Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Preston NW, Lancashire

Nice hotel in walking distance to telecabina

Posted Jan 9, 2017
I travelled with 2 children age 3 and 7. Quiet and clean excellent staff. Enjoyed the sound of the rapid river
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good location. Noisy river.

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Pros: The hotel has a jacuzzi, sauna and steam room in the basement, and all three were in good condition. Available from 17:00 to 18:00hrs.
Cons: Decoration in the hallways could be improved, updated. Bedrooms facing the river need better soundproofing. Car parking in the hotel was awkward.
Location: Within 200 yards there was a Thermal Spa Centre, which was excellent. 15 - 20 minute drive to access many top ski resorts.
Ideal location for access to the surrounding area. We found the hotel to be acceptable in most respects for the amount paid. The Staff were effective and very helpful. The food was limited, but well cooked. The river running by the bedroom window was very loud, and this did effect the quality of sleep achieved (had to buy earplugs for the second night). The hotel is used for wellness, and at the time of our visit there were approximately 12 persons attending. Which we found this interesting.
5 out of 5
by Raymond from England

This is a little gem !

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel Athena was excellent. The service from the staff was great, nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was as good a you will get, great continental selection but also hot food available, eggs bacon sausage. The only negative I could find was no free wifi in the rooms, it was however available free in the lobby. Many thanks to all at the hotel Athena.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is basic but comfortable. The spa is very nice. Dinner is hit and miss. Two very nice meals two not so great on the half board option. Breakfast was good but they need to replenish the scrambled eggs and the pain au chocolat. Overall good value for money. I would return.
3 out of 5
by David from Lancashire

3 star is fair

Posted Feb 5, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyed the stay. Friendly attentive staff. Bath(shower)room was small, separate toilet. Drinks prices at meals very reasonable (€12.5 for litre of red wine). From the "menu" meals, most main courses had only two elements. However, with a cheese course as well, I wasn't still hungry after the meals. Breakfast was quite good, good coffee etc machine. Cooked sausage, bacon and scrambled egg, though one day the egg was cold and sausages weren't fully cooked. There were, though, plenty of croissants, pain au chocolat, pain au raisin and lots of other stuff, fruit, cold meats, cheese, breads.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, friendly staff but basic.

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Nice, small hotel, friensly staff, rooms quite basic though. Beds quality not very good. Didn't seem to be a 3 star hotel. We only been there for 2 nights and it serve the purpose. I Don't think we would book it if stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva, Switzerland

Staff makes a good hotel fantastic!

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Hotel staff, Spa, food
This wasn't the first time we have stayed at the Athena, but it was the best. The woman who was there everyday of our stay (over Christmas) was welcoming, cheerful, attentive, helpful, and generally a wonderful host. Even though we arrived late due to traffic - technically just a few minutes after the reception was to close, she was still there, welcoming us with a smile, carrying our luggage to the room, and making sure we were settled in. Also, even though the restaurant had been closed for at least 30 minutes, she insisted that we needed to eat and had food waiting for us as soon as we came back up from the room. I've never met a nicer hotelier! The room was perfectly functional. It was overlooking the rushing river, which we loved, but if you are a light sleeper do be aware that you can hear the river even with the windows closed. Well, you can from the ground floor, anyway. The spa was spectacular - much nicer than we had a right to expect in a 3 star hotel. The atmosphere was dark and tropical, the steam room cloudy and hot, the sauna just right, and the jacuzzi, though small, was a great place to soak away a long day of skiing in rough conditions. The hotel is not responsible for the middle-aged man who insisted on sitting nude, legs akimbo, in the sauna, but they were nice enough to ask him to cover up when the found out. Note to guests - bathing suits required! As I said, this wasn't our first stay at the Athena, and it definitely will not be the last!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Pleasant hotel next to the river

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Pros: The welcome, comfortable room, the spa, and the food
Location: On the edge of town, quiet location, has ski bus connection to the main lift. Excellent base for walking or driving trips
Helpful staff, comfortable with a good sauna and steam room, ideal after skiing. Good food, fair prices
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trip for Snowboard

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
Over all is good just 20 Meter from Shuttle Bus to Olympic 1 Gondola! Nice Food and Good service! It take 5 to 10min. walking to Olympic , if don't take shuttle Bus
5 out of 5
by Elena from UK

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels
Nice hotel, good service, polite staff. Receptionist Dolphin is very king and nice person. I quite liked a cheef - his name is Philipp. He cookes a wonderful french food I never tried before. I would recommend to visit this hotel to all my friends.