Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but needs some love

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Pros: Internet, shuttle bus, bar and staff.
Cons: Clean rooms, kill cockroaches and get rid of AC timer.
Location: Close to Alice springs town centre. Good location.
Dirty room with cockroaches in it, and AC that only works for 1hr intervals. Initially given the wrong room which was occupied, makes me question security. Otherwise nice fast internet and good facilities including cheap shuttle bus to airport.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nth Q'ld

Overpriced.

Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Handy for where I wanted to go.
Cons: Tiled floors in rooms should be mopped daily.
Location: Halfway between city centre and sports fields. 10min walk to town.
At certain times of the year when Alice motels raise rates, then the Haven is comparatively cheaper. Generally the rate is too high for what you get for singles or couples.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: N/A
Cons: Better organisation with room allocation. The Pillow situation is ordinary and needs attention, even acknowledging it is a backpackers resort.
Location: 6-7 minutes' walk from supermarkets.
It wasn't until the fourth room I was put in that I was able to stay, with the previous three over-booked. I was in the second room for two hours, past 9pm, when another couple arrived and we discovered the staff over-booked. The staff acknowledged the next morning my experience was, in their words, "bull----". They offered me alcohol to make up for it. I would have preferred if they refunded one of my nights' stay. I stayed for two nights in total and had already paid upfront, so I didn't go somewhere else. I will not stay here again. The 'pillow' was a joke. It was holey and such poor material it was like sleeping directly on a mattress. The room stank and was generally unhygienic and the couch on the decking outside was disgusting.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room was terrible that was not looking nice

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Wotif
The room was not looking double sweet room that was looking so bad but one thing I want to say that the staff was so nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Wotif
Friendly reception staff. Good room. Needs a bit of a clean and a pot of paint. But good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Darwin, NT

Cheap and very average

Posted May 29, 2015 on Wotif
The stay is cheap but the rooms are very basic and the communal kitchen areas are very dirty but it is a cheap backpackers close to town.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Recommended by our tour operator

Posted May 20, 2015
Shared dorms are very cramped. Every one staying there using taking a tour, and hence gets up really early We have shared dorm and double room. Go for the double room. Much nicer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Oct 11, 2014 on Hotels
Very nice
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nyc

Needs lockers

Posted Aug 10, 2014
It's hard to imagine a backpacker hostel that doesn't have lockers in the room you can lock your stuff up in. If you're traveling with a camera, iPad, etc your not going to want to leave anything in the room. Place was reasonably clean. Internet was pretty good $5/day $15 for a week. Laundry facility. Em suite bathrooms were a nice touch. Overall ok, but for the locker issue alone I wouldn't stay there again.