Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean hotel and good location

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Hotel was clean and in a good location. The staff were very good but often not there. Even breakfast was late as the guy has not turned up. When the breakfast arrived it was very good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Armand from Caen

3 étoiles mais en mérite 4+

Posted Mar 20, 2016 on Hotels
Grande chambre pour un Hotel d'altitude ; accueil chaleureux et excellent petit déjeuner ; départ ski aux pieds
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, good hotel

Posted Apr 21, 2015
Hitel Altitude is perfectly located for access to all slopes and lifts in Val D'isere; access to all lifts within 100 metres. Ski in/out possible, although limited in spring conditions. You are a 7/8 minute walk from the main strip but there are bars and restaurants closer than this. Parking is not onsite but in a nearby underground site which is reasonably priced, convenient and secure; you don't need a car whilst in Val D'isere as free shuttle buses run very frequently and stop near to the hotel (Rond Point des Pistes). The hotel itself is tired in places and the sound proofing throughout is a bit suspect. We asked to swap rooms after a few days, the staff being more than happy to help. Breakfast served 7-10 was always good although a bit more variety and some cooked options would have been welcomed. Ski room is decent, with lockers and a wall of heated boot racks. Wifi worked well and was quite quick wherever I tried. As mentioned above, the staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful; I couldn't fault them, they were excellent. All in all I would say 3 stars for the hotel is about right but that the location is ideal for access to Val's slopes. Given that's exactly why we picked Hotel Altitude I would have no hesitation in recommending it to others; I would happily go back myself. My only comment would be to pack ear plugs of you're not an early riser.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aix en Provence

Excellente situation

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Accueil, cuisine
Cons: Literie, Fitness
Location: Plein centre, idéal, sur les pistes
Au pied des pistes de Bellevarde et Solaise, cet hotel au personnel accueillant nous a satisfait. Bon petit déjeuner et bonne cuisine. Les chambres sont grandes mais la literie est à revoir. La partie fitness (sauna, hammam) mériterait d'être modernisée et agrandie.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West

Perfectly placed for ski in and out

Posted Apr 5, 2015
Wonderful warm welcome from Nicholas, the owner. Super, simply decorated rooms (some with lovely views over the bottom of the slopes).
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cumbria UK

Traditional hotel in an excellent location

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Staff; location; traditional; warm and comfortable.
Cons: A pre-order multi-choice of dinner menu rather than a set menu with no choice. Out door poor open in winter.
Enjoyable 4 day ski break with friends. Staff were welcoming and provided excellent service. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. Bedroom / bathroom was adequate; bar and lounge area were really cosy with real fires; restaurant was traditional. We would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Mark from london

very nice hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
hotel altitude was a great landing point for val d'isere. Awesome room, ski right onto the slopes and close to all the night life. Breakfast in the morning is basic but very good but the hotel service is what set it apart in my mind and will be the reason i return. The owner is very involved in the day to day of the hotel and the staff were super helpful in everything from getting us lift tickets, to arranging taxis back to bourg, to putting up with our poor french. They even let us take a shower after our last day of skiing which was really refreshing and im sure appreciated by our fellow train riders back to paris. All in all, excellent.
4 out of 5
by Pete from Arlingont, VA, USA

Great place close to lifts

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Convenience of location, and excellent food. Given the location, the cost was reasonable.
Cons: Could use better (stronger) lighting in the room.
Location: Phenomenal skiing!
Hotel Altitude is a an excellent three-star lodging with great continental breakfast and a really good restaurant for an evening meal. The hotel is directly across from Val d'Isere's Olympic gondola lift and close to the Solaise bubble chair lift. It is an easy 5-to-10-minute walk to town centre. Staff was very nice and helpful. The room was small but nice, with an excellent remodeled bath.