Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK Surrey

Splendid hotel with multiple facilities

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: It was grand in every way. Easy to find and with helpful staff.
Cons: No not really.
Location: Great location near the beach and the town centre where transport to and from Alicante airport can be directly arranged.
Very enjoyable stay at The Grand Hotel Sol y Mar in Calpe. The room was very spacious, the beds very comfortable.It was an all round pleasant experience at a reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel is wonderful

Posted Sep 27, 2016
We stayed here two nights in September 2016. Zero problems. Underground parking is connected to hotel. One area for improvement was that we were charged for a relatively minor request (brining clean plates to the room). We found this to be below the quality of the hotel. Small gestures go a long way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Lovely hotel convenient to beach and restaurants.

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Service and quietness.
Cons: Heat the outdoor pool perhaps. Tea making facilities in the room?
Location: There are lots of places to eat in Calpe. Lovely walk along the beach or the prom. Join U3A (University of the third age), lots to do with them.
Traveling solo I had a very peaceful 5 days here. I paid for a sea view room which had a large balcony, the room was very clean and well appointed. The breakfast choice is terrific, the staff excellent. The outdoor pool is not heated so in May it was too cold for me (a keen swimmer) to venture into it, however it's a good sized pool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Great location terrible service they will try to charge you for breathing items that are a norm to get for free everywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

First Class

Posted Oct 10, 2015
From check in to check out everything about this hotel was outstanding! The room was clean and had a great seafront view with balcony. A tremendous breakfast buffet. I have traveled the world and stayed in the top hotels, I would put Gran Hotel Sol y Mar n my top 5!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Best hotel in Calpe, but has minuses too

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Let me start by saying that this is the best hotel in Calpe. Good location, great pool, great, spacious, clean rooms. We had an oceanfront view so that was unparralled to anything else. Breakfast was included and was plentiful and delicious. Here are the 4 minuses: really bad wifi signal, no bellhop, smell on the bottom level of the elevators (the only access to the pool) and our king size bed was really 2 singles pushed together. Overall a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temecula, Ca

Beautiful hotel-Great location!

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: WiFi
Loved everything about the hotel...EXCEPT I had the worst internet issues I have ever dealt with in a hotel...Never in a 5 star hotel. They could not help me at the front desk. I noticed a lot of people in the lobby on their phones/ipads. Had to believe everyone had the same issue. Otherwise, everything was beautiful. If internet isn't important to you....Book it! You'll love it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sussex

Clean, spacious room.

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Location: Visit to Quadelest and lunch at Benifato makes an excellent day trip in the mountains.
The room and en-suite was very spacious, the bed very comfortable and the air conditioning quietly efficient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lindon

Excellent hotel, very convenient for the beach

Posted Nov 1, 2014
We stayed in a junior suite which was very spacious and comfortable for our family of four.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosie from London

Great hotel, good value for money, superb location

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Attended a wedding here and stayed for 3 nights. Gorgeous hotel, location is perfect, pool area fantastic and breakfast was great. My only gripe was the balcony, you had to lean over the rail to see the sea and faced onto a apartment block...I wouldn't have paid the extra if I'd known this was this case.