Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

hotel looks nice on outside, but old on inside.

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: There was no bath (too bad), but only a shower. Although the shower had a lot of pressure.
Cons: The entrance was wet and slippery and nothing was done about it. No clean dry mats for all the days we were there.
The breakfast buffet was a huge disappointment. For 5 days they offered the same buffet with some very basic staples missing. There were only breakfast sausages and no eggs or potatoes or bacon etc. The same fat, cold sausages every morning. There was no jam or just a coupe packages. And no hot chocolate either. One evening when we came back to the hotel, our room was not cleaned up and the dirty towels were still in the shower cabin. Their excuse??? We had our "Do not Disturb" sign on the door, they said. The thing is that the first time we entered our room we put the sign in the coat closet and did not use it all.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Noisy!

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Nice hotel in good location. Clean room and comfortable bed. Unfortunately the guests in both rooms on each side of us kept their TVs blaring ALL night. Apparently there are no governors on the sound of the TVs. Doors slammed constantly until midnight and kids were running up and down the hall. The alarm clock in our room went off at 3:30 a.m. No sleep at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Once they have us room that wasn't occupied.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The beds were very comfortable.
Cons: Getting a room that was occupied at first
Location: We stayed to do a college tour with our kids. Grand Valley State University was only about a mile away.
The first room they gave us appeared to be occupied with the bed not made and articles if clothing in the floor. Once they have us room that was not occupied the room was clean. The beds were comfortable. The hotel manager was very accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tecumseh, MI

Nice amenities, room isn't for the claustrophobic!

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: The amenities (breakfast bar, indoor pool, and workout room) were nice.
Cons: Making the rooms bigger would be nice, but doubt that will happen any time soon.
Location: There's not much to do in Allendale, which is surprising for a college town.
The location next to Grand Valley State University can't be beat, especially since there are no other hotels in or around Allendale. The overall building itself is good (nice heated indoor pool, very good breakfast bar, decent workout facility), but our room was way too cramped. We had to walk single-file to get anywhere in the room, and I even hit my head on the wall 3 inches away from the bed while I was sleeping. The bathroom situation was similarly tiny, and we didn't care for the pocket door that separated that from the sink.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfortable, and friendly staff.

Posted Nov 10, 2015
Cons: The size of the room was a little cramped with two beds. Overall, the hotel was great.
Family trip. Great time. Thank you. Everything was great. The girl at the front desk was very friendly and made us feel welcome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2015
Easy check in. Plenty of towels. Needed an extra hour for check out and they gave it to me with no problem. Easy check out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Great hotel near GVSU campus

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Check in was quick, room was very clean and modern. No problems with WiFi. Did not have time to check out the pool or breakfast, but there are restaurants close by. We will stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2015
its was great. close to where i needed to be. the place is clean and quite .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Novi, MI

Convenient location

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Better breakfast, more towels in the bathroom.
Location: 15 Minutes to Grand Rapids.
This hotel is great for GVSU and about a 15 minute drive into Grand Rapids. Check in process wasn't great, but that's a long story.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chelsea,MI

Nicer than first impression.

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable. The price was reasonable.
Cons: New carpet in the lobby,stairs,and hallways. Friendlier and attentive staff at front desk.
Location: Only hotel near GVSU but booked this due to no rooms available in Grand Rapids.
The lobby,stairs and hallways are in dire need of new carpet. The front desk clerks were not friendly or helpful except to tell me the elevator was broken, so I had to carry luggage up three flights of stairs. The room itself was very clean and comfortable which is important and the elevator was fixed the next day.The location is good for GVSU events and about 15to 20minutes to Grand Rapids.