Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Memories are made here

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing bed & breakfast in Alton, close to downtown but on a quiet street surrounded with historic homes. Beautiful garden, enchanting house and most comfy bed ever. 24 hr Chocolate bar was great, also complimentary brandy also although I didn't partake :),
5 out of 5
by Pavlos

A walk back in history

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
It was like walking back in time...very Victorian. Innkeepers were great!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in Alton!

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
This is about the 10th time I have stayed at Beall Mansion. This place is consistently excellent. The kind of experience you can have is very flexible depending on your needs. I prefer to sort of be left alone and just grab a quick snack in the morning and I don't really need anything. If you like, you can have a full breakfast made for you every morning and book massages etc. The owners are so nice. The beds and pillows are always very comfortable and seem like good quality. My favorite is the Senator Beall room which has a king bed with fireplace, sitting area. It is a huge room with enormous victorian windows and the bathroom is huge as well and has a jacuzzi tub. This is by far the best place to stay in Alton. It is worth the extra money if you are someone who would like more peace and quiet and a higher end type of accommodation. The house itself is what you would always hope in a bed and breakfast. It is a historic Victorian mansion with all of the period details you would hope for. They have decorated it very Victorian throughout and it has very high ceilings and lots of rooms downstairs and areas on the property to hang out if you would like to. The guest rooms are very private. It is on a large lot with lots of vegetation. I love the neighborhood too which is full of many more huge gorgeous Victorians. I enjoy running and walking around the neighborhood when I go in the warm months. It is also close to downtown which you could walk to if you wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

1901 MANSION BEAUTIFULLY RESTORED; NOW GREAT B+B

Posted Oct 14, 2015
Pros: EVERYTHING!!
Cons: Absolutely nothing
The Beall Mansion is absolutely wonderful. The woodwork, hand-woven Persian rugs, sculptures, ceramics, etc. etc. surround the guest with both luxury and comfort. The hosts are wonderfully hospitable, relaxed and friendly. One truly feels at home. Extremely highly recommended to anyone visiting the St. Louis area and definitely more than worth the trouble of staying in Alton, Ill. if you're visiting St. Louis. For those staying in Alton anyway, you'd be crazy to stay anywhere else. My highest possible recommendation and congratulations to Jim and Sandy and their wonderful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by David B.

Awesome weekend getaway

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Orbitz
The mansion has lots of history and is explained by the owner when you check in. 24 hr Chocolate bar is a nice touch, as is the complimentary beverages. Great location, close to shops and restaurants. Staff truly enjoy what they do, and it shows in the attention to detail. While it is an Mansion built in 1904, it has been updated with Central Air, and modern bathroom facilities. Will definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Beautiful place. Nice town. Prepare to be spoiled!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jean from Decatur, Ill

comfortable bed and breakfast

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: The comfort and cleaniness of it all.
Cons: For the price I thought the breakfast could have been a little better.
Location: the location was easy to get to and not far from the main road to go to Grafton, the casino, shops, steak house or to see many historic homes
When we got there a couple had just gotten married. Seeing the groom and bride turned out to be someone that went to school and hung out with two of our children. It is a small world. Hadn't seen him in years. I thought the bed and breakfast was a great place for an event like that. The grounds and home were very pretty. Sandy and the staff just made you feel so comfortable. It was just so quiet and relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Houston, TX, USA

A great place for a romantic getaway!

Posted Aug 4, 2012
Pros: The people who run it!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Historic, Romantic
This is an exceptional bed and breakfast offering a wide range of additional services that make it a romantic getaway you will not soon forget and will want to return to often. Jim and Sandy are wonderful people and they are very knowledgeable about the history of their house and the Alton area that made our time there more enjoyable! I highly recommend staying there and know you will not be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Labgirl 30 from Affton, MO, USA

Excellent

Posted Jul 21, 2012
Pros: Love bed and jacuzzi tub
Cons: None
Location: Very nice, not too far from us will go back again
Great place, we loved it. Beautiful and lots of history too. Minutes from all places to eat