Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Stevenage

3 nights in Alnwick

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Very nice and clean room - bed was comfy, bathroom is spacious and well fitted and the breakfast was excellent. The owners are friendly and helpful.
Cons: Perhaps the ability to check in earlier. We parked at the BnB at lunchtime then walked into town, so no great problem.
Location: BnB is very close to a smart pub which serves good food. Very easy access from A1 and a short walk to town centre, Barter Books, castle and gardens.
Very nice B&B in a great little town with plenty of activities. Alnwick itself has plenty to offer and is a great base for touring the rest of Northumberland. We enjoyed Alnwick town centre, its castle, gardens and Barter Books and trips to Bamburgh Castle, Holy Island, Seahouses, Cragside and Rothbury. The only downside about Alnwick is the lack of car parking - public parking is free but it is very limited and most of the town centre uses disc parking. Signage to some car parks is poor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from birmingham

good location

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: close to facilities, quite comfortable room
Cons: need to clean the extractor fan in the bathroom
Location: we wanted to go to anwick castle, anwick gardens next to each other can pay for one or both. (cheaper in advance on line). close to the coast
we wanted to go to anwick castle, which was fantastic lots of interesting tours , gardens on site are brilliant could not fit it all in on the day so had to pop back for a couple of hours to finish off , plenty of choice for food in the town. cragside national trust near buy, another fantastic day out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Nice b&b close to town

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Very clean and friendly b&b 5 minutes walk in to anlwick town beautiful breakfast loads off choice ceral fruit toast and the best English breakfast we have had well recommended black pudding lovely . Will definitely be visiting the ravensmede hotel a gain x
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peshtera

Excellent

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable.
Very nice room. Comfortable, clean, spacious and full of light. Nice staff and good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from norfolk

Quiet location very close to town centre

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: We neede somewhere to stay whilst we attended a wedding on the coast. It was easy to find and well situated for Alnwick Gardens and Alnmouth.
Cons: Nothing we can think of.
Location: Alnwick Gardens are beautiful and Alnmouth is one of the best beaches just 15 minutes away.
Extremely friendly lady who runs the B&B. We had a very comfortable room with everything we needed for our stay. The breakfasts were substantial and very tasty. A great place to stay if you are planning to tour Northumbria and the nearby coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA & Norfolk

Lovely home to stay in

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Great location outside Alnwick.
Cons: Need to update phone number on Expedia.
Location: Holy Island Beaches Cragside
Claire was an excellent hostess for our 4 night stay. She was not bothered when I called her we may be past the 8 pm late check in due to traffic (we made it before). Her full English breakfast was wonderful. She was knowledgeable about Northumberland and local events. We would be glad to stay here again and would recommend Ravensmeade Cottage to anyone.
5 out of 5
by Peter

A home from home accommodation

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
The accommodation was excellent and the room very cosy and comfortable. Everything was spotlessly clean and fresh. As advertised the B/B was 15 mins walk to the Gardens and Castle so there was no need to use the car. Breakfasts were excellent and set you up for some early morning sight seeing. Places to eat for evening meals were in the town and not far to walk. We would certainly return here to enjoy the area. This is certainly a place we would suggest to our friends. Thanks for a wonderful stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Anglia

A below expectation B and B

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: The owners were pleasant and breakfast was reasonable. It was within walking distance of the party we were attending and the town of Alnwick.
Cons: Less clutter for ease of moving about and there would be somewhere to hang clothes. Breakfast hours could be longer.
Location: The hotel was within walking distance of the town, Alnwick castle and gardens, the Playhouse theatre, Barter Books, lots of restaurants and cafes.
The picture of the outside did not show that there was no off-street parking for the B and B and that it was in a busy residential area where we had to find a space among the street's residents' cars. The room itself was small and crowded, only just enough room to get down each side of the bed. There was a built-in cupboard with a hanging rail but it was so full of clutter that it was not possible to hang anything in there, a nuisance as we were booked in for two nights but had nowhere to hang our clothes for the party we were going to. Most of the rules for the stay were reasonable, about respecting other residents and not being noisy etc but there was also a very curt one at the top: breakfast is served between 8 and 9 am,please note that no food will be cooked after 9 am. I thought this a little draconian for people on holiday. I had asked for a walk-in shower when I booked it and, while this was not confirmed, I was not told that it could not be provided and the only shower was over the bath, which I cannot access due to infirmity. While the owners were pleasant and breakfast was reasonable (taken in the owners' lounge with the sofa pushed to one side), we decided not to stay for the second night and stayed elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by cesar

A pearl of the North Yorkshire

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Really clean and Friendly, within an hours drive to multiple beatiful locations
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Friendly and helpful owners, the b+b was clean and comfortable, we really enjoyed our stay.