4 star, I found the hotel quite basic, I would say that is more like a 3 star. I must say the staff were friendly, helpful and accomodating. The garden of the hotel was very well kept and the view from our room gave to a beautiful blue sea. The room was cleaned every morning to a good standard. The room's shower though wasn't very good and the water was scalding hot or very cold. The TV remote didn't work. The breakfast had a good selection of pastries, cereal and eggs (sometimes there was bacon), there was no fruit though which, I found disappointing. One afternoon we returned early but we couldn't get a drink because the bar only opened at 6pm, this might be because it was low season. Overall, the area of Stintino is beautiful, the restaurants offer excellent food, the hotel is convenient for the beach and clean but, don't expect luxury. I recommend that you rent a car if you want to travel around the island as public transport is erratic.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You'll Get What You Pay For.

Posted Jul 27, 2010 on Hotels
This hotel is affordable compared to other hotels around the beach. It is more like for families. The bed was not that comfortable and the room was kind of dingy, but after swimming under the sun, we did not care about the bed as long as the room was air-conditioned. There was a refrigerator, but it was not working.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

OK hotel

Posted Aug 16, 2009 on Hotels
Definitely a hotel for young, looking for fun people. The reps team was working very hard and very loud trying to entertain their guests all day. DO NOT be late for meals otherwise you will be told off and end up starving. The beach was a dissapointment - relatively small and very, very crowdy. We had to walk approx. 400m across a busy road. To get to the bars, clubs, etc. you will have to drive about a mile to Stintino - there is nothing near by the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stockholm

Otroligt mysigt och över förväntan (trots hårda sängar)

Posted Sep 20, 2008 on Hotels
Ett jättemysigt hotell med fantastisk trädgård. Hade dock förstått att det skulle finnas spabehandlingar på hotellet men det existerade inte. Jättetrevlig och serviceminded personal. Suveränt god mat och en väldigt generös frukostbuffé. En lugn oas där många italienare själva semestrar med familj. Barnvänligt med barnpool, gungor, rutschkanor, ordentliga barnstolar i restaurangen, transfer till och från Pelosa stranden (ca 15 min promenad) m.m. Vi åkte utan barn men kommer gärna tillbaka med hela familjen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from East Kilbride

Excellent Holiday Location

Posted Jul 29, 2008
Cala Rosa staff are very friendly and helpful. The hotel is about a 40 minute drive from Alghero Airport and easy to find. Food was good and the swimming pool was never busy, probably because the beaches are some of the best we've seen. The fact that residents can use the Yacht Club private beach area is a big plus. All in, we were very impressed with the hotel and Stinino.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Overrated and shabby

Posted Jan 23, 2008
I was really disapointed in this hotel.I can't believe it was a 4 star. (5 star when we booked!) The restaurant was not open for lunch during our stay and given what we ate in the evening it was a relief! The food was AWFUL- a weird mixture of German and Italian styles which did not work at all. Facilities such as a laundry service, babysitting and kids club do not operate out of the main July/August season so beware booking out of those months if you have children. Given that there was no lunch option we had to travel afield (thank god we hired a car) The restaurant at the bottom of the hill was gloomy and the staff were unbelievably rude. There are no interconnecting rooms for families despite the hotel giving that impression. The room was adequate but nothing special. The shower cubicle was TINY and it leaked dreadfully. Never found the private beach, and the staff tried to be helpful but their English was terribly limited. Sardinia is gorgeous but this hotle is NOT.