Ratings based on 943 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lethbridge, AB, CA

Nice hidden Gem

Posted May 22, 2017
This was a wonderful find in a quite but central part of downtown Darwin, within easy walking distance to most thing including Mindel Beach, the Botanic Gardens, CBD, the fun and active Mitchell Street, Stokes Wharf, the Harbourfront and access to the buses for other further away place such as CDU. The Staff were very nice, helpful and always pleasant. I liked that the cleaning staff got Sundays off so there was no cleaning. Rooms were tidied and but only thoroughly cleaned about every 4 days which is fine as I was there for nearly three weeks but I would have liked the floor to be swept or at least a broom included; but that is minor. The continental breakfast was limited but fine, the gym and pool small but fine for a quick workout or a cooling dip and the outdoor deck was quite nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Comfortable Relaxed Hotel

Posted May 11, 2017
Comfortable hotel in pleasant grounds, with swimming pool. Good Thai/Indian restaurant and cafe/bar with cheerful, courteous staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

A sad hotel for Hilton

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: The only saving grace of this hotel is Hanuman's restaurant
Cons: The entire hotel needs an overhaul and to be brought into today's world.
This hotel is old, old, old. It looks like it was built in the 1970s and not updated ever since.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from King Creek

Alice Springs Accommodation

Posted May 1, 2017
While the hotel facilities are very good, the check in and Front Desk Staff made the experience of staying here for 3 nights very unpleasant. We checked in early at 1.30pm and understood that we may need to wait until 3pm for our room. I gave my credit card to pay for security bond. We went back at 3 15pm and room still not ready. We were offered a tea/coffee/ beer/soft drink voucher and were told room should be ready by 4pm. We used voucher for coffee and went vack to reception at 4.15pm . No room available again. By this tine I was feeling a little peeved (as were other guests who were also waiting for rooms) and made mt feelings know. The Front Desk Manager came over and asked my to keep my voice down as it wasn't the fault of her staff that room was not ready. They asked if we would like to have our luggage stored and taken to room when ready and was accepted. We were given another drink voucher and this time we requested spirits and received. At 5.15pm we were told room finally ready. Our luggage was not delivered to room and had to call. We got our breakfast vouchers but only for 2 nights and for continential. I checked my credit card and found we had been charged for the full amount even though we had paid Expedia. Back down to reception where we had refund on card, extra and corrected breakfast vouchers and all this by the same Manager who didn't offer any apology for the errors her staff made. As a travel agent I found this to be unacceptable and as such not a very
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very tired, needs an update!

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Not too bad for the money, but really needs a makeover. Was neat and clean. Wanted$48 for a rollaway which was more than a third of the cost of the room- even for Hilton honours member.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Darwin Australia

Average hotel. Nothing special.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Room had 2 DOUBLE beds for 3 people. No couple sleeps in a double bed these days especially in a hotel. Hotel is not user friendly for arrival by vehicle. No porter. Geared to buses. Can keep fit walking from room to carpark.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Few alternatives, great staff,

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: Heated pool open till 21.00 hours. Well located. Great staff. Range view rooms are good.
Cons: New Landscaping of pool courtyard areas. Ongoing pool attendant while open. Return to easy entry return from the nearby Sportsmans Club.
Location: Private location, with good surrounds, Range view, and sunrise and sunsets accessible. Nearby Sportsmans club for inexpensive golf , dinner.
Staff are great, as is service. Tired courtyards, pool surround, needing re- landscaping. Heated, good pool, great to use after a day tour. Left messy and unattended from 18.00 to 21.00, when cleaned up. Poor mechanical maintenance to the nearby spa. Range view rooms worth the upgrade. Disabled re- entry rear door, stopping easy return from the unrelated combined sportsmanship club 200 meters away ( golf, lawn bowls, tennis), that has a great and inexpensive restraunt. ( open to all ).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great staff

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Staff and restaurants. Swimming pool was also great and very clean. There is also a resident peacock. W had a mountain view room.
Cons: No drawbacks except noisy groups.
Location: About 20 minute walk from the town. There is a nearby golf course.
We stayed 3 nights as we visited the Kangaroo Sanctuary. The hotel has two restaurants both very good. Staff are friendly and very helpful. The hotel is a 20 minute walk out of Alice Springs, however an easy walk. A taxi in is about $10. The only drawback was that the hotel accepted groups which sometimes were noisy, especially in the late evening, early morning going to their rooms. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location & the Front Desk staff was AMAZING!

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: Beautiful lobby, public spaces and grounds as well as clean guest room - and again, great customer service!
Location: Take in Alice Wanderer Uluru / Kata Tjuta day trip. Fabulous tour with David and Richard as our guides. Bravo! Also the Kangaroo Sanctuary is a MUST!
We used Alice Springs as our Northern Territory/Outback home-base. It was a great decision and we were thrilled with our choice of the Double Tree by Hilton. The staff at the Front Desk was warm, friendly and so helpful! We had a brief situation with our water temperature and the Manager went at that moment to check into it - much to our satisfaction! We were offered suggestions for dining, shopping and leisure. Great customer service all around!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Nice hotel with good pool area

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Cons: More pool towels required
Location: We spend a half day driving around & visiting Emily Gap, Jessie Gap, a waterhole and a Gorge, very pretty area and an interesting morning.
We enjoyed our stay, very hot and dry. Thai restaurant was good.