Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location!!!!!!! Very low key!!!!! Best price!!!!

Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect location with great price and awesome people who run it. Just stayed there 5 nights last week. Yolanda at the front desk was the best!!!! Breakfast lady (Sorry, forgot the name), was the sweetest thing ever. I had some health issues at the last days of my stay and was able to get 100% attention and support from the staff. Had wonderful time at the beach, with great sandy seashore, crystal clear warm waters and great breeze. This is very low key, no night life location. Great for evening strolling along the beach on the promenade. If you want night life - this is not for you.Will be back for sure!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
THANK YOU!!!! It ´s been our pleasure to welcome you I wish you get well soon and hope to see you again next year. Best regards
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Passing thru stop over

Posted May 5, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent place to stay and I especially enjoyed the location and close access to the metro station. Wonderful view of the Mediteranean also. Would definitely return for a longer stay, especially for the price
Comment from Hotel Management
by Yolanda Casas, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments it is very important for us to know that you enjoyed the stay with us and wish to welcome you back in the future. Best regards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from England

Hostal San Juan-playa Muchavista-El Campello,Spain

Posted Oct 6, 2015
Cons: The outdoor pool is very nice except the water was a few degrees colder than required for prolonged bathing.
Location: Great beach,good for swimming,walking,surfing,kite surfing.Close to tram transport,easy access to El Campello and Allicante,cafes,restaurants,shops.
I stayed 5 nights in this hotel,arriving very late due to long delay with Easyjet flight from Gatwick airport.The staff were very helpful and welcoming,friendly and enthusiastic always. The location is excellent opposite the beach and near to the tram station for easy cheap travel to all the beaches and towns along the coast,a few minutes from El Capello.I really enjoyed the buffet breakfasts,sun terrace,and delicious snack bar also.The hotel was calm and restful,tastefully decorated and very clean thruout.I will certainly return and strongly recommend.
5 out of 5
by robert from Standish

Hotel si

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
meeting of old friends after 40 years from our college days
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

El Campello

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: It's an hotel, one is pretty the same as another, it was adequate. Best thing is it's about 10 metres from the beach.....if that.
Cons: I don't have a huge experience of hotels so it wouldn't be fair to say anything. As I said it was pleasant enough.
When I arrived it was late evening but the place looked just as it did in the photos. I was really pleased with my choice. The room was adequate and the hostel was pleasant enough. Most of the staff were very friendly, one in particular made the stay that little more enjoyable, her name is Eva, she was always ready to help and has a lovely smile. El Campello is a beautiful place which is kept very clean and tidy by the council workers, the beach, streets, everywhere. I don't recall reading anywhere that the area and hostel would be populated by mainly mainland Europeans with little, if any, English, this wouldn't be a problem as a rule but with minimal knowledge of the Spanish language I really struggled that said, it has made me more determined than ever to learn Spanish. If you do go there I would definitely recommend you pay a visit to the "Castell de la Santa Barbara" it is at the top of "Mount Benacantil". The best way to get there is on foot through the neighbourhood of "Santa Cruz". On the way up you will pass the "Museo de Aquas de Alicante" which is worth a visit. It is only a small place but it is interesting. All of the castle is free except for any special attractions that may be on. There is a restaurant, café, snack and drink stalls and a market. Absolutely brilliant day out ! El Campello........I couldn't do it enough justice by writing something here. Go and visit it yourself. If you don't speak Spanish take a good phrase book. Enjoy !
4 out of 5
by Leanne from Melbourne Australia

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Great location for overnightvstay right across from beach.
5 out of 5
by Patrick from Cork, Ireland

Very friendly, Great location.

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
I've stayed in Hostal San Juan previously. The staff are very friendly and accommodating of my poor Spanish language skills. It's great value for money and in a fantastic location. The Alicante-Benidorm tram is right outside the door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sylwia from London

Very good hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2013
The hotel is very central making it extremely convenient. It is also very good value for money given how central the location is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RON from southampton

A VERY GOOD HOSTAL FOR ALL AGES

Posted Jun 14, 2013
Pros: VIEW FROM TERRACE
Location: VERY GOOD
FORGET THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS THIS HOSTAL IS AS GOOD AS A 3* HOTEL. FAN IN ROOM SO YOU COULD KEEP WINDOWS WINDOWS CLOSED. BREAKFAST WAS VERY GOOD ALTHOUGH NOT FOR THE FULL ENGLISH MARKET.RESTAURANT AND CAFETERIA PRICES WERE COMPARABLE WITH LOCAL RESTAURANTS AND BARS. THIS HOSTAL IS NEXT TO THE TRAM STATION "MUCHAVISTA" SO GETTING TO CENTRE OF ALICANTE OR CAMPELLO IS VERY EASY
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sian from Cymru -Wales

Just what we'd hoped for!

Posted May 6, 2013
Pros: The traditional feel of the building and its location directly opposite the beach.
Cons: None - although the lack of air-con would probably be a factor in the height of summer.
Location: Beautiful - with clear views along the coast in both directions
The staff were pleasant and helpful at all times. The quality of the food served was satisfactory - plain and tasty. The rooms have no air-con.but at the beginning of May that was not an issue. The beds and rooms were tidied each morning and clean towels provided every day. We even enjoyed swimming in the sea and hotel pool - both cold so early in the season! The location was ideal and for a short break this pretty hotel was ideally suited for our requirements.