Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 19, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Absolutely stunning setting!

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: The location, the size of the property, the newness of the rooms and hotel in general and in particular, the staff! Beautiful view from our window!!!
Cons: Better dessert choices with dinner. More fruit at breakfast.
Location: The beauty of the region encourages hiking and exploration of the the wine country. We were touring a number of vineyards for their tastings.
The setting of this Quinta, the helpfulness of the staff, the beauty of the pool set off by the stunning Douro Valley, made this one of our favorite stops on a recent 11 day visit to Portugal. The fact that you could have a "homemade" dinner right on site enhanced the rest and relaxation of the experience . The staff is ready to bring you a glass of port or local wine at poolside! Dinner is another opportunity to sample the wine of the region along with local dinner favorites.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Can be the jewel of the Douro Valley

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel Silval is a fantastic little boutique hotel set in the most amazing scenery anywhere in the world. However the over serious attitude projected by the staff can make it quite difficult for the customer to feel at ease.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tel aviv

Fantastic time at duaro

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Orbitz
Spent two days with my wife. The staff were super friendly and helpful, the views are just stunning and even as there were more people there we really felt alone and enjoyed the views, the wine and the pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

We loved this place!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Marvelous place to stay. The Douro Valley is utterly beautiful. This hotel was wonderful in every respect. We enjoyed the tour learning about growing grapes and making port (15 euros/each). The dining was excellent. The facilities were superb. Loved having the outdoor pool - what a setting!
5 out of 5
by Sarah

Charming hotel with picturesque views!

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
Jaime was an exceptional host and very knowledge about the property and region. The rest of the staff was also wonderful and helpful. The room was spacious and clean, exactly as shown in the photos. We couldn't have asked for a better view and overall stay. We definitely recommend this property to anyone planning on visiting the Douro Valley!
5 out of 5
by joanne

Beautiful hotel in an amazing location!

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in a lovely location! Pool area was great and very quiet and relaxing with views across the Douro valley! We stayed 2 nights and ate in the restaurant both evenings- the food and the service was fantastic! We took part in a tour of the winery and tastings which was very informative and enjoyable. The staff were friendly and helpful and really enhanced our stay with their knowledge of the wine and the local area. Easy to find with sat nav and clearly signposted in both directions at the entrance to the property. Would love to come back and stay again!
3 out of 5
by Diane

Could be glorious. Poor food.

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
The location of the property is superb, a car is essential, and first impressions were that the hotel would match, everything is clean and smart. We loved the pool area and changing rooms. Unfortunately we were disappointed by a number of 'niggles' Firstly, having booked some months ago, for 3 nights, we were undoubtedly given the worst room in the property - right outside reception so we had no privacy at all, and had to keep the curtains shut while we were in the room. It was pretty noisy as well as people would talk loudly in reception or outside our window and the insulation between rooms must be very poor as we could hear someone cough all night ( thank good ness for earplugs). We asked for a move but were told the property was full ( it probably was - of people staying one or 2 nights) .Particularly annoying as the property is available on air B+B at less than we paid ! The worst aspect was the food. Breakfast was ok, if you were lucky enough to get what you wanted while it was available. Coffee cold and bitter. Dinner very mixed - first night it was ok. Final night it was almost inedible - low spots being salmon extremely dry and tasting of vinegar, and a dessert that was so awful I sent it back. The staff are very pleasant but we found we had to remind / ask them about basic things more often than we would wish, we are not given to complaining and felt a bit awkward. It just needs a bit of improvement in terms of customer service and it could be great.
4 out of 5
by Mr G A

Short stay in Douro valley

Posted Jun 11, 2017 on Hotels
The track to the hotel is very steep and easy to miss. Once there the views are fantastic and the hotel is very peaceful. Because you are isolated it is awkward to go out elsewhere at night and although the food at the hotel is quite good the range is limited. The cost of food and drinks is good value and the staff are very friendly. It lacks an indoor communal sitting area but it is otherwise a very good base if you are only in the area for a few days.
4 out of 5
by MARK

A jewel in the sky

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
The property is beautiful and well located to Pinhao and other Quintas - such as Quinta do Lavandeiria do Rancao - one of the greatest tawny producers in the Duoro. The rooms are very nice, the pool area just gorgeous, and the staff is very good, with Nuno being excellent and highly accommodating. However, I would not recommend the dinners, unless you have had too much to drink and don't want to drive anywhere. While the food is very good, the prices are so high and the portions are so small that I felt almost cheated. The wines are also very expensive and not worth the money, at least the still wines. They produce Ports as well, and despite the fact that they were aware that I am a huge Port and ancient Tawny collector, I was not offered a single sample of what they produce. And at 130 euro for a 500ml of their 30 year tawny, I was not about to pay for such an over-priced wine without a sample. Even with a sample I would not pay that price no matter how much I enjoyed it - there is simply too many other great tawny at far better value. Additionally, the staff was way over-worked, so expect to wait for dinner items and build extra time into checkout as they will still be cleaning dishes. This was an issue with other guest as well as I helped one older couple to find staff so they could check out. I would like to see improvements on that and I would stay here again, however, I would head to Pinhao for dinner. Also, WIFI was very poor in my room.