Ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canton, mi

Close to GVSU

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Hot breakfast a total plus. Nice place, it gets used ALOT. Shower was better than anticipated - A+
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wi

Convenient to college

Posted Mar 22, 2017
The hotel was very close to GVSU, and several eating places, but it definitely needed some Upgrades to the bathroom and the room itself. Outdated, but serviceable
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Dirty Sheets x3

Posted Jan 31, 2017
To whom it may concern, Regarding: Deplorable hotel conditions & no response from hotel management. My husband and I checked in around 5:30pm. When we entered our room and pulled back the sheets, they were absolutely filthy, soiled and stained. When we pulled back the sheets there was a dark soiled area on the fitted sheets. We called the front desk and there was only one young girl in the entire hotel so she came to change the sheets herself so we helped her. When my husband and I, along with the desk clerk, pulled off the flat sheet there was a large round yellow spot on the mattress pad that looked like urine. We pulled that off to find an even larger stain on the mattress itself. So we got another mattress cover and a second fitted sheet which was also stained with another large yellow stain. The poor girl had to leave the room three different times to find 2 sets of sheets and a second mattress pad just to find them visibly soiled as well. We asked to speak to a supervisor at that point so the front desk girl tried calling the supervisor but he didn't answer. It is now 9:30pm and we haven't heard back from any supervisor/manager at all. We are sleeping in our clothes and on top of our coats because we live 3 hours away and we are exhausted. The front desk girl "Riley" was extremely apologetic and professional and courteous. Which is more than I can say for the manager. I will be asking for a complete refund and am terribly disappointed as our daughter is attending G
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 15, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

hotel looks nice on outside, but old on inside.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: There was no bath (too bad), but only a shower. Although the shower had a lot of pressure.
Cons: The entrance was wet and slippery and nothing was done about it. No clean dry mats for all the days we were there.
The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment. For 5 days they offered the same buffet with some very basic staples missing. There were only breakfast sausages and no eggs or potatoes or bacon etc. The same fat, cold sausages every morning. There was no jam or just a coupe packages. And no hot chocolate either. One evening when we came back to the hotel, our room was not cleaned up and the dirty towels were still in the shower cabin. Their excuse??? We had our "Do not Disturb" sign on the door, they said. The thing is that the first time we entered our room we put the sign in the coat closet and did not use it all.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Noisy!

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Nice hotel in good location. Clean room and comfortable bed. Unfortunately the guests in both rooms on each side of us kept their TVs blaring ALL night. Apparently there are no governors on the sound of the TVs. Doors slammed constantly until midnight and kids were running up and down the hall. The alarm clock in our room went off at 3:30 a.m. No sleep at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok stay for the 2 nights.

Posted Dec 3, 2016 on Hotels
The bed was a bit hard, but other than that the room itself was fine. The check in process left something to be desired. At check in we were not told anything about where breakfast was or the times, Also we were not told anything about wifi. I found out later that the young lady was new. As someone who has worked in a large scale hotel system before as a Front Desk Attendant, I know how crazy things can be, but to miss those basic things is not good. She also made a mistake with our billing. We booked though Hotels.com, but she ran our card and put a charge on for the room. Thankfully the manager in the morning saw the mistake and corrected it. I would suggest more training on the system for the young lady just so that she doesn't not make the same mistakes and is able to provide better customer service to guests.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Off to see my college student

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
went to see my daughter at Grand Valley University
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and friendly.

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Front desk was very accommodating. Breakfast though was not impressive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Once they have us room that wasn't occupied.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The beds were very comfortable.
Cons: Getting a room that was occupied at first
Location: We stayed to do a college tour with our kids. Grand Valley State University was only about a mile away.
The first room they gave us appeared to be occupied with the bed not made and articles if clothing in the floor. Once they have us room that was not occupied the room was clean. The beds were comfortable. The hotel manager was very accommodating.