Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
45% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Des Moines

excellent value

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Pros: Clean
Location: Right off of main road
clean, friendly staff, excellent value for a quick night in a hotel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jefferson, iowa

Nice !ocation

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location and the morning breakfast
Cons: Well let ciustomer know of possible issue with room and should have someone at desk all time.
Location: Not a lot a small mink mall and grocery store and restaurants like McDonalds, KFC and shopping place like Kmart
We first got there and lady at counter acted like we had no reservation. Room was nice but smelled mujsty like it had water damage or something. If the peole at desk knew of possible smell customer shou!d be warned. Also on day there the hotel wasn't full or close according whe. reserving Every time we exited the building no one ever at desk. Super 8 was nice but not worth $70.00 a night I think I deserve at least half back on money. On scale 1 to 10 maybe 5 is highest I go.
1 out of 5
by Kristy from B town

Please DON'T stay..

Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
This was one of THE worst hotel stays ever. When we arrived there is a sign, "I am away from my desk please call 300" I did, they came and wanted to charge me for a prepaid hotel stay. When we went upstairs the ice machine said out of order go to desk, went to desk they said it would be awhile, they did bring up some ice at that time I told them the tv did not work, they would send the manager, he never came. Room and bathroom were not clean, broken cookies, chips on floor, old food all over by microwave. Tub was dirty. cups and kleenex laying on floor of bathroom. 2nd night ice machine not working desk person says, we are out of ice. No one is ever at desk there is always a sign to call. 2nd night stuff still on BR floor, food still around microwave, items/trash still on br floor, cookies kicked under bed, They did empty trash and gave us a clean towel. 3rd night we come back, same trash except bathroom picked up. A mat for br floor is now there but it is wet, maybe someone showered while we were out? The beds were never changed or made....some of us must learn our lessons the hard way.
1 out of 5
by Adam from Minneapolis

Dumpiest hotel I've ever been to

Posted Mar 11, 2016 on Hotels
This is the dumpiest hotel I have stayed at in the United States. The hallway smells like a bouquet of strange body fluids and off-brand cleaning solutions. The "non-smoking" room smelled of cigarette smoke and working on my computer at the desk my eyes started to get itchy. I had to request another bed-spread because there were crusty white spots on the one that was there. The breakfast was minimal and not good. Watery bad coffee, stale cereal, and skim milk were the main offerings. The breakfast area was in the same room as the front desk and didn't have enough seats for everyone. Don't go here unless you want to be completed skeeved out.
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Posted Sep 20, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice staff. Clean, comfortable room.
3 out of 5
by David from Brice Prairie

Not too bad, not too good.

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is split level, so first floor room was below grade. This is why it seem a bit musty, but not so bad where I had to ask to move. The heater/ AC was in an elevated placement and not easy to see settings. Room was very clean as were the hallways. Person at the front desk was friendly and professional. The breakfast area was very small and had a matching selection of food.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Omaha, NE

Posted Sep 19, 2015
Algona Super 8 was our choice second only to the Super 8 in the city where our class reunion was being held. Since we were booking quite late there were no rooms available at our first choice hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Cons: Everything.
We canceled the room because it was awful. There was a pile of mattresses outside like they were battling bed bugs. We didn't stick around to find out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berthoud, Colorado

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Location: Kmart across the road and aboslutely amazing views all around the town of algona.
Great place to stay and the price couldn't be beat. Kids loved the Breakfast and my wife and I enjoyed the beds. Will stay there again for sure next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comfortable night rest, but low shower heads

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
although the hallways were filled with furniture, which could have been an issue in case of fire. it was a good nights rest. at first tv didn't work but we got prompt help to correct. shower heads again as in most hotels are to low!!!