Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good high end city hotel.

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Lovely stay after Christmas. Gorgeous hotel very dark though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Unexpected space and comfort

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Everything except the public areas (where you could always smell smoke) was perfect. Staff attitude great though somewhat understaffed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marco from Green Bay, Wisconsin

Great value

Posted Jan 6, 2013
Pros: room
Cons: price
Location: perfect
Large and fancy rooms. Excellent ambiance. Excellent location. Parking was available. Staff was good.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Will Book Again

Posted Aug 15, 2006
Excellent stay. Good food & loft style rooms which were huge!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

great place, great stay

Posted Aug 11, 2006
We found the Gastwerk to be a very comfortable place to stay, in a good location and with some very friendly and professional staff. We highly recommend the in-house Italian Restaurante located on the ground-floor of the hotel as it has exquisite food and service. Rather then a complaint but more as an observation, we were slightly inconvenienced by the size of the bathroom and shower cabin in our room, never the less this would not detere us from visiting the Gastwerk Hotel in the future. Even at arrival to a fully booked hotel, carspace was provided.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Batavia, IL

Very Pleasant Surprise for non-German speaking Couple

Posted Aug 3, 2006
The Gastwerk Hotel turned out to be a delightful surprise for both my wife and me. The staff was very friendly and eager to assist us and were very capable in communicating with us in English, an important consideration since we did not speak a word of German. The hotel's decorating style is contemporary and our room was fairly spacious, with an interior balcony that overlooked a cocktail bar in the lobby three floors below our room. The room was in meticulous condition and very clean. The hotel was within easy walking distance of the subway trains and within an easy drive of the Autobahn. The only negative was the loss of air conditioning for a couple of hours during the peak of an unusually hot Hamburg heat wave. (It should be noted though that it came back on line at precisely the time promised by the hotel staff.) Overall, this hotel functioned as a very nice base from which to visit greater Hamburg and northern Germany. We would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tel-Aviv, Israel

Special hotel to stay in

Posted Mar 24, 2006
Modern design and ambiance, excellent service, rooms in tip top condition. One not-entirely positive point though, if you care about wireless Internet connection in your room ask for it when you check in since not all rooms are covered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wunderschönes Design wahnsinns Service

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Personal war außergewöhnlich professionell und zuvorkommend . Wir hatten in den frühen Morgenstunden " etwas Lärm " ( durchaus erschreckend und laut ) durch ein betrunkenes Hotelgastpaar im Zimmer neben an. Ohne das wir etwas sagen mussten wurde dieser Vorfall beim Checkout sehr zuvorkommend entschuldigt und es würde uns preislich sehr entgegen gekommen. Diesbzgl sehr beeindruckend . Hotel ansonsten sehr schön und tolle geräumige Zimmer .
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京都

落ち着いた環境のホテル

Posted Apr 14, 2012 on Hotels
古いレンガ造りの工場を改造したおしゃれな内装、住宅街の中にあり騒がしさはなくとても落ち着いた印象。ジュニアスイートの部屋はとても広く快適だがテーブルの高さに合わせた椅子がもう一つ欲しい。バスルームもとても広く洗面台も2人分ある。付属のレストランは朝食、夕食共にとてもおいしかった。知人の家がすぐ近くだったためこのホテルを選んだが電車の駅まで10分位歩き、そこから町の中心までは20分位かかる。すぐ近くに大きなスーパーマーケットがあるので日用品の買い物には困らない。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dyn-a-mind from Aalen, Deutschland

Tolles Hotel - mal was ganz anderes

Posted Mar 8, 2012
Super Hotel! Schönes Zimmer im Turm! Gute Küche! Vielen Dank für Ihre Gastfreundschaft! Immer gerne wieder