Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Maria from Sweden

Posted Dec 23, 2015 on Hotels
Sherry som driver B&B är kanon! Victorian Rose Garden och dess närmaste omgivning är så avkopplande och fint! Kommer jag tillbaka till Algonquin (vilket jag hoppas) bor jag gärna på samma ställe...
5 out of 5
by Janet from Lincoln, Nebraska

Wonderful, comfortable, and inviting!

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our time at the Victorian Rose Garden very much! Sherry and Carol are delightful hostesses -warm and welcoming! The main living areas are very relaxing. We played and sang at the piano for a bit too. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was awesome! We look forward to staying again on future trips east.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PHX

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: Not much of anything
Location: visited interesting places
As a guest you are treated as a king and the hostess is the most enjoyable person I have ever met. Makes you stay very less stressful and you feel like you are in your own home. Very nice and very clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great character Bed &Breakfast

Posted Jul 19, 2015
On our West to East drive across the USA this was our first B&B after many hotels, what a welcome change it was. We were welcomed with fresh home made cookies and sat out on the porch of this grand old house. Our room was clean and comfortable with lots of old world charm. We stayed two nights and had great varied breakfasts each day. Took the train into Chicago on July 4 and that evening we were back on the porch with a glass of wine watching the fireflies and taking in the fireworks. Would definitely recommend this place to others.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from missouri

Great, comfortable B&B.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Charm, homey atmosphere.
Location: Exploring towns along the Fox River. Biking the Fox River trail. Visiting friends/family in nearby communities.
Charming historic house. Great location for exploring Algonquin or biking the Fox River trail. Sherry is a wonderful hostess who makes you feel immediately at home.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pleasant Hill, IA

Bed and Breakfast in a resort community

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Location: Great seafood restaurants within walking distance. good cocktails.
Very good food. Good hospitality with nice grounds. Within walking distance of restaurants and river.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Amin from Sydney, Australia

Comfortable, relaxed, personal touch..feel at home

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
I flew 18 hrs to meet a friend in the area and immediately felt welcome and so comfortable that I slept as if on a cloud. Sherry, Carolyn and Mike made it so easy to feel at home. Lovely home made breakfast, meeting new people and great conversation in a relaxed and warm environment made it impossible to continue my plans to move downtown. Thank you so much for the attention to detail, advice on getting around, lift to the station, and that caring personal touch!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Warm and Friendly

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Not a hotel, a Bed and Breakfast. There was nothing not to like.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Close to downtown and restaurants.
From the moment I walked in, I felt like I was at home. Sherry and Carolyn made me feel like family rather than a guest. Breakfast was made to order and was wonderful.
5 out of 5
by Susan from Appleton, Wi

Lovely B&B

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
Because of Chicago Air Show the only available room for the night was at the Victorian Rose Garden B&B in Algonquin, only a short drive from our daughter's home in LITH. IT was wonderful and so welcoming I can see why it was voted top N B&B McHenry County