Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2018
Good Experience. The shower was partially plugged and I had to shut it off in the middle of my shower or it would have flooded the bathroom
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent standard for the price

Posted Apr 10, 2018
We were visiting friends in Alton and needed somewhere central to stay. We managed to get a really good deal and were very pleasantly surprised at the standard. It was a large room very clean and well presented, the hotel whilst quite traditional in style had recently undergone a more contemporary makeover which was done very well. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was excellent value. I enquired for future reference and we could even take our dog! I would definitely go back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean place but bare and could’ve made more effort

Posted Apr 7, 2018
Front desk checking wasn’t very warm or welcoming to start. Walls very thin between rooms. Room was cold for long time when we arrived. TV tiny. WiFi crazy 1 line for 1 user. Room spare -could’ve made an effort w bedspread, poster on the wall, windows to open. Breakfast person was lovely but besides convenience, wouldn’t recommend
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing stay. Needs updating

Posted Mar 31, 2018
Booked here for a wedding. Friends of ours booked the cheaper Premier Inn. We thought it would make a nice change to stay somewhere different. Wish we hadn’t. Nice building, rooms very dated. We had a room right at the top in the roof. It was very cramped and dark as only had one velux window. No window in the bathroom. The bar staff didn’t give us the change from our drinks so we asked for it and he said he didn’t have it (he could have told us before we ordered!) so he said he would refund us at check out. No such thing, there was no money waiting for us and we just wanted to leave as quickly as possible so left it. Wouldn’t stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Nice hotel, close to Froyle Park

Posted Mar 30, 2018
Hotel was nice & clean. Beds comfortable. Only negative was that the room was really cold & quite drafty especially sleeping in bed nearest to the window, even though we left the heating on all night. Still had to add coats & dressing gowns on top of quilt.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Weekend break

Posted Mar 12, 2018
A warm welcome and an enjoyable stay. We were booked on the real ale train in the evening and the hotel is close to the station. I had invited friends to join us as a surprise for my husband's birthday, the staff kept the secret also. The only downside to our stay was we felt that the amount paid for the rooms should have included breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool

nice hotel with plenty of free parking

Posted Jan 20, 2018
Pros: I had a one night stay at this hotel. It was clean and tidy with plenty of free parking. Food was excellent and staff were very friendly. Would use ag
I had a one night stay at this hotel. It was clean and tidy with plenty of free parking. Food was excellent and staff were very friendly. Would use again and would recommend it to a friend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in Alton

Posted Dec 23, 2017
Staff very friendly and helpful. Ample parking. Able to accommodate verious sizes of celebration funtions
4 out of 5
by Edward

Good, and could be excellent.

Posted Dec 9, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed two nights. Great location, close to station and town. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Room clean, comfortable and a good size (5m x 3.5m, approx). The bathroom needed shelving to put toiletries on, otherwise it was fine. Breakfast: first morning, arrived at 09:15, and there was very little fruit left, which couldn't be replaced because they'd run out, and the hot choices had been depleted. Note to self: must get up earlier. Second day, arrived earlier - breakfast fine, if not very imaginative. Had dinner in the hotel restaurant the first evening - good food, well prepared and presented. Red wine good. Service very good.
4 out of 5
by Simon

First time a great experience

Posted Dec 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable stay. Very friendly staff. Good food. Great value accommodation. Car park gets full vey quickly though so don’t arrive late.