Ratings based on 206 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Good location for the metro and central for a quick look around Porto
Cons: The decor could probably be freshened up but it is what it is, an affordable city centre hotel
Location: Loads of choices for eating
This was a one night stop after arriving in Porto and beginning the camino the next day. For that the hotel was fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by brian

Posted Jun 6, 2017 on Hotels
Location in Porto is terrific; convenient for exploring the city on foot and close to a major train station. Staff are friendly and accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Good hotel in a nice location

Posted May 28, 2017
Pros: Hotel is clean. Staff are informative and helpful.
Location: Strategic location. Very near the metro and rail stations. Within easy reach of cafes, restaurants, shops, etc. Walk around Ribeira n along the river.
Had a nice short break in Porto. Very interesting place to visit. Lots to do and see. We also did day trips from Porto to Braga and Guimaraes, by train. Sao Bento rail station is only a few minutes walk from the hotel.
3 out of 5
by Paul

Hotel Universal- a great location.

Posted May 5, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel Universal was in a very good location for getting transit by bus and also connecting with the city tour buses. The train station is some distance from the city center and one must negotiate how to ticket for the connecting metro into the city center. Though there is no ticket booth for the metro, there was a metro official handing travelers a subway cad and helping load the correct amount for the city center destination. If one wishes to travel by metro, do not lose this card because you will not be able to get another one and therefore, never ride the metro again! The 28 steps straight up to the lobby from the street is a very difficult problem for elderly persons. The only access for handicapped is an automated chair that carries one up/down the 28 stairs. An elevator is available from the lobby to the rooms. The appliances were clean and the room was quite nice. However the floors had not been swept as they should have. Walking barefoot one had to clean the feet when getting into bed. Reception was ordinary and friendly, but unwilling to recommend any particular places to eat. The Yellow tour bus was nearly worthless. Most of the sites one could not see/find when highlighted on the headset and my headset (and the one next to me as well) quit working after about 1/4 of the way into the tour. It was nice scenery, but was of little value.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Orbitz
This hotel is not recommendable. The only positive remark would be its central location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

A bit old but everything else is excellent

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: The location is the best. Good price and very friendly staffs.
Cons: The basic room is a bit dated. the door is not straight and there is a big uneven gap around the door.
Location: No need to pay for the tourist hop on hop off buses. Most places are within walking distance.
The location is great, especially for the price. The building is older but charming. I had a (cheaper) basic room that doesn't look as nice as those in the pictures, but it is spacious by European standards. Great service and absolutely 5 stars to Lilieanna at the reception. I had a late check in, at almost mid-night, and I told her that I just walked the Camino de Santiago in Spain and I would very much appreciate if I could have a room with a bathtub. She checked and make sure of that. She is very knowledgeable, friendly and funny. Absolute joy to be greeted by her every night when I return. I would stay here again on my next trip!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Its good hotel located perfectly.

Posted Dec 9, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was good and located near to almost all attractions and Metro station. Its accessible and easy to walk around. But the only issue that you need to climb the hotel by stair to the Lobby. Luckily, access to room with very old Left.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location and helpful stuffs

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
Just a basic room but hotel location is perfect and helpful stuffs
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

clean and convient

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
good