Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Joanie

Busy busy Hamburg.

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Hamburg is beautiful but oh so crowded. No place to park for sure. Hotel was very nice but very confusing. 3 different elevators to get to our room. Service was very good. Very clean. And bedding was fab!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2017 by Martin Hanke, Hotel Management
Dear Joanie, thanks so much for the rating. As we are located a little out of the city circle, we hope that you had time for a little recretation with us. Feel welcomed any other time! Yours sincerely Frank Wesselhoefft General Manager
5 out of 5
by Henrik Krieger

The single best hotel experience ever

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Our stay at Louis C Jacob was nothing short of amazing. We stayed for 1 night with our two little girls, 2 and 5. The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. The service was second to none. Our room had been set up with beds for the girls, a little table with sweets, fruit and water. There were also some toys and the most adorable children bathrobes. Finally, special children’s bath bombs and bubbles bath was arranged in the bathroom room. My girls had the time of their lives and felt so special and spoiled thanks to the amazing staff. I can go on as we had a similar experience in the restaurant in the evening but I think it’s clear that Louis C Jacob has my warmest recommendation, both as a couples stay but also if you have brought your children along for the stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 18, 2017 by Martin Hanke, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Krieger, thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy that we have met your expectations and you had a most enjoyable time with the whole family here at the Louis C. Jacob. Furthermore to all our Kids amities we offer already, we will purchase some more toys and amities for Babies also, to impove our Service constantly. It is our aim to make the stay of families as pleasant as possible. We hope that we will have the chance welcoming you back soon and wish you all the best. Frank Wesselhoefft General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent service, love to stay again!

Posted Jul 12, 2017
We stayed for a few days there as a family of four in a suite, it was fantastic in any means, will plan to come back next year for vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Front Office, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We highly appreciate your positive. We would be more than happy to welcoming you back in the near future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Upscale hotel with views of the Elbe

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Quiet, zen feeling; views of the Elbe; art on the walls; respectful service; Penhaligon toiletries; Nespresso machine in rooms; spacious rooms
Cons: What can improve: (1) lighting in the rooms (some rooms are too dark); (2) staff's knowledge of English.
Location: Downtown Hamburg is a 10-15 minute bus ride away. Bus comes 3-4 times every hour, depending on the day.
Hotel matches Hamburg's upscale persona. Royalty and high powered families have stayed here. Hotel has a lovely terrace overlooking the Elbe as well as two lovely restaurants that serve gourmet food. It is away from the bustle of the city-- nice and quiet. A hotel of choice if your standards are high and you wish to be treated with utmost respect. Modern art that adorns the hallways and some rooms are noteworthy and some are museum quality. They all contribute to the feeling that you are in your own private northern German mansion.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 6, 2017 by Frank Wesselhoefft, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, thank you very much for this wonderful review.We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, away from the huzzle and buzzle of the city, quite and comfortable with a view over the river Elbe. We would be happy welcoming you again in the future for another relaxing stay. Please give a note to Housekeeping then, our Housekeeper would be more than happy to bring another lamp up to your room to improve the lighting situation whilst you are staying with us. With warm regards Frank Wesselhoefft General Manager
5 out of 5
by Gregory

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Hotels
The staff here was amazingly helpful. Rooms were impeccably clean and comfortable. While my work did not afford me time to dine in the hotel, I wish I did have leisure time to enjoy their incredible facilities. Views are amazing! Easy access to walk along the Elbe River is a major plus. Bus #36 stopped steps away from the hotel which made commuting into downtown Hamburg a breeze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location and renovated historic hotel!

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: Service! Excellent wifi and in-room computer connectivity from the antique desk. Very nice touch!
Cons: More comfortable chair in the room.
Location: Walk along the Elbe. Bus or S-bahn train into Hamburg (15-20 minutes).
Staff are fantastic and really made my staff comfortable. The hotel is made up of a few historic properties that were remodeled and turned into a really nice place. My only complaint would be the chairs in the room were period but not terribly comfortable. All else was truly a class act. If you don't want to pay $35 for breakfast, there's a nice little bakery a block up the street.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
This is our 6th stay at Jacob...we still love coming here and eating at the Michelin 2star restaurant... A little dissapointed that we couldn't check in until 5pm but were given a free drink for our inconvenience... Note; wifi very week throughout the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful! My favorite hotel in all of Germany!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 29, 2016 on Hotels