Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern England

Small and friendly hotel in an excellent location

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Very clean rooms, effective air conditioning, friendly and helpful staff. Good quality restaurant food with a daily special 3-course deal.
Cons: The buffet breakfast offered cereals, fresh fruit, cold meats and cheese, and boiled eggs, but was largely the same every day.
Location: This hotel is directly facing the long seafront promenade, easy flat walks . A frequent local bus service links the hotel to the town centre for €1.
This small hotel (33 bedrooms) is in an excellent location directly facing the sea near one end of the long, level seafront promenade that makes Almuñecar such an attractive resort. From here many good restaurants, tapas bars and shops are within easy walking distance. The old town and historic castle are about 1 kilometre away. A frequent local bus service makes getting around easy (pay the driver €1 a trip). The hotel takes up the first floor of a large apartment building (“Epsilon 1”), and has a restaurant and bar on the ground floor. About half of the bedrooms have a terrace directly facing the sea. From check-in at reception to check-out at departure, the friendly and welcoming hotel staff made our stay easy and comfortable. The quality of food in the restaurant was excellent and the two waiters very efficient and helpful. Many locals choose to eat here which is always a good sign. There is quite an extensive a la carte menu as well as a three course menu of the day. This is excellent value (particularly if you opt for the house wine) and is available at both lunch and dinner (unusual in Almuñecar). Some evenings there is live music in the bar, which may not be to everyone’s taste, but it never continued beyond 11pm. Compared with other hotels we have stayed at in Almuñecar, the Arrayanes Playa offers a more friendly welcome, more attentive staff, and very good value for money in an excellent location. We certainly intend to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Lovely clean and friendly hotel near to the beach

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: Spotlessly clean, very friendly staff. The hotel restaurant is very good
Location: The beach is directly opposite although other beaches were within walking distance. the town is a short walk away.
The reason we chose this hotel was mainly because it had been recommended and it lived up to expectations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to beach.

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Very friendly staff and enjoyed our stay. Room was very comfortable. Bathroom could be upgraded but still suitable for needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, England

Sea view, right on top of the beach!

Posted Jul 22, 2014
We came here for a quick break away to relax and had such an amazing time we are already planning out next trip back (and we have only been back home 1 day). I couldn't fault anything about the hotel other than there were no beds around the pool area but with such a beautiful beach across the road it wasn't a problem. Would recommend to anyone. The staff were fantastic! Can't wait to come back!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

see below

Posted Apr 5, 2014
We enjoyed our stay here The service was super. The hotel was located on the beach with a super view and many fine restaurants and shops close by. However at this time of year ( late Marrch ) many of the resaurants were closed. Street parking can be a bit of an issue in busy times but the hotel does offer off steet parking for a fee. We would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very noisy and car park a joke!

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: It was right on the beach front.
Cons: A lot.
The hotel was above a loud pub. The staff were not very helpful.The carpark was an expensive £12 a day shed. It was much cheaper and easier to park on the road and pay and display. The pool was next door in a block of flats. It wasn't very excessible or inviting. There were no where to sit around the pool.
5 out of 5
by Simon from Woking , Surrey

Easter Break

Posted Apr 12, 2013 on Hotels
This hotel is fantastic value for money. Staff were really helful and polite. hotel has been refurbed to a godd standard. We would definately stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by singleton from Brit

nice place for a quiet break

Posted Oct 28, 2012
Pros: the seaside view room and also single person offer were exactly as offered
Cons: no drink making facilitlies in room but cafe either side to sit in and ponder life!
Location: an hour from Malaga - I used shuttle direct
lovely location, unpretentious, very pleasant and helpful staff
3 out of 5
by larubia

poor braekfast

Posted Oct 17, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel staff were not very friendly, couldn't find the booking, the breakfast quality was not very good ( to be expected as it was quite cheap) but worst of all they ran out of everything, no coffee, no bread, no cheese or ham and no fruit, there was only one girl (poor thing) and the owners/managers walked passed a few times and diidn't help out.The rooms were very clean. Lovey view and about a 20/30 minute walk to the bar and park areas etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Nice ocean view and clean rooms

Posted Nov 24, 2010
We picked this hotel as Almunecar seemed interesting (it was, especially walking along the broadway and around town) and this hotel was on the ocean. Driving through town is a little tricky, but the oceanfront location made the hotel easy to find. Turns out there is a side street just after the main road into town that cuts all that off. Although we arrived later than expected (and were staying during the off season) we were able to find a member of the hotel staff who graciously checked us in. Our room was clean, comfortable and as described. The hotel itself seemed new inside and staff were friendly. Parking seemed a little scarce - if we were to go back we'd check to see if it were available through the hotel.