Ratings based on 12 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by efrain from El Paso, Tx

Great stay

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
It was a great family stay. We were in town for a little league baseball tournament. They have an indoor pool, jacuzzi, pool table, ping pong table, fussball table, basketball court, and tennis court. So there was plenty for the kids to do. The rec room even had access to propane grills. The cabins have great views of Alto Lake. I would have liked more towels since we stayed 3 nights and the cabins need a little updating. But I loved it and will be going back in the winter for sledding.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from las cruces, nm

Close to Ski Apache

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Location, fireplace, kitchenette
Cons: Updating furnishings
Quaint cabins with kitchenettes close to the Ski Apache access road. A bit tired furnishings, but generally clean and comfortable
1 out of 5
by Thomas from Rio Rancho,New Mexico


Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
Our stay was not good at all, there were lots of bugs.Not just the norm like spiders and ants, but cockroaches and earwigs.Pool was not heated water was freezing, hot tub had no water
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated and falsely represented.

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
Dated and falsely represented. Stayed here to swim and relax by pool. Pool was dirty, with no circulation. Room had dated furniture and only had one TV in the living room. Had to return the next day because I left a my bag. Staff no where to be found. Very disappointed and will not stay again. Would be an amazing investment property of owner would allow any updates.
5 out of 5
by Joseph from Texas

good location and cozy feel

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Good location, as close to the mountain as you can get pretty much
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from okc ok

Nice cabin comfy, not extravagant.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Nice and relaxing. Staff was nice and very helpful.
2 out of 5
by Stan from Phoenix, AZ

What a joke! 1950's furnished, without change.

Posted May 31, 2014
Stay here if you don't mind a place void of maintenance, or care. We've stayed in many rustic cabins - that wasn't the issue. All of the furnishings were old and obviously lacking. Examples: thread bare linins, a chair with a broken leg, broken toilet paper holder, lg. cracks in caulking, burned out light bulbs, and even the old door knob froze up (wouldn't lock). The room was "stocked" with only one roll of TP that was 1/3 gone! Good grief.
3 out of 5
by love to travel

Expedia screws up BiG TIME!!

Posted May 27, 2014
We booked our hotel through Expedia. Received a confirmation email and drove through Ruidoso, NM to the hotel. Tired and hungry we went in to the lobby to get our room. Guess what? Expedia had over booked the hotel by several rooms. The poor innkeeper was quite upset. He had been screamed at all day by folks thinking they had a room to find out there were NO rooms available--too late to get a room anywhere!! We were unable to get a room at all and drove back home 5 1/2 hours very disappointed and sad. Ruined our anniversary weekend. This was Expedia's fault--not the hotel's fault. Won't be using Expedia again!!!
3 out of 5
by Mike from El Paso, TX

Nice, comfortable, quiet

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Pros: We love the front porch to sit on. A lot of room inside to move around.
Cons: Certain areas of the units need some work. Furniture is getting a little worn. Paint would not hurt.
Location: We visit friends at Bonito and Alto. Great resturants no mater where you go. Even great fast food at the Shell gas station just around the corner. L
We have stayed several times and have enjoyed ourselves. Very quiet for being off the highway. Comfortable rooms
5 out of 5
by Cara from El Paso, TX

Clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: This would be a great hotel for families. They have an indoor heated pool, a game room, a basketball court and tennis court
Location: These cabins are very close to dining and shopping in Midtown Ruidoso, but just far enough away to have the wilderness feel. Close to Ski Apache.
Although these are older cabins, they are very clean and well maintained. We were pleasantly surprised at how spacious these cabins were. The kitchen was well furnished with all of the basic cooking utensils, pots, pans, etc. The beds in each of the bedrooms were very comfortable. Our favorite part of the cabin was the private covered porch. The office staff was very friendly, and willing to accommodate any request. We will definitely return.