Ratings based on 568 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia.

Central location in old part of town.

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Nice location, good service & helpful staff. Very dark inside hotel. Good breakfast. Nice room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hertfordshire

Boutique Hotel, lovely but very dark

Posted Sep 13, 2017
The Hotel Teatro in Porto is a boutique hotel. The staff cannot do enough for you, the breakfast is plentiful, delicious and there is so much choice. The hotel is designed to replicate a theatre with a dark brown and gold theme, and whilst we appreciated this unique style it has impractical implications on the room. It was so dark you couldn't see to put on make up. With no door on the bathroom, just a sheer muslin dark brown curtain, at times you saw too much of your room mate than you really wanted to! The curtain also stretches across the wardrobe which meant you couldn't go to get something out of the wardrobe if your room mate was in the bathroom without exposing them to the whole room. However the shower was one of the best I've experienced. you are provided with a dressing gown and slippers and every time your room was serviced new towels would appear. What they spend on laundry they must save on electricity! We also had a copper roll top bath in an open alcove in the room, mo fence or curtain to separate it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sarasota, Florida

Great stay in Porto

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Nice hotel close to most tourist sites. Staff was amazing, helping us to see their city, and the buffet breakfast was super. For our anniversary, they brought champagne and cake to our room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great location

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Cons: The lighting throughout the hotel is fairly subdued. It goes with the theatre theme, but found it too dark at times.
They knew it was my wife's birthday, so surprised her with a bottle of champagne and a cake in our room. Lovely surprise.
5 out of 5
by dianne

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful helpful staff and great location. Would recommend with ease to anyone.
4 out of 5
by Alan

When style of design overtakes practicality.

Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
It was a beautiful concept hotel, very modern and streamlined, to the extent that in our room, there were no drawers at all, and very little hanging space with I think 6 hangers. The bathroom was a nightmare again for lack of space, very beautiful, but completely impractical. I want shelves to keep all my stuff on hand - I had to carry it all in and all out again. Fortunately we only stayed for one night, and although everything else was great, including the location, the lack of space in our room made me glad to leave.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff... tiny dark rooms

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Maybe we're not "hip" enough to appreciate the ambiance... but everything about this hotel was a visual assault with a visceral reaction... whether it was the small very dark guest rooms that didn't have a proper door for the toilet... or the breakfast tables that had a mirrored top which reflected the pot lights directly into our eyes... it's really too bad because the staff at the hotel are soooo nice and accommodating, and the location is fabulous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from winchester

Comfortable hotel close to centre

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: As above
Cons: As above
Location: Excellent location
Overall a good hotel. Staff very friendly, room comfortable although some limitations in room facilities especially Lack of mirror for my wife's makeup regime!! We were advised to eat in the hotel on night one but this was not the best experience. The menu was very very limited, unless we dined on one of the tasting menus. If you want a light dinner at a reasonable price this is not the restaurant for you. Breakfast was excellent, wide high quality choice
5 out of 5
by David F.

Great value

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel value in great location.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels