Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Alpina

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Mercure to stay so I had to walk some five blocks distance with my luggage in the comfortable boots I just bought in the freezing cold weather.
Cons: It was a gimmic to begin with. All was a deception on the part of the hotel chain knowing the Alpina Hotel was closed and yet offering their services
Location: Expedia is now part of this since I made my reservations through them.
The hotel alpina is closed when I arrived to the door and after spending some time looking for someone for directions I decided to go to a ski shop in the building who explained the hotel has been closed for some time When I made the reservation through Expedia I was given an itinerary as if it was a working hotel only to hear from someone one week prior to the trip that the hotel is closed. I was very upset however they gave a choice of another hotel Mercure Hotel which is part of the grand chain of hotels. At that time I tried to get another hotel but the prices had ore than tripled since it is a holiday. I had no choice that to decide to stay with them. One more problem. The person who had to send the confirmation was out. What else could be wrong. I did not get a confirmation until the day I flew to Geneva and had to take an airport transfer to chamonix and had to give an address to the hote. Since there is no reliable internet connectivity I did not receive the email with the confirmation so I gave the address for alpina and hoping someone will be ther to guide me. When I got ther is when I got there is when I learned all about alpina hotel. The gentleman after an hour or so was able to get hold of someone related to alpina and was able to assist me making phone calls since I do not have the ability to do so. I had to buy something from him. A pair of boots 200 euros or so as a gesture of thanking him for his wonderful assistance Then I learned I did get the hotel mercu
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Qatar

A tired hotel requiring massive refurbishment

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: nothing stood out
Cons: Decor, fit-out, new carpets, new bathrooms - everything? its just very dated and tatty. Either fix the AC or be able to open windows!!!!!!!
Location: Google chamonix - to much to do to list. Eat at Moo, eat at Munchies and Midnight Burger Bar
I only needed a room for one night as my preferred hotel - Pointe Isabelle - was fully booked Its the first - and only - time I've stayed at the Alpina. It is fine but the rooms are tiny, the doors to the bathroom do not open fully due to the size of the sink, the whole hotel requires a massive refurbishment to be remotely comparable with the other local establishments. Carpets are frayed, woodwork needs painting, bathrooms updating The hotel is clean and the shower was excellent but thats as much as can be said for it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faded Hotel in the centre of Chamonix

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: I didn't.
Cons: All of it.
The Alpina has a fantastic position and good views but is old, badly maintained and very overpriced for its facilities. Chairs in reception are torn and faded. They leave the doors to the river open in the lobby so it is cold. The rooms have seen better days and the balconies are old and poorly maintained. No one has spent any money on this hotel in a long time. In our room on the 5th floor the wifi only worked if you sat scrunched up against the door to the room and not in the rest of the room. The toilet was broken. If it had cost 50 euros for the night it would have almost been acceptable. But it cost a whopping 240 Euros for ONE night for three people in July. Outrageous. Don't stay here unless there is absolutely no choice. By the way breakfast is 17 euros PER PERSON!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Ideal position for the town

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: The position and access to the town
Cons: Up date rooms as planned
Location: Easy access to skiing walking and many more alpine activities
Hotel is in a prime position, fantastic restaurant on top of the Hotel with views of Mont Blanc and surrounding mountains, shame the restaurant is not used to its full potential with a more extensive and value for money menu to match other restaurants in the area. I look forward to seeing the new rooms and décor they have promised in the September refit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location by I felt the room was a little cold

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Great location and a comfortable bed but I found the room a little cold. No matter what I did, I couldn't get the room any warmer. I didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the restaurant. Parking was a few minutes walk away but I managed to get free parking
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Horrible over night stay

Posted Feb 29, 2016
The hotel check in and check out time is not flexible at all. The door knot on my room door kept falling down. The shower head also doesn't work properly. The reception staff are super unhelpful, they basically answered all my question with 'I don't know'. Although the hotel location is not bad and the outside of the building looks okay, the service and the room quality is more like a Motel than a three star hotel. Luckily I stayed for one night only and go to another resort the next day. There are definitely many more up to the standard hotels in Chamonix than this one, so I would not recommend anyone to stay in this hotel at all.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but hotel is tired, needs updating

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: Great location, big sitting area in the lobby.
Cons: Needs totally refurbishing.
Typical ski hotel, functional, not flash. Few amenities and nothing to offer in terms of toiletries. Left luggage is unsecured, have heard skis have been stolen so kept mine in my room. Breakfast is not bad. Great location but the room is at best comfortable. Was quite cold despite not being cold outside. Served a purpose but don't go if you're with someone you want to impress!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Excellent Location

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Location and Atmosphere
Cons: Room Decor, although remember it is a Ski Hotel
Location: All year round Chamonix activities, A trip through the tunnel to Italy is recommended (Don't forget your passport)
Warm friendly Hotel, fantastic location with views of |Mont Blanc and Glacier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

centrally placed

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: central
Cons: Needs an upgrade
Location: Ski bus near entrance and close to main shopping area, with good shops
Decor becoming a little tired the rooms, Reception area pleasant and relaxed bar area.Excellent restaurant on top floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kent, england

In central position of village

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Pros: Central position, staff very helpful at reception, also in restaurant they were very polite. Our rooms 600 & 619 were facing Mont Blanc and large.
Cons: Hotel overall is very tired and needs updating, (Though i know it's being renovated in the spring).
Location: Centrally located.Bus stops on doorstep.Market on Saturday.Many restaurants & bars to visit,good vibe to the village.Ski runs for different abilities.
Staff helpful and polite, hotel in very good position of village, bus stops for ski runs are right outside hotel so very handy. As a family with two older teenagers we had an excellent holiday and will definitely be visiting chamonix next year. Would we stay at this hotel again - yes. Chamonix has a very safe feel which we liked, the restaurants we tried were of a very good standard and all staff everywhere were polite and helpful and, (yes we should speak french) but they all spoke very good English which was great. Chamonix has a mix of different nationalities visiting the village which we love - so is not predominantly just English visiting etc, so you really feel that you are on holiday if that makes sense.