Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central situation, adequate parking

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Everything was good, except the free wi fi was slow and limited, not available in all areas of the hotel, and not reliable in the room.
4 out of 5
by Emmet from London

Basic hotel, but very pleasant

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is split so that part of it is on one side of the street and the rest is on the other side. It is located in Altenahr which is a very quiet and peaceful German village. I enjoyed my stay here. The room I was in was comfortable with a nice bed. The shower worked well and there was plenty of space for my belongings. I stayed here because I was visiting the Nurburgring which is approx 25 mins away. It is easy to get to and the drive takes you through some beautiful and scenic countryside. There is a buffet breakfast which includes a selection of breads, cold meats, hot bacon and eggs, as well as cereal and toast. Overall I would recommend this hotel to other travellers. I had no major complaints. The staff were friendly and efficient and made me feel welcome.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Lovely location. Rubbish WiFi.

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Staff were good, as was location.
Cons: As per my comments above
Location: A shortish drive to the Nurburgring for some laps. I did. Beautiful scenery nearby - hilltop ruins, vineyards perched at impossible angles
The room itself was as expected, and the en-suite was fine. My windows got a fair bit of afternoon sun and it would probably be wise to get the cleaning staff to lower the electric shutters on hot days (mid 30's Celsius when I was there) to keep the rooms to a tolerable temperature. Food was tasty, but the a la carte menu didn't cater for daily specials, which I think would be a good idea as it would add some variety to the menu. The WiFi was one of those setups that requires an initial setup and then a second login with a specific password for each device you use. The second login gets propagated via the browser on the device. Only this only worked less than 50% of the time on my Windows 8.1 touchscreen tablet and my Android phone. So it wasn't my devices, it was their system. It's crazy to have that level given with their old brick/rock building I could rarely get a connection in my room, so it's unlikely anybody outside the hotel is going to log in. Anyway, I emailed them some suggestions on how to make the client experience better.
5 out of 5
by Roger from Australia

GOOD OVERNIGHT CHOICE FOR NURBURGRING

Posted Jun 6, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed with my son after some laps of the Nurburgring. The staff were very helpful, spoke excellent english, wifi was patchy but the room was very clean and functional. Overall an excellent stay.
5 out of 5
by Jorge S from Ecuador

Good hotel

Posted May 27, 2014 on Hotels
Good hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by RB from UK

Excellent service, but not the greatest hotel ever

Posted Jul 10, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel staff are excellent and spoke fluent English. They helped me print some documents and were very accommodating in every way. I traveled to the area for the Formula 1 race at the Nurbugring, so the hotel was very full. Consequently, the internet was completely saturated, and people in the stairwell outside my room were very noisy. The hallways also reeked of cigarette smoke. The breakfast buffet was excellent, but the steak I ordered in the evening was very average. I had the pork tenderloins the following night with pasta and they're much better. The hotel is easy to find and I had no trouble parking. There are lots of hotels and restaurants/shops on the same street, so it's easy to find things you need. Given the bargain price, I'd probably stay there again, but I'd upgrade to a room in the quieter building by the river.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ahrtal

Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
2 dagen wandelen + wijn + lekker eten We wilden een weekendje weg maar in deze tijd vh jaar is alles hier volgeboekt dus zijn we ergens in de week gegaan, is gelijk ook wat rustiger overal. Hoef je niet in de rij te staan om wijn te proeven/kopen en op de wandelroutes is dat ook beter.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Litomyšl

Dobrá poloha pro návštěvu Nordschleife...

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Dobrá poloha pro návštěvu Nordschleife... Velmi dobrá kuchyně...
4 out of 5
by martin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels