Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, Texas

nice for the price and the location

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: the price and the location. location is excellent.
Cons: need some more maintenance in the units, some electrical up dates, kitchen need more lights.
Location: the location is very nice, near a mountain to hike and across a lake. outside of town so is vey quiet and peaceful.
very nice place, old but well kept. staff is very friendly and are available to assist. Facility is nice and feel like home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by Little Bear, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us !! We hope to see you next year !!!
4 out of 5
by efrain from El Paso, Tx

Great stay

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great family stay. We were in town for a little league baseball tournament. They have an indoor pool, jacuzzi, pool table, ping pong table, fussball table, basketball court, and tennis court. So there was plenty for the kids to do. The rec room even had access to propane grills. The cabins have great views of Alto Lake. I would have liked more towels since we stayed 3 nights and the cabins need a little updating. But I loved it and will be going back in the winter for sledding.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for staying with us during our softball season!! We hope to see you this year again with your family!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las cruces, nm

Close to Ski Apache

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Location, fireplace, kitchenette
Cons: Updating furnishings
Quaint cabins with kitchenettes close to the Ski Apache access road. A bit tired furnishings, but generally clean and comfortable
1 out of 5
by Thomas from Rio Rancho,New Mexico

BUGSBUGSBUGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was not good at all, there were lots of bugs.Not just the norm like spiders and ants, but cockroaches and earwigs.Pool was not heated water was freezing, hot tub had no water
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and falsely represented.

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Dated and falsely represented. Stayed here to swim and relax by pool. Pool was dirty, with no circulation. Room had dated furniture and only had one TV in the living room. Had to return the next day because I left a my bag. Staff no where to be found. Very disappointed and will not stay again. Would be an amazing investment property of owner would allow any updates.
5 out of 5
by Joseph from Texas

good location and cozy feel

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Good location, as close to the mountain as you can get pretty much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from okc ok

Nice cabin comfy, not extravagant.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Nice and relaxing. Staff was nice and very helpful.
2 out of 5
by Stan from Phoenix, AZ

What a joke! 1950's furnished, without change.

Posted May 31, 2014
Stay here if you don't mind a place void of maintenance, or care. We've stayed in many rustic cabins - that wasn't the issue. All of the furnishings were old and obviously lacking. Examples: thread bare linins, a chair with a broken leg, broken toilet paper holder, lg. cracks in caulking, burned out light bulbs, and even the old door knob froze up (wouldn't lock). The room was "stocked" with only one roll of TP that was 1/3 gone! Good grief.
3 out of 5
by love to travel

Expedia screws up BiG TIME!!

Posted May 27, 2014
We booked our hotel through Expedia. Received a confirmation email and drove through Ruidoso, NM to the hotel. Tired and hungry we went in to the lobby to get our room. Guess what? Expedia had over booked the hotel by several rooms. The poor innkeeper was quite upset. He had been screamed at all day by folks thinking they had a room to find out there were NO rooms available--too late to get a room anywhere!! We were unable to get a room at all and drove back home 5 1/2 hours very disappointed and sad. Ruined our anniversary weekend. This was Expedia's fault--not the hotel's fault. Won't be using Expedia again!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from El Paso, TX

Nice, comfortable, quiet

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: We love the front porch to sit on. A lot of room inside to move around.
Cons: Certain areas of the units need some work. Furniture is getting a little worn. Paint would not hurt.
Location: We visit friends at Bonito and Alto. Great resturants no mater where you go. Even great fast food at the Shell gas station just around the corner. L
We have stayed several times and have enjoyed ourselves. Very quiet for being off the highway. Comfortable rooms