Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Long way to the town.

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Not much apart from scenery.
Cons: Food, more staff, and evening shuttle bus services to the town. They could organise the local excursions at the travel desk, in the lobby.
Location: Only beach.
Many foreign group tours; they were making quite some noise on the corridor. The room was on the first floor and very old fashioned. No English channels on TV. We stayed two nights, on the second day, we could find almost no food in the dinning room. Taste and quality was not excellent. There are not many staff around so that we were not looked after very well. Bus service to the town was not convenient, you should drive all the time, which means you cannot drink much alcohol at the restaurant. Private beach was too small to put so many beach beds, swimming pool was relatively small, and there is only one.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Great position, lovely beach but you have to pay to use it!

Posted Aug 10, 2009
Friendly staff at the desk. Porte Conte hotel has s a lovely beach with comfortable recliners. Sea great for all. You have to pay each day to use the beach. I was kept awake by ants all over the floor and in the bed plus cheap mattress. Functinal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Anne from Derbyshire

Great for young families

Posted Aug 10, 2008
This hotel is ideal for families travelling with young children. We had reserved a junior suite, which accommodated a family of 4 easily. First impressions of the hotel were that it was a little dated, but it was clean and had all the amenities that we needed. The restaurant had a variety of food available on the menu, which changed daily and everything that we selected was of good quality. The staff at the hotel were helpful with our queries and although our children didn't speak Italian the resort staff made an effort to include them in activities where possible. The best feature of the hotel is its location - on a protected, private beach with sea temperatures equating that of a warm bath. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation at this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from bucks

Average hotel with superb beach

Posted Oct 12, 2007
Not all staff were friendly and the majority of reception staff had poor command of English Language. Staff not always helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

okay

Posted Oct 7, 2007
This place is quite far from anything so it depends on what your looking for and it prob be best if you have a car. The rooms are very basic but at the same time clean. The beach is nice but we didnt get a chance to use the swimming pool as no life guide was present during our stay there, The hotel food is okay but nothing great there is a resturant down the road from the hotel would suggest taking a torch as it is a bit dark to walk along thr road as there is no pavement. Also about ten minutes walk from the hotel is a small supermarket.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Comfortable but over priced

Posted Sep 21, 2007
The hotel was comfortable but definately over priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Donald from Glasgow

Very relaxing

Posted Jul 27, 2007
Had a great time. Room was fairly basic but very clean. Hotel had a very relaxed atmosphere. Private beach was nice and quiet. Food was OK.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey

A great hotel, but sadly let down.

Posted Jul 6, 2007
I have travelled far and wide from 2 star to 5 star and enjoy a "foreign" experience on holiday, not an "english" experience, therefore my comments may be considered a good guide to others. The hotel itself is in an excellent position and although dated is clean and comfortable with all the facilities you could require. Although this is a B&B/half/full board hotel you may not want to take children if they want to join in childrens club as everything was in Italian. Unfortunately, the staff always came across as sullen, not smiling unless they conversed with other Italians and everything the DAYTIME reception staff told us with regard to transport, excursions etc. turned out to be wrong which caused us to become so stressed for the first 3 days of our holiday that we had to distance ourselves from them. We travelled independantly with no children. We didn't enjoy this holiday as much as our experiences of the rest of europe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Ideal for a quiet break

Posted Jun 4, 2007
Hotel was clean but a few aspects of the rooms could do with being refurbished. Staff were friendly and helpful. Ideally located if you want a quiet, relaxing break.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from darlington

average

Posted Jun 3, 2007
room very basic. breakfast could have been better and staff not very helpful.