Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edin

Good location. Close to bus stops ,and town centre

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Very clean apartment. Views to Aigulle Midi. Good location. Close to shops and restaurants. Would stay again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location and ideal for small family

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for a week , central location and close to everything. Would stay again. Reception staff more than helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire, England

Just what we wanted

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff and nice balcony with good view. When I reported that 2 light bulbs had blown, they were replaced within 30 minutes.
Cons: Would have liked a kettle, but just used a saucepan to boil water.
Location: Chamonix Sud is on most of the bus routes and all the buses are free with the Carte d'Hote from the hotel.
A basic ski apartment, convenient for bus routes. After reading some previous reviews, I was a bit dubious about my booking, but was very pleasantly surprised. Clean, roomy (aprtment for 6) and reasonably well-equipped. We realised that there would be no dishcloth/washing-up liquid, so took our own. The kitchen area must be cleaned before you leave.
4 out of 5
by Simon from Reading

Great for the price

Posted Mar 30, 2015 on Hotels
It had everything we needed for a very reasonable price.
4 out of 5
by George from England

Just what we wanted

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Just a cheap cheerful place for a ski holiday, close to the shops and centre of town and bus stop is just round the corner to take you to any of the ski locations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

A very homely stay near Chamonix town :)

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Free wifi maybe? Though the fees charged were reasonable :)
Location: It was much nearer to the town center than was described by them! There is a pizzeria near the residence called "Paradisio Pizza" which is great too!!
Stayed there during our Easter trip in mid-April 2014 and we were in for a pleasant surprise when we checked at Résidence Pierre & Vacances La Rivière! Everything surpassed our expectations- the room cleanliness and tidiness, facilities available for us, and more! In our room for 3, there were two bunk beds and one sofa bed which were all comfy. Moreover, there was also a table for us to dine and just sit around and chit chat :) A little downside would be that wifi is not free, but it was considerably affordable :) We even had a balcony where we can enjoy the beautiful scenery, overlooking the Aiguille du Midi! Overall, we had a great time at the residence and couldn't bear to leave even! Would recommend this place to anyone :) Oh and we recommend this pizzeria called "Paradisio Pizza" which is just a less than 5min walk from the residence! They used traditional oven to cook the pizza and it was yummy! There is a great assortment of flavours that we can choose from and they even allow us to mix and match! Price is relatively affordable too ;)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect location great value in summer

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Apartment was basic but I hadn't paid much so was happy, great place for hiking and trail running
4 out of 5
by Colin from Birmingham

Clean and convenient location

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels
Very good value for money. Basic but clean and tidy. I would stay here again.
2 out of 5
by Richard from Los Angeles, CA

Great location, awful motel/hostel/tenement!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The location was excellent. You don't need a car at all if you stay here. The ski shuttle to all area mountains is 30 seconds away, and it's free!
Cons: Describe the real situation. More helpful front desk employees. They knew very little, or in typical French fashion, didn't want to help.
Location: And couple minute walk to he greatest little town in the Alps. Don't spend the 44 euro to park at the hotel. Park on the street in front for free!
Don't believe the description of this hotel. At best it is a hostel. At worst its a tenement building. But, it is a great location! So, it's up to you. No toilet paper, no soap, no shampoo. You have to bring it all or buy it there. That's as never told to us when we booked his. And the front desk works just a few hours a day, and if you haven't check in when they aren't there, good luck making an international phone call to figure out how to check yourself in. It's not easy, especially after a long day of travel. Oh, and when you realize you need a hair dryer, it's too late. Be sure to Ask if they have one at checkout, as there are only a couple in the entire place. There is a microwave and a semi hotplate, but no stove. That was never identified either in the description of the kitchenette. Really really disappointing place for what we thought we were getting. I'll definitely be contacting Expedia and having a real heart to heart on my continued loyalty. Really feel duped on this one. (we'll see if this is published!) But I will reiterate that if you are on a budget, and don't mind a bunch of partiers up all night, and want to be close to it all, then this is not a bad place at all. Chamonix is a rather expensive town, so it can really help your pocketbook. Don't forget to bring your sheets and towels down to the front desk at checkout, or you'll get scolded too!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from UK

Perfect for ski bus location and town centre

Posted Mar 9, 2014
The hotel was within 100m of the bus terminal at Chamonix Sud so was ideal for getting to all the ski areas. Also within 5minute walk of Chamonix centre. the room was perfect for 4 or 5 although if 5 people then the sofa in the lounge had to be used. Overall would have preferred 2 bathrooms but 1 was manageable, but better if the toilet was separate to allow greater flexibility. Chamonix is a fabulous location for off piste skiing. Vallee Blanche well worth the day but don't be fooled, there is a long walk uphill at the end to get out of the valley. Grands Montees is one of the best ski areas I have been to.