Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PHX

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: Not much of anything
Location: visited interesting places
As a guest you are treated as a king and the hostess is the most enjoyable person I have ever met. Makes you stay very less stressful and you feel like you are in your own home. Very nice and very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver BC

Great character Bed &Breakfast

Posted Jul 19, 2015
On our West to East drive across the USA this was our first B&B after many hotels, what a welcome change it was. We were welcomed with fresh home made cookies and sat out on the porch of this grand old house. Our room was clean and comfortable with lots of old world charm. We stayed two nights and had great varied breakfasts each day. Took the train into Chicago on July 4 and that evening we were back on the porch with a glass of wine watching the fireflies and taking in the fireworks. Would definitely recommend this place to others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from missouri

Great, comfortable B&B.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Pros: Charm, homey atmosphere.
Location: Exploring towns along the Fox River. Biking the Fox River trail. Visiting friends/family in nearby communities.
Charming historic house. Great location for exploring Algonquin or biking the Fox River trail. Sherry is a wonderful hostess who makes you feel immediately at home.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasant Hill, IA

Bed and Breakfast in a resort community

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Location: Great seafood restaurants within walking distance. good cocktails.
Very good food. Good hospitality with nice grounds. Within walking distance of restaurants and river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Warm and Friendly

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Not a hotel, a Bed and Breakfast. There was nothing not to like.
Cons: Not a thing.
Location: Close to downtown and restaurants.
From the moment I walked in, I felt like I was at home. Sherry and Carolyn made me feel like family rather than a guest. Breakfast was made to order and was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Park Ridge, IL

A Victorian Get-away

Posted Oct 21, 2013
Pros: Sherry. Sherry. Sherry--she was sweet, and accommodating, and friendly. The room was cozy and it was the perfect get-away to just be together.
Location: Because of construction we did not get to walk in the park, but we enjoyed a walk in Historic downtown Algonquin.
I really enjoyed my stay at Victoria Rose Garden. Sherry was wonderful. She set up a little tea and scones for my fiance and I. We were celebrating our 5 year anniversary. Our room was the Sir James room. It was cozy. We walked around Historic Algonquin and really enjoyed the crisp air and the ambiance. Sherry kept us company at breakfast and we had a wonderful chat over quiche and scones. We're coming back in December for the Jane Austen tea party and the tea and pasties. Thank you, Sherry!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Dec 19, 2012
The Victorian Rose Garden was a great place to stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Charming

Posted Oct 15, 2012
Pros: Staff was helpful
A really nice quiet getaway. Staff is very helpful. Food was great. Closely to place to eat for dinner within walking distance.