Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Kim

Posted Jun 25, 2017 on Hotels
Great for travelin' thru with dogs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017
Thank you for staying with us!! We hope to see you next year!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
We were in Ruidoso for a softball tournament and High Country is so convenient to the fields. That is the only reason we stay at High Country. We are not pleased with the dirty, shabby, "icky" accomodations and we are certainly not pleased with the price. The location is all they have going for them. Oh, and the staff is very friendly and accomodating.
5 out of 5
by Brandie

Comfy

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very comfortable stay . Alittle out dated but comfortable. My only complaint was that the cabin we had didn't have a working A/C so they gave us fans. It would have been nice to have been notified before hand. And maybe given a discount for that. But other than that the beds we're comfortable. So I would recommend just ask questions before hand.
4 out of 5
by SARA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Ramiro

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, Texas

nice for the price and the location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: the price and the location. location is excellent.
Cons: need some more maintenance in the units, some electrical up dates, kitchen need more lights.
Location: the location is very nice, near a mountain to hike and across a lake. outside of town so is vey quiet and peaceful.
very nice place, old but well kept. staff is very friendly and are available to assist. Facility is nice and feel like home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Little Bear, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us !! We hope to see you next year !!!
4 out of 5
by efrain from El Paso, Tx

Great stay

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great family stay. We were in town for a little league baseball tournament. They have an indoor pool, jacuzzi, pool table, ping pong table, fussball table, basketball court, and tennis court. So there was plenty for the kids to do. The rec room even had access to propane grills. The cabins have great views of Alto Lake. I would have liked more towels since we stayed 3 nights and the cabins need a little updating. But I loved it and will be going back in the winter for sledding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us during our softball season!! We hope to see you this year again with your family!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las cruces, nm

Close to Ski Apache

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Location, fireplace, kitchenette
Cons: Updating furnishings
Quaint cabins with kitchenettes close to the Ski Apache access road. A bit tired furnishings, but generally clean and comfortable
1 out of 5
by Thomas from Rio Rancho,New Mexico

BUGSBUGSBUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was not good at all, there were lots of bugs.Not just the norm like spiders and ants, but cockroaches and earwigs.Pool was not heated water was freezing, hot tub had no water
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and falsely represented.

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Dated and falsely represented. Stayed here to swim and relax by pool. Pool was dirty, with no circulation. Room had dated furniture and only had one TV in the living room. Had to return the next day because I left a my bag. Staff no where to be found. Very disappointed and will not stay again. Would be an amazing investment property of owner would allow any updates.