Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York

Peaceful and Remote

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: The villa!
Cons: add white wine to the in room bar
Location: Set on a golf course about an hour from Antigua. Nothing nearby so either stock up on books or grab your golf clubs!
If you are looking for peaceful and remote, and a round of golf or two, this is the place. The villa was everything I could have hoped for and more. Spacious, airy, private, clean. The private pool was sublime, and I loved the outdoor shower, and the door from the indoor shower that lead outside. Waking up to the volcano was quite the experience as well! I missed the lava flow by a couple of days, but at least got to see the steam. Dining - I dined at the restaurant for several meals. The breakfasts were very good, and had a great dinner as well. I ordered suite service a couple of times - the chef made a special chicken noodle soup for me as I wasn't feeling well (most amazing broth!), and then I also had a pizza delivered (clearly I was feeling better!). The only thing I would have added to the room would have been a white wine option. From the villas to the clubhouse, the hill was quite big, but if staff every was going by on a golf cart, they would offer me a ride. The gym had old equipment, but I was still able to get a workout or two in during my four day stay. An absolutely stunning place!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W.

Unforgettable, beautiful place to rest.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Splendid time with my family and delicious dinner options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Top 3 overall hotel experiences for me...

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Top 3 overall hotel experiences for me...Loved the room and the staff was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Excelent Food!

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Great Golfing! Superb food and wonderful service all around!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing views from private pool suite

Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Orbitz
What a hidden gem - place is more beautiful than the pictures. Antigua was awesome to explore (about 30 min away) and Pacaya was fun to hike. Fuego lava flowing our first night at resort - what a treat. Food very well priced and tasty. Walter at front desk was so accommodating. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Positive : Excellent location on the slopes of El Fuego , the suites with the private pool and jacuzi are wonderfull and very romantic. Negative: We think that for a 340 $ per night hotel ( without breakfast ) the hotel can put more attention on :maintenance of the suite and the surrounding, heating the water in the outside jacuzzi, more towels , more soap and shampoo and better quality of food in the restaurant. We informed the hotel at the check in that we are celebrating 37 years of marriage ... and nothing happened...
4 out of 5
by Alejandro from Guatemala

Stunning Property!!

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay!!! We were looking for a private getaway and it was exactly what we got. The location is excellent (a short trip from La Antigua) and the property is stunning! Loved the room (suite); really spacious, with a private pool, jacuzzi and an outdoor shower, and of course the view!! Would gladly return any day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL, USA

Secluded paradise!!

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: Excellent training of staff. And one of the best maintained golf courses anywhere in the world.
Cons: The food was a bit of a disappointment from our first visit. Food was not as good, and prices went up a bit. Could use improvement there.
Location: It is very secluded, so nothing nearby. Must call taxi to go to nearby Antigua or Alotenango. Resort has restaurant/golf/pool/zipline, etc.
Awesome experience. This was our second time there. The golf is amazing, the volcano views from every hole and every spot on the resort nothing short of spectacular. All the staff were extremely well trained, most even referring to us by name. Both visits were during low season and our room was upgraded. You can tell the hotel and the staff really want your stay to be memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ultimate in luxury

Posted Jun 1, 2016
This place is magical. The views of volcanoes and nature from the rooms are majestic. The staff are super friendly and helpful. The golf course is very well maintained and beautiful. I travel a lot and this is my favorite hotel anywhere. It is very secluded which adds to the views and majesty but also make going out a bit difficult. It is a good distance from town. However the excellent food made by the chefs might mean that you won't want to.
5 out of 5
by Rodrigo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels