Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Disappointing stay

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Just stayed here for two nights in Nov. 2017. Despite some reviews hinting at the state of the hotel, I was not prepared. An old hotel isn’t bad, but this hotel just needs a facelift. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable. I could feel every single spring and there was absolutely a slope in it based on where previous body weight has been. I had to sleep diagonally in the bed so I didn’t feel like I was going to roll off. The white tile in the bathroom looks stained and dusty, and there were spots of black mold above the shower on the ceiling and the surrounding molding. The air conditioning couldn’t be used because it gave off a pretty gross moldy smell as well. The caulking and grout in the shower were stained black with mold and soap scum, and the faucet on the sink was placed so far away from the actual sink, that it was impossible to use the sink without flooding the entire counter and bathroom. Everything else just looked like it needed to be replaced, from the lobby to the actual room. Really kind staff and a cute BASIC little breakfast, and the hotel was in a great location, but other than that... I would not recommend at all. I know you get what you pay for (and I did book last minute and got a very cheap rate), but this seemed to much worse than the 3.8 star rating the hotel has on here... unless I just have very high expectations!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Great central hotel with very helpful staff

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Good hotel with a fantastic location, good breakfast, clean room and very helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wokingham, England

Great central position

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Reception and communal areas very pleasing although carpet somewhat tired. Very pleasant and helpful staff.
Cons: Would like a safe in the room but understand they are to be added. Would like tea and coffee in room.
Location: Great location, close to metro and eateries.
Breakfast average with a limited choice of hot and cold dishes. Room OK apart from a partly broken wardrobe door. Overall a better than average 3 star hotel and would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Cruces NM

Good location in Porto

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Kind of an "old world" hotel. Good location, friendly staff. Room for one was in the back and very quiet. Very nice breakfast buffet. Did not visit restaurant and bar. Not very modern but has "character". Beds are ok but single mattress on platform-pillows could have been better. Clean room and convenient to all major sights-totally walkable. Many restaurants in area and a short walk to Sao Bento station. Safe area. Great Fado (Santo Fado) just a few doors down.
5 out of 5
by laurel

Great location!

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was extremely helpful and equally friendly. Every suggestion for restaurants, etc. was wonderful. The beds were comfortable and the old world charm was fantastic! The breakfast, which was included, was adequate and we did stop into the bar, which was quiet and reasonably priced. Would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England (West Country)

Good Hotel in a central position.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The decor was very interesting and the staff were wonderful.
Location: As the hotel was so near the city center we were able to start our exploration of the city with no problems.
We were very pleased with the hotel. The staff were excellent they couldn't have been more helpful. The rooms were clean and the facilities fine. The hotel is situated just a few meters from the city center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Excellent Centrally Based Value for Money Hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Location Helpful & Friendly Staff Comfort Ease of access to & from Airport
Location: Central location. All main attractions, including River & Port Cellars, within walking distance.
This hotel is an excellent choice as base from which to explore the beautiful city of Porto. Its central location means that all of the city's most famous and popular sights and attractions are within walking distance. It is a very comfortable and clean hotel and provides all that it promises. Facilities are more than adequate and all that is required when the focus of the visit is the city itself. Staff, particularly on Reception, are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is adequate and the buffet is kept well stocked. Overall the hotel provides very good value for money. Porto itself is a wonderful city providing many charms and pleasures beyond all the well known attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

Nice hotel in the centre of everything.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Location: Walking distance of places we wanted to see and visit. Steps from touring buses. Very centrally located.
Older hotel but very clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Central

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: A bit more choice at breakfast
Location: Very central, you are a 5-10 minute walk from all the main sights and the waterfront. Take good walking shoes.
A great little hotel with lots of character right in the centre. The staff were all extremely helpful and work very hard. The room was basic, but the bed was comfortable and for the amount of time you spend there, it did the job.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lisbon

Fine, but basic hotel

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, close to all the sights as well as the metro station. Friendly and helpful staff Economic
Cons: Rooms were a bit small and dated Breakfast was so-so, mostly lots of bread Bathroom is poorly designed
Location: Good location, near to everything and well connected by metro to airport and train station.
This hotel was fine for the price, but nothing particularly special.