Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

OK for one night stay

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Very close to where we needed to be.
Cons: Drinking glasses in the room. Kettle as well as/instead of coffee machine.
Staff very friendly. Room OK bed very comfortable. Public areas, i.e. Reception a bit cold and uninviting and carpets seem a bit worn.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chester

Noisy - wedding reception with v loud DJ / Music

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Breakfast & location
Cons: Control of noise levels
Location: Beautiful location. Easy access to roads to Newcastle etc
Horrifying experience - arrived in the evening after long and tiring day looking forward to relaxing in our room. On arrival we could hear music booming through the hotel and were in a line of other guests requesting that the noise be turned down or they be moved to quieter rooms. We were eventually moved to an adjoining cottage but could still hear the music. Breakfast was good. Management were helpful and reduced our room rate to compensate but were not in control of the noise levels which were unacceptable by anybody's standards - a really unusual situation. Would not recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wedding Event

Posted Aug 5, 2017
A well appointed hotel set in beautiful surroundings. Room was spacious and spotless. Rates were on point. Only comment was the slightly dowdy decor in the bar area which could do with renovation. Bar seating in the window areas was old and and slightly oderous. Overall I would return without hesitation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from darlington

Nice hotel ideal for what I needed

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Staff very good hotel going through a reverb so a bit untidy but to be expected would use it again no problem
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackpool Lancashire

Very nice newly refurbished rooms

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: The grounds are very nice loads of car park spaces and a nice out door seating area
Cons: The food its rubbish
Location: Right on the A68 walking distance to Alans Ford river and picnic area 5 minute drive to Consett
Very nice rooms and grounds a shame about the food its rubbish
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

There for evening of a wedding

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Our room and comfortable bed
Cons: Hairdryers with higher temperature settings and a styling nozzle, unless the one we used needed repairing.
Location: In a beautiful setting, with lovely countryside. Lots of opportunities for walks round and about
Lovely hotel, very impressive, as we were only going to the evening event we decided to arrive early and shower and get ready in our room rather than getting ready at home. The room was really nice and the bathroom lovely, powerful shower, which I really enjoyed, however when I tried to blow dry my hair it was impossible as there was only minimal heat on the hairdryer so I didn't feel properly prepared for my night. I did mention at reception but was told this would be down to housekeeping, but they would let them know in the morning, which didn't help me, not even next day as they didn't start doing the rooms till after we had got ready to leave. On saying that, apart from hairdryer, we loved the room, the bed was very spacious and comfortable, the evening do was lovely, good food and plenty of it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from southampton, UK

Wedding venue

Posted Jun 1, 2017
The hotel was a bit of a rabbit warren with no signs to guide you to room numbers/reception/restaurant/bar. The drinks were expensive. The breakfast was not worth £12.95.
5 out of 5
by Tom

Fine hotel

Posted May 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a lovely setting with large grounds and beautiful views. The hotel is concluding a refurbishment project and the carpets are all new and plush. The room was excellent with high quality finish - particularly enjoyed the coffee machine. The bed and chairs were very comfortable. I did not eat in the hotel this time, breakfast priced at £12.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County Durham

very good hotel.

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Easy access, room very good, staff very helpful and the food was very good.
Cons: Maybe a kettle and not a coffee machine.
Location: The location was very good, very quiet. Was there for an Elvis night which was good. Was not there to look around the area.
Staff very helpful. The room more than met expectations. Everything was very good. Intend to stay again at a later date.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tribute act then one night stopover

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: everything.
Cons: nothing
Location: This hotel is less than a mile from my house it is in the consett area of county durham.
We booked in for a Motown tribute act and decided to stay the night also . Hotel was very good three course meal was nice and the next day the buffet breakfast was very good. The room was clean up to date and very comfortable.