Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

ideal for short stay

Posted Jan 13, 2016
Pros: easy access to slopes
whole hotel is very well presented - from the reception to the boot room, from the room to the bar
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Good value , warm and welcoming

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: Central location , good size comfortable rooms , plenty of hot water and freindly staff
Cons: A bit more choice at breakfast
Location: Central Val D'Isere , easy to get onto the slopes
This hotel is centarlly located , warm comfortable and welcoming .It offers everything you'd expect at good value in a resort where its competitors can be pricey and aren't always worth the extra for another star . The Kandahar refurb has created a comfortable bar and lounge with a nice mix of old and new alpine wood and stone .The bedrooms are big enough , well cared for , have pleasant if not stylish decor and have plenty of storage for ski clothes . The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is basic but with good French bread and patisserie and cold meats - maybe a bit more fresh cheese , a wider choice of fruit and cereals would add . The connected Taverne D'Alsace is a good choice for dinner , with a broad regional menu , lively informal atmosphere and offering good value in a resort where the food is genrally pricey . Other facilities like the bootroom are kept clean and tidy .WiFi is free . The staff are all very friendly and helpful with advice . We'll be going back If you don't wnat to pay the steep extras in some other hotels of a spa or pool I'd strongly recommend We'll be using the Kandahar again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Hertfordshire

Comfortable hotel close to the ski lifts

Posted Apr 23, 2014
Pros: The hotel had a nice and relaxed ambiance.
Cons: it is fine as it is.
Location: it is in a great location adjacent to all the shops and restaurants and only 150 meters from the ski centre.
We found the staff friendly and helpful. Our room was typically french sized, i.e.. small , but large enough for a very comfortable double bed and separate bathroom and toilet. It was very clean and nicely presented. A self service breakfast was served in the first floor dining room which had a nice ambience with a good choice of bread and cereals, fresh juices, fruit plus eggs to boil but limited on cheese and meats. Coffee was fine albeit out of a machine. There was a nice log fire to sit beside in the evenings and have drinks. There was a very convenient ski locker room on the ground floor and underground parking which was very tight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

traditional hotel with lovely dining and sitting

Posted Apr 17, 2014
comfortable and friendly staff....very attentive and helpful. Right in the middle of town - bus to the slopes just outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Hampshire

Great hotel right in the middle of town.

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Location: Location is perfect. Situated directly in the middle of town between two ski areas and central for restaurants and bars.
This hotel provided all the components for a great stay. Staff throughout the hotel were efficient and very helpful. Our rooms were exactly as advertised, comfortable, clean and well serviced. Breakfast was good and the hotel restaurant was enjoyable. We will definitely return to the Hotel Kandahar when we visit Val d'isere in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Olga from Russia

Unforgettable vocation

Posted Mar 16, 2013
Pros: Cleanness
Cons: Breakfast
Location: 5 minutes by foot or 2 minutes by bus to the chairlift. It is located in the centre of the village.
We would like to thank all staff of this hotel for hospitality including all amenities which the hotel offers such as convenient and very clean room, well equipped ski room with hitting for ski shoes, fantastic L'Occitane cosmetic for having a shower, enough choice of breakfast. We enjoyed our accommodation at the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Paradise Valley , AZ

Will Return

Posted Feb 24, 2010
Excellent value with central location in Val d'Isere. Reasonable rates considereing adjacent properties are considerably more expensive. Great breakfast lounge with excellent selection of breakfast foods provided. Ski storage lockers with ski boot blower racks for drying provided in change room. Underground parking tight fit but very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

2nd Visit - very enjoyable

Posted Mar 13, 2009
Overall this is a great place to stay for skiing. Comfortable, clean and friendly. Very convenient for the slopes. The bar is a bit under-utilised and breakfasts are basic mountain fare with limited choice but fine for a short visit. Tea facilities in the room would help. Check out was not well done. With an early bus (07.30) the bill had to be settled the night before but reception staff disappeared without leaving a bill for review. This was fixed (grumpily) but left a sour note. But Overall I think this place is just great. Alsasce Restaurant in the basement is also very good. Will definitely return
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Not impressed

Posted Aug 5, 2008
Bathroom was dirty staff were grumpy
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Great Location

Posted Feb 20, 2008
Great location close to main gondola. Good hotel in traditional style, included continental breakfast. Room wasnt large but good facilities for board/ski storage. However, did find previous occupants socks under bed so not sure how well it was cleaned. No holder for shower head so water floods the bathroom. Heaters not great so cold at certain times of night.