Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bayern

Schöne Hotelanlage am Ortsrand

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Ausstattung, Frühstück
Cons: Genau Anfahrtskizze, Navi findet nicht genaue Adresse
Wir hatten ein Zimmer im frisch renovierten Flügel des Hotels - sehr stylisch in schwarz und Silber gehalten. Leider gab's keine Minibar auf dem Zimmer. Frühstück war lecker und ausreichend. Schwimmbad ist klein, aber für's Entspannen nach einem langen Ausflugstag vollkommen ausreichend.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from W

Nice hotel shame about the drive.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Very pleasant stay at the hotel. Check in was easy and quick with very friendly staff. We stayed in one of the newer cottages as they were fully booked. Newly furnished most of the amenities worked well. Other than a few niggles we would stay again. Title refers to the driveway to the hotel which is steep full of pot holes and speed bumps.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor room but good party venue

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: Lovely room for a party/wedding venue
Cons: Bathroom facilities, driveway
We stayed over for birthday celebration and were disappointed to have no hot water for a shower. The shower was very old, water pressure was extremely poor & the water didn't even get close to warm. We were offered a key to another room so we could use the bathroom facilities but this was far from ideal & we didn't have time for this. All we needed was a decent bathroom to get ready for the party, unfortunately the hotel did not deliver. An expensive & disappointing experience, we were not offered a reduced rate despite the room not being fit for purpose. Watch out for the potholes & speedbump on the driveway which is unmarked & can't been seen in the dark. The road is in desperate need of resurfacing after all of the subsidence & water damage.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Relaxing stay in beautiful surroundings. Food is excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Skipton

Warm and homely

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Close to our destination, slightly on the expensive side but have very little competition
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Promising but once inside your room?

Posted Dec 26, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, excellent bar food, clean and relatively comfortable
Cons: The drive up to the hotel is not lit and dangerous and very long. The television is ancient, very small and unable to work the remote.
This is the third and last time I have stayed in this hotel. The staff are very friendly and the bar food is excellent. However I use this hotel for business so my hotel room is where I usually spend my time and this is where it starts to fall down. Whilst the beds and outlay of the room is ok - the television is ancient! Few channels, couldnt work the remote. I rang the hotel and asked if the bar had Sky TV because I wanted to watch a football game and this would mean me arriving early so I? would not miss it. Was told they didnt have only to find that the hotel info in my room said it did have sky in the bar?
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Welcoming hotel in beautiful countryside.

Posted Nov 29, 2015
Pros: The swimming pool, while not very large, was spacious enough for a relaxing swim after a busy day visiting the beautiful city of Durham.
All the staff were welcoming and very helpful, making for a very relaxing break. Our family room was very clean, spacious and comfortable and the restaurant and bar offered both good choice and excellent quality meals. We enjoyed our stay immensely.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice surroundings peaceful

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Food nice, staff very pleasant. Bed was very uncomfortable had to get mattress changed on the 2nd night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

country elegance

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: The location, the elegant building and general ambiance. Value for money..
Cons: The approach driveway
Location: Was conveniently located for our business purpose and did not have time to explore.
Booked online at last minute. Pleasant surprise on arrival -beautiful building inside & out. Large comfortable room. Lots of character. Very good buffet breakfast. Will visit again to explore the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicely situated

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Friendly helpful staff,good facilities would definetly stay here again