Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Feels like home with great hospitality

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Pros: friendly, room decorations
Cons: all is perfect
This bed and breakfast is like home with friendly owner, scrumptious bakeries, nicely decorated with elegant furniture, and clean. I loved my experience. I feel like I know the owner lady and her friends for a long time
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just what we were after

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely B & B. Wish we could have stayed for longer.
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Kenosha

A Gem

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
We were treated like family. A very comfortable place to stay.
5 out of 5
by Janet from Lincoln, Nebraska

Wonderful, comfortable, and inviting!

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed our time at the Victorian Rose Garden very much! Sherry and Carol are delightful hostesses -warm and welcoming! The main living areas are very relaxing. We played and sang at the piano for a bit too. The room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast was awesome! We look forward to staying again on future trips east.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PHX

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: Not much of anything
Location: visited interesting places
As a guest you are treated as a king and the hostess is the most enjoyable person I have ever met. Makes you stay very less stressful and you feel like you are in your own home. Very nice and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great character Bed &Breakfast

Posted Jul 19, 2015
On our West to East drive across the USA this was our first B&B after many hotels, what a welcome change it was. We were welcomed with fresh home made cookies and sat out on the porch of this grand old house. Our room was clean and comfortable with lots of old world charm. We stayed two nights and had great varied breakfasts each day. Took the train into Chicago on July 4 and that evening we were back on the porch with a glass of wine watching the fireflies and taking in the fireworks. Would definitely recommend this place to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from missouri

Great, comfortable B&B.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Charm, homey atmosphere.
Location: Exploring towns along the Fox River. Biking the Fox River trail. Visiting friends/family in nearby communities.
Charming historic house. Great location for exploring Algonquin or biking the Fox River trail. Sherry is a wonderful hostess who makes you feel immediately at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasant Hill, IA

Bed and Breakfast in a resort community

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Location: Great seafood restaurants within walking distance. good cocktails.
Very good food. Good hospitality with nice grounds. Within walking distance of restaurants and river.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Amin from Sydney, Australia

Comfortable, relaxed, personal touch..feel at home

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels
I flew 18 hrs to meet a friend in the area and immediately felt welcome and so comfortable that I slept as if on a cloud. Sherry, Carolyn and Mike made it so easy to feel at home. Lovely home made breakfast, meeting new people and great conversation in a relaxed and warm environment made it impossible to continue my plans to move downtown. Thank you so much for the attention to detail, advice on getting around, lift to the station, and that caring personal touch!