Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Summer review.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: We were the only ones in the pool. Open 10 to 7pm.
Location: 5 min walk to cable car and the river, bike hire and all other activities.
Stayed in summer for a few nights after walking GR5. Not many guests in the hotel going by breakfast but staff were very friendly and accommodating. Allowed a late check out which was great as we weren't getting our transfer until after 1pm. Great breakfast and pool and in middle of town. Can be a bit noisy in the morning but we had a room overlooking the small park. Wouldn't trade the view for the noise. We ended our walk in Samoens and great place to chill for the last couple of days.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location in heart of village

Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
Had triple room, 3 single beds, nice large room so didn't seem cramped at all for 3 adults
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but lacking in pleasantries

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
On arrival we were given our key and nothing else, had to ask for lift and room directions and about breakfast. Very surly Monsieur! Madame more pleasant, at least responded to bonjour but no chat whatsoever. Room was very pleasant and spacious, wonderful location, very central. Hotel lacking in atmosphere generally, shame as it is an attractive building and nicely decorated. Free ski bus nearby or drive to gondola in a few minutes. Breakfast was very good with all the usual cold buffet and boiled eggs available. We ate there one evening and the food was good. However it was so hot I had to be helped outside by my husband whereupon I passed out at the entrance, Madame's only comment apparently was to ask my husband if I was drunk and did I have a room at their hotel. She didn't ask if I was ok. The rest of the staff were helpful and asked if I was ok on my return to the dining room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Lovely Staff, great Food but Terrible Beds

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Staff, Food & Location
Cons: Buy decent mattresses for the beds !!!
Location: Near to two ski bus stops, restaurants and shops
A very nice, traditional hotel in a great location with lovely staff who were very helpful and welcoming. Checking in and out was really fast and the hotel is near to two ski bus stops - and therefore only 5 minutes ride to the nearest telecabine. We had an amazing fondue dinner in the restaurant with fantastic service. Surprisingly, the hotel restaurant was very quiet whereas the restaurants in the village were full. The hotel restaurant was well worth a visit if you like good food. Unfortunately, the mattresses on the beds in our room were cheap and nasty which meant we could feel every single spring !!! As a result, we didn't sleep well at all and had to place the spare blankets under the bed sheet to try and make the mattress bearable. If the hotel invested in new and comfortable mattresses, this would be a great hotel.
5 out of 5
by John from Wilmington

Exceeded Expectations, Very Helpful Management

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I were traveling in France and had booked a room at Les Glaciers because it was on the route of the Tour de France. The front desk manager was extremely helpful and friendly - including when I forgot the door access code returning late at night and called for help. The hotel is conveniently located at the foot of the Samoens pedestrian area, and has a great bar and lounge. The room was clean, spacious, comfortable, and had the best view to be had in Samoens as the Tour came through town. We extended our stay in order to enjoy the area, visit the Cascade des Rougets, and do some cycling. I would definitely visit Samoens again, since there are so many things to do and see there, and I would definitely book Les Glaciers again.
1 out of 5
by Andrew from Anonymous

Awful, never again

Posted Mar 22, 2016 on Hotels
Tiny room, tiny bed, I am 5 ft 7 and my legs hung off the end. Lumpy square pillows. Shower was broken and the reception refused to fix it. Old couple on reception rude, dont speak English at all. Noisy room as old wooden building so had to be moved. Got charged extra to what agreed when booked the room. Samoens website is a total fake, the activities offered in the town dont exist when you get there. Shops and cafes not open. Nothing to do in this tiny French town. I wouldnt recommend this hotel or town to anyone. Go to somewhere other than France where you get more respect from the people.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Clitheroe

Great for skiers

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was great for a short ski break, really near to the free bus and the village had plenty going on in the evening in terms of apres ski, shopping and food. Hotel was well organised for skiers and the breakfast was good quality and plentiful, beds were very comfortable. The only thing missing was a kettle in the room - no tea for 3 days!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from UK

Skiing weekend

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Conveniently located within village setting
Cons: Breakfast choice, room smelled of drain smell a little, so would be good for this to be fixed
Location: Great location, lots to do
Comfortable if a little basic accommodation but ideal for a reasonably priced extra weekend skiing trip. Hotel always seems empty, rarely see other guests which makes it slightly soleless. Breakfast could have more choice, faily limite, though food was fresh (apart from tinned fruit)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from england

Short break for skiing holiday

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Position
Cons: Refurbishment
Location: Village in Savoie right in centre of ski tegion
Staff quite helpful Probably would stay again because it is situated in such a good position for our holiday
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford, Surrey, UK

Perfect position in town but . . .

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Clean, warm, great views, great position. Breakfast was surprisingly good.
Cons: Bedding, shower facilities, TV and internet access. Price of rooms that are only 2-3 star.
Location: Great location in centre of town. Quick access to slopes. Lively in evening, lots of bars and restaurants nearby.
The hotel is dated and was curiously quiet and uninviting to people coming in off the street to the bar so lacked atmosphere. However the position is perfect in the centre of town and the views from our room were fantastic. The room was old fashioned and quite small for the price we paid. It was spotlessly clean though and warm. The TV was all French channels (even UK or USA news channel would have been good). Forget the internet access we only briefly achieved this when we were given the correct password and code on the last day - but soon got dumped off. The 'shower' was over the bath without a curtain or screen so we resorted to baths. Particularly unpleasant was the plastic matress cover over a thin sheet.