Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Definite NO go....

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Tobacco smell throughout entire hotel simply overpowering, made us sick for days afterwards. Bathroom was FILTHY, shower secured to pole with zip-ties that made it COMPLETELY unusable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ne

adequate

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: usually know the name Super 8 is standard Trust them for a clean room
Cons: the layout is bad ots of steps but would not be able to fix
Location: easy to find we were just passing through
If you are just needing a place to spend the night this will do a working man place. No frills . We played cards at a table near the desk two people came up to complain of their tubs not draining while we were there. We stayed at 3 super 8on this tip this was the highest priced and most basic
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stanberry, MO

Extremely clean; friendly staff

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing that I could think of
Location: Business trip. I didn't get out and about, but I think the town has a very historic feel. The downtown (I was told) is very quaint and fun.
I was treated like family at this motel. The desk staff was wonderful, called me by name when I arrived, and had my room and paperwork all ready. The room was totally clean! I am one of those people who look for dirt and hair in my hotel room, but I found absolutely no dirt or hair! The room was also well arranged, and had a large desk. I wish I could have stayed longer at this place, but my business in Algona was completed. Highly recommended!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Hotels
There were some broken items in the room, some unsafe outlets for plugging things in. It would help if the front desk staff understood English to some degree.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

One Person Operation

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Sports bar and stores are close by.
Cons: They need to ensure someone is actually on site.
Location: Short walk across a small bridge to local amenities.
The building is showing it's age, but the upper floor rooms are okay. Someone was there when we checked in mid afternoon. Did not see anyone again all evening, all night and no one was present when we checked out in the am. Just a sign that says, "be back in 15 minutes"
2 out of 5
by Michael J.

Not Recommended!!!

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
The overall cleanliness was not what was expected. I understand you get what you pay for however you still have an expectation of cleanliness. The towels looked dingy. The tub and sink in bathrooms were stained rings that almost looked like rust stains.
1 out of 5
by ann

Don't stay if your care about cleanliness.

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
The room looked like a old college apartment. Bathroom was gross. Wall air condition took an hour to cool
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IA

Tidy room, pets okay, competent staff...

Posted Jul 17, 2017
...but no bargain and there were bad smells. Rooms included a mini fridge and microwave, and there is a nearby grocery store.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from minnesota

The hotel has NO hot water The towel were a joke

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Courteous staff, better towels & hot water
The coffee in the lobby was luke warm the table were sticky not cleaned. Would not stay there again the hotel had an awful smell.
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey

Decent Basic Motel - Good Value

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Positives: 1) larger mini-fridge with a freezer; 2) nice chairs for relaxing and using computer; 3) quiet, 4) good table space; 5) large bathroom (we used "access" handicapped room which has a large number of handles to cling to!). Everything basically okay. Host friendly and helpful. Being partial basement kept the room cool without using air conditioner! Negatives: 1) no caffeinated coffee provided in room (though you could get some in office); 2) communication issues with host because he didn't speak English very well (but no big deal, just awkward a couple of times); 3) subpar bed; 4) continental breakfast one of the most spare I've encountered in recent years (just cereal, some apples, warm cereal option). Good coffee, though, which is often not the case in motels. WIFI fine. The bed was the worst aspect of the motel, in my opinion. Definitely one of the worst motel mattresses I've slept on in recent years.