Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Potomac, MD USA

Nice quiet location outside of central Chamonix

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Nice quite location about 2 miles outside of central Chamonix within easy scenic walking or free public bus transporation to downtown area.
The rooms in the newer section of the hotel were neat, clean and comfortable. The hotel and waiter staff were very attentive and freindly. The dining area and outdoor deck/pool area has a great view of the valley and mountaine peaks including Mont Blanc.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic exterior gutted = modern interior mess

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Wi-Fi connectivity; heating/AC.
Location: Remote location; nothing to walk to. Have to drive to get anywhere. We had a delightful dinner in Argentiere (6 min away) and recommend staying there.
The hotel is located on a remote side road up-valley from Chamonix Mt. Blanc. While there are other towns nearby with hotels and a few shops, this Best Western is definitely remote. There is nothing to walk to. And, once inside, you're trapped in a labrythine maze of half-floor stair descents and elevator ascents to get to your room. Everything is completely brand-new, but the decor is cold/sterile. There is no reason to stay in your room except to sleep, as there is no view. Wi-Fi was extremely slow/intermittent from our hotel room, so we were advised to make our way back out to the hotel lobby to get a connection. That was absolutely not convenient. And, when we inquired about A/C, we were told to only open the window as the room had no heating/cooling system. This meant we were subject to the smoke wafting in from the alleyway below.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Paysage montagnes rivières et sentiers pédestres

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: L'emplacement
Cons: Qualité des ménages mediocres
Location: Sentiers pédestres à proximité amant de la nature ravi
Parfait pour le plaisir de la nature......proximité des sentiers ...a 1 heure à pied du centre ville de Chamonix par les sentiers ...les golfeurs.....golf en montagne vue à couper le souffle!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Location: the most beautiful mountain area I've ever seen
tolles Hotel super freundlicher Service unglaublich tolle Gegend mit Bergen und dem umfangreichsten Sport,wander und Freizeitangebot-fantastische Restaurants ein Alpin Paradies!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by P Trudgeon from Dubai

excellent hotel-value for money

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels
We had a great time. The rooms was spacious for 3 people. We had a magnificient view over the Mont-Blanc down the valley. The buffet breakfast was nicely laid out and bread and patisserie were very fresh. The service was tip top. Shame this family run hotel will no longer be after 100 years in the same hands. It has been bought by a French hotel chain who I was told will extend and upgrade this hotel to a 3 stars with spa while keeping the outside architecture of this fabulous gem.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hôtel aux Tines

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Hôtel plaisant à l'écart de Chamonix ( 5 minutes en bus)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by P Trudgeon from Dubai

Excellent hotel- very good value for money

Posted Apr 12, 2014 on Hotels
This hotel has a lot of character being a hundred years old. That does not stop it from being comfortable, with spacious room and modern bathrooms. this hotel has spectacular views on the Mont-Blanc and is only a few kilometers away from the Argentiere skiing area, reknown for its tough but spectacular skiing. Service was excellent and the buffet breakfast was brilliant. Unfortunately this family run hotel has been now been sold and will become a 3 stars spa hotel. Let's hope the new French hotel chain owners will maintain the same standard of service we benefited from so we can come back to when the hotel reopens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with very good restaurant

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels
Good sized room with comfortable beds. Breakfast and evening dinner of excellent quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Сергей from Московская область

Непонятно, почему только 2 звезды

Posted Apr 24, 2013 on Hotels
Совершенно замечательный небольшой отель.Очень дружелюбный персонал.Номер был уютным. Кормили просто восхитительным ужином. Отель расположен в очень тихом месте. Это не очень хорошо для всякой тусни, зато спокойно. В 100 метрах остановка скибуса. В номере каждый день убирали, он был всё время как в первый раз.Завтрак, правда, откровенно бюджетный, без горячего.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kerry from Essex, UK

Cheap and cheerful hotel

Posted Apr 8, 2013
Location: The hotel is a little bit out of town but we didn't find this a major problem.
The hotel was very basic but clean and comfortable. The only very slight problem was connecting to the wi-fi (even the hotel staff were unable to connect using the hotel's own computer). Staff were very friendly and happy to help.