Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Dakota

So close

Posted Jun 30, 2016
So close to being a great hotel. The beds and the bedding were the worst.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel recomendable para visitar Cabo de Gata

Posted Dec 4, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel muy bien situado, sencillo, limpio y con trato muy agradable.
4 out of 5
by Javier from Alicante

Hotel recomendable

Posted Dec 2, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel bien situado, limpio y agradable trato del personal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiesbaden

Traumhafter Ausblick mit guter Preis-Leistung

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: Ausblick, Sauberkeit der Zimmer, Freundliche Anlage mit kleinem Pool und Restaurantbetrieb am Abend
Cons: Die Auskunftsfähigkeit in englischer Sprache ist an der Rezeption und im Restaurant, welches nicht jeden Abend geöffnet hat, eher gering.
Location: Das Hostel befindet sich an einem Hang nur 5 Minuten vom Ortszentrum mit Geschäften und Restaurants und nur wenige KM von Traumstränden entfernt.
Wir waren eine Woche in der Nachsaison Mitte Oktober im Hostel, welches für seine zwei Sterne eine gute Ausstattung, ruhige Lage und einen traumhaften Ausblick auf die Bucht von San Jose zumindestens von den Zimmern 61 bis 65 bietet. Das Frühstück ist ok. Müsli, Baguette, Schinken, Käse, Obst, Sonderwünsche kann es nicht erfüllen.
3 out of 5
by Rosalind from Huddersfield

Very Pleasant

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
El Dorado is a very pleasant budget hotel, and whilst the rooms are simple and basic, they are clean, bright and pleasant. The buffet breakfast, again is simple, but kept well stocked and fresh. Overall, for the price, we couldn't fault it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Great place to enjoy this secluded beach town

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Pros: Spaciousness, free breakfast, cable TV, in-room safe, priceless view of the beach/harbor, smiley and efficient staff.
Cons: Include an alarm clock in the room. The front desk isn't open 24 hrs/day. Replenish bathroom soap/gel when one stays for 5 nights in a row.
Location: Sign up for guided tours of Bahia de Gata and other nearby natural, spectacular attractions. The local beach is a short walk away w/ clear warm water.
It is best to rent a car (e.g., in Almeria) to reach this secluded town rather than rely on (limited) public transportation. If you are on the top floor, and arrive by car: hope to get one of the handful of parking spots on the back/top of the hotel. Otherwise, be prepared to climb 102 steps (yes, I counted them) from the sidewalk to the top floor, which may be challenging if you are carrying heavy luggage. More than just a room, what I got felt more like a small apartment, except that there was no kitchen. The balcony with patio furniture had a priceless view of the beach. My main bedroom was spacious, had cable t.v. and air conditioning. I had a mini-fridge and an in-room safe. There was an entire (small) bedroom with bunk beds that I never even entered. There is a pool. There is a restaurant. I don't understand why this place is classified as a hostAl rather than a full-fledged hotEl. The front desk staff seem happy to help with any and all questions you might have. My stay included a free breakfast that is plentiful (cold cuts, cheese, bread, pastries, cereal, coffee, tea, fruit, juices... all very tasty). I will absolutely return to this hotel/hostal whenever I get the chance, and will recommend it strongly to my friends, family, and anyone else interested in my opinion. :-).
5 out of 5
by pablo from Berkeley, California

great time and relaxation

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
Hostel El Dorado is a wonderful place to get away from the large cities of Spain. It is situated on a hill, two blocks from the center of town and overlooking the San Jose cove. Most of the rooms have a patio and they are well kept. The pool is small but you can enjoy it after a long day at the beach. We recommend Genovese and the other beaches that are right up the street from the hostel. You can get there by bus or if you have a car, please be careful with the road, since it is mostly an unpaved road. There is complete silence and relaxation at the hostel. Very nice to just listen to the waves and not hear all the cars and people of the city. Highly recommend. If you are coming as a couple, the restaurant downstairs is great for couples, overlooking the town and moon.
4 out of 5
by Bernard from France Est

Allez à San José !

Posted Apr 26, 2015 on Hotels
Bonne prestation, attention aux escaliers. Calme.Jolie piscine et belle terrasse. Formidable si l'on compare à ce que l'on trouve en France en bord de mer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastico

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels
El hotel esta genial. Limpio, bonito y a buen precio. El personal es excelente, simpatico y muy amable, atento a todo con muchas ganas. Me encantó la piscina. El desayuno correcto
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BONITO , Y BIEN SITUADO EN LA LADERA EN ESCALA

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: LA UBICACION Y LAS FORMAS
EL SITIO ES IDEAL PERO LA HABITACION EN INVIERNO RESULTA FRIA A PESAR DEL AIRE ACONDICIONADO QUE SI LO DEJAS ENCENDIDO DURANTE LA NOCHE , RESULTA ALGO RUIDOSO.