Ratings based on 473 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Algarve

Wonderful Intercontinental

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The location is superb as is everything you expect a good hotel to be
Location: Location is central and within walking distance of all the very important Port Houses
Absolutely Brilliant, Superb Staff, Fantastic Rooms, Brilliant Service, Extremely Accomodating. Always willing to go above and beyond the regular service and NOTHING is too much trouble. The restaurant has amazing food with exceptional attention to detail and the service is exemplary. I would like to mention one particular member of staff, the concierge Mr Goncarlo Martins who went out of his way to ensure the safe delivery of important documents left behind in error, following our recent visit! This was our first visit to Porto and the Intercontinental, but we will most definitely be returning to this wonderful hotel in the future. A very pleasurable experience and the Intercontinental is up there with the best!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brighton UK

Fantastic hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Wonderful experience from the moment you arrive until the moment you leave. Brilliant location and staff who were always so attentive. Pleasure to stay there and will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nyc

excellent hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: hotel, location, staff
Location: right in the center
wonderful in every way, great room, great staff, very helpful, great recommendations for restaurants and travel tips form concierge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Great location. Helpful staff.

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Staff really friendly and seem to want you to enjoy your stay. Concierge had great restaurant recommendations and was able to get us tables. Barman was great. Interconnecting room perfect for families and spacious. Would definitely visit again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from calgary, canada

Porto!

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Loved the city, hotel is beautiful, bed linens exceptional, breakfast buffet delicious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Doylestown, PA

Wonderful interior and very friendly staff

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Staff is superior in responsiveness, assistance, and overall being very friendly to speak to.
Cons: Lowest room temperature could go is 18 degrees centigrade but overnight it feels as if this temperature control goes off and gets warmer.
Hotel is smack in the square of downtown Porto so you have 360 degree access to food, tours, and transportation. Valet parking is easy, and concierge staff a very knowledgeable of the area as well as fluent in English. The only issue is traffic during the day is insane and the traffic light in front of the hotel is regularly jammed. Also, people outside are regularly singing and playing music past 1am so if you need to peace and quiet I recommend a room away from the front of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, very friendly staff!

Posted Jul 22, 2017
We loved our stay at the Intercontinental. It was the perfect location and the staff was so friendly and helpful. The concierges set up a fantastic day tour to the Douro Valley (with Miguel of Lab Portugal Tours) and their dinner recommends were spot on! We would definitely highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Well located but a bit pretentious

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Situated next to the train station and in walking distance from the Ribeira district, this is a high end hotel with a well-trained English-speaking staff. Our room was a corner unit on the first floor, which prompted us to ask about noise. We were assured that the windows wer soundproof (which they weren't). We avoided the EUR 22 per person breakfast, which is exorbitant in Portugal, especially given the price of the room. A pleasant stay, but not memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel in the centre of Porto

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Ideal location to stay in Porto. Nice buffet breakfast and friendly staff apart from one staff but overall good. Concierge was very helpful. Rooms were very clean and beds were very comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Tip top hotel

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: We liked the décor, the staff, the room itself (especially the bathroom) and the location.
Cons: This is difficult, so just to be picky, it would have been nice to see someone play the very smart piano in the bar.
Location: Porto is a hilly city and so anywhere from the hotel involves slopes. Visit the majestic café.
We wanted a hotel for the festival of St John in late June, and this seemed to fit the bill, being with an easy 20 mins walk down to the river. Our clean and nicely appointed room was at the front of the hotel over looking the square, which although it was noisy on the festival days during the concerts on the square, the rest of the time the double glazed windows kept the noise down nicely so we hardly noticed any. We didn't notice any noise from the lifts or other guests. Breakfast had plenty of choice, and I felt it was one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had in a long time. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant a couple of times, and I felt it was overpriced for ordinary hotel restaurant food. I found the concierge staff very pleasant, polite and helpful, organising trips, taxis etc as and when asked. In fact all staff we encountered were equally pleasant, polite and helpful. All in all I was very satisfied.