Ratings based on 552 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Cons: The lighting throughout the hotel is fairly subdued. It goes with the theatre theme, but found it too dark at times.
They knew it was my wife's birthday, so surprised her with a bottle of champagne and a cake in our room. Lovely surprise.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff... tiny dark rooms

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Maybe we're not "hip" enough to appreciate the ambiance... but everything about this hotel was a visual assault with a visceral reaction... whether it was the small very dark guest rooms that didn't have a proper door for the toilet... or the breakfast tables that had a mirrored top which reflected the pot lights directly into our eyes... it's really too bad because the staff at the hotel are soooo nice and accommodating, and the location is fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winchester

Comfortable hotel close to centre

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: Excellent location
Overall a good hotel. Staff very friendly, room comfortable although some limitations in room facilities especially Lack of mirror for my wife's makeup regime!! We were advised to eat in the hotel on night one but this was not the best experience. The menu was very very limited, unless we dined on one of the tasting menus. If you want a light dinner at a reasonable price this is not the restaurant for you. Breakfast was excellent, wide high quality choice
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely city centre hotel

Posted May 10, 2017
After a 4 hour delay arrived and was checked in really quickly and shown to our room. Yes the hotel is dark but this is part of the theme of the hotel, being theatrical, this wasn't a problem for us. The room was lovely, comfy bed and pillows. There was a hairdryer, air conditioning and a lovely shower. Breakfast was tasty and on asking made us pots of tea and fried eggs. If you get the chance have the chocolate cake which they make, it's the best you will ever have!!! Also advised us on getting to airport via the metro, only 2.55 euros and definitely value for money. The staff were friendly and helpful and couldn't do enough for you. Very well placed central hotel, would definitely return!
5 out of 5
by Ian

Weekend break

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel and location,Staff and service excellent. Decor a bit dark.Breakfast And Room very good ,
3 out of 5
by Rebecca

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Service and staff very helpful. Great recommendations for dining. Breakfast was good. Room small and too dark. No hair dryer. Few outlets
4 out of 5
by John

Staying at the theater

Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
I enjoyed the hotel except for the decoration - I found the 'Theater' theme overpowering. Because of this I would not recommend the hotel to friends. Otherwise, enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
by Raymond

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 8, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Long weekend away

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Central location. Quirky decoration, really clean and comfy with tasty buffet breakfast included.
Cons: More tea bags in room! Hardy a complaint though.
Location: Excellent cafes, with plenty of choice. Walked for miles admiring the architecture and decorative tiles on buildings. Cable car over river was fun.
Great hotel in a brilliant location in the heart of Porto. Walked almost everywhere in the local vicinity and used the excellent bus service to go to the beach - Foz du Duro. Would definitely recommend hotel and would love to go back.
3 out of 5
by David

Long weekend in Porto.

Posted Mar 21, 2017 on Hotels
A quirky theatre themed hotel. Staff pleasant, hotel clean, breakfast fine. Hotel in a reasonable area, not too far from train station and metro, although there is building work directly opposite hotel. Down sides of hotel - as it is theatre themed hotel, very dark everywhere. Bedrooms were also very small, but surprisingly the bathroom was large. But main down side of Hotel Teatro - is the bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a clear glass sliding door! On holiday with a close friend in Porto and saw and heard things that not even the closest friends should hear/see!!! Would i stay there again or recommend it? No is the answer. The design of the bathrooms is a big no no! Porto great though.