Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

GOLF HOTEL

Posted May 16, 2017
Location: Nothing to do near by. Transfer to Alicante or Taxi any where else you wanted to go. 30 minute transfer to and from airport.
hotel was a long way from any where taxi had to be taken to get around not cheap. Food was very disappointing. Hotel is used for lots of private parties and they seem to be top priority, meaning the restaurant was closed at lunch time's and one evening. Carmen (waitress) was very good to us informing us on what was happening where the management should of been putting notices up informing the guests. We did not get the twin room we had booked. Expedia recommended this hotel but they did not give me any information about destination and locality which If they had of done I would not of selected this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by eduardo, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. or Mrs. Thanks a lot to share your opinion with the rest of future guest. We really regret to be far from the city, as you mention we are a golf hotel and we are 30 minutes far away from the city. We would like to let know to future guest that we have a transfer which go to the city every morning for only 10 euros per person both ways. Hope it can be useful for people who decides to go to San Juan Beach or Alicante during the staying in our hotel. We regret that during month of May we have a lot of "communion" and we have a lot for guest who come to celebrate it in our hotel. We take note about your comments to inform better which restaurant is opened and when. Kind regards. Eduardo Doménech
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Nice and clean hotel

Posted May 4, 2017
This hotel is nice and clean but it is too far from the beach and other restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by Eduardo, Hotel Management
Dear "Pukky", First of all thank you for spend your time in comment your experience in our hotel. We deeply appreciate your comments regarding our hotel. It is always gratifying to know that you had a wonderful stay. We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again. Best regards, Eduardo Doménech
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

nice hotel, good fun for kids as I have 4.

Posted Apr 21, 2017
overall good experience friendly staff. good management. many activities for young children and adults especially the spa.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017 by eduardo, Hotel Management
Dear Mohammad, Thanks a lot for your time to write a review. We are proud to read that you liked the friendly staff and the activities that we do for children. We do all our best with children entertainment during the weekend in the winter time and all days in the summer time so that families enjoy in our hotel. We also have night shows all saturdays during the winter and all days in the summer time. Kind regards. Eduardo Doménech.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Family trip. Very good value!

Posted Apr 16, 2017
The hotel is clean and reasonably comfortable. The food isn't great, we took half board but would do B&B next time. This is a quiet location so if you're looking for night life go somewhere else. Really handy for golf, we would return for a short break.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2017 by eduardo, Hotel Management
Dear Sir or Madam, Thanks a lot for your time to write a review. I would like to let you know that next time you visit us you can book the gastronomic menu which is not included in the half board and consist in a menu of 5 dishes. I recommend this one or the snacks in the bar in case you don´t want the half board in the buffet. Hope to see you back again. Kind regards. Eduardo Doménech Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely staff

Posted Oct 3, 2016
I found the hotel was fantastic and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Nothing was too much effort. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Eduardo, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thanks a lot for your time to write a review. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards. Eduardo Doménech. Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Very family oriented and highly recommended

Posted Aug 27, 2016
We stayed at Bonalba for a week and it we lived it. The staff is very helpful, the family rooms are comfortable and the facilities and food are very good. Although it is a bit far from the beach we had a rented car so this wasn't an issue for us. It would be far better it the hotel offered parking for free instead of the €6 surcharge though given the location. But this shouldn't put you off as there's always parking on the road if you're willing to walk for a bit. However overall we had fantastic time and we lived it so thank you Bonalba
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 22, 2016 by Eduardo, Hotel Management
Dear Roy, Thank you for spend your time in write a review for our hotel. We are very pleased about your coments. And we hope see you soon again. Eduardo Doménech Manager
3 out of 5
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 13, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Bonalba

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
you have to pay for parking and inside swimming pool and I thought that was bit silly especially I paid €500 for the week. Air condition in room is terrible and wifi is very bad. The reception very slow service. Don't think I'll return again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sir sorry to hear that your experience was not good. Hope next time you can let us know in the same moment as you are staying here. As you mention parking has an extra charge, The wifi is working correctly, if you have told us in which room we would have checked. Sorry also for the service in reception. kind regards. Eduardo Doménech Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Windsor, UK

Pretty grim - a 2* hotel at best

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Bed is ok. But that was it.
Cons: Everything.
Location: Absolutely nothing. You are miles from anywhere, the area is miserable. Just a golf course nearby.
I arrived here for a 3 night stay, half board in May. As soon as I arrived it was clear this hotel is barely 2*, & definitely nowhere near to 4*. The location is awful. Its in the middle of a valley surrounded by polytunnel farms. There's no scenery whatsoever. Its also a long drive from anywhere interesting. The building itself is dated & frankly unattractive. It completely lacks any atmosphere whatsoever, probably because most people are out all day on the golf course. It doesn't feel like anything is happening & there's no 4* vibe at all. The corridors are pitch black with motion sensitive lighting, so it feels really grim walking to your room or to other parts of the hotel. The rooms are a very beigey, at bring to mind an old Travelodge rather than a 4*hotel. The lighting is fluoro tubes, so really harsh and bright. The bed was comfortable but that's about all this whole hotel has going for it. I went to look at the gym, which is in a converted bedroom on the fifth floor. There are a few tired bikes & some mats, plus one piece of resistance equipment. I then went to look at the thalasso spa pool, which is in some sort of bizarre marquee in the garden, attached to the hotel (I presume in high season they open it up so its outdoors?). They charge 8 euros for the spa, & at best its akin to a council leisure centre facility. Not nice. The food is awful, greasy and overcooked. I ended up leaving first thing the next morning, because I refused to stay somewhere so bad!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 14, 2017 by eduardo, Hotel Management
Dear Sophia, We really regret that your staying in our hotel was not nice. In hotel Bonalba like to listen to all our guest. As you mention our Resort if 12 km far away from the city but we a have a transfer to go to the city or beach every day. I really regret if you did not liked the peaful from our resort where a lot of people visit us looking for a quiet place to relax, sunbathe and play golf. Sory not to have satisfied your expectations. Kind regards. Eduardo Doménech Manager