Ratings based on 1,061 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales, UK

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Second time we have stayed at this hotel and we will be back anytime we visit Hamburg. Great location next to Sternschanze station. Rooms are very comfortable and quiet with an excellent shower. We have stayed on the 11th and 12th floors and you get a good view of the local area. Also must mention the staff who could not be more helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2017 by Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We are very happy about your positive feedback and would like to thank you for it. It is good to know that you enjoyed your stays with us that much and especially liked our service and comfortable rooms. We are already looking forward to your third time with us. Kind regards, Annette Bätjer, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Pasadena, CA

architectually intriguing hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Excellent facility with professional staff & excellent food
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg, Hotel Management
Dear Jay, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write this friendly review. It was our pleasure to host you as our guest and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed especially the food in our restaurant. It would be great to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Annette Bätjer General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ipswich, UK

A lovely hotel in a convenient location

Posted Aug 30, 2017
We found the hotel very easily coming from the U-bahn and S-bahn stations of Sternschanze. The reception staff were friendly, polite, spoke perfect English (handy for us with very limited German) and as they had also arranged connecting rooms just as we'd asked. The rooms were very clean and tidy with a simple but modern style. The only things we wished for were in-room coffee making facilities (they provide free coffee from Tuesday to Friday in reception, but none from Saturday to Monday) plus the air conditioning controls seemed ineffective and you have to keep the windows closed as there is a lot of noise from outside with the open air cinema just round the corner. Hotel breakfast is rather expensive so we went to a local cafe instead which was lovely. Also thoroughly recommend the hotel cycle his which is a great way to see the city. We hired them for two days in the end (€12 per bike per day) as they were such fun. Hamburg is very cycle friendly, especially coming from the UK which, frankly, isn't. All in all, we had a fantastic holiday and the hotel was perfect. It would be ideal for business too as it is very easy to get to places, being just minutes from Hbf.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg, Hotel Management
Dear Dave, thank you for staying with us, it is great to see that you enjoyed your stay. You find a coffee machine in our premium or superior room categories, our reservation team would be happy to reserve a room according to your preferences for your next stay. Our air conditioning is centralized-control but can be adjusted individually in every room. Our team on side is happy to assists with any questions. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, it would be great to welcome you back very soon. Kind regards Annette Bätjer General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Ideal hotel In Hamburg

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Lovely hotel, extremely tasteful room, beautiful hotel entrance and lobby. Located just a five minute walk to a enormous and gorgeous park. Also a five minute walk to many cafes, bars, and restaurants. The Metro is a two minute walk. So convenient!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg, Hotel Management
Dear Christine, Thank you for your nice review. It is great to know that you had a pleasant stay here in Hamburg and it would be great to welcome you back. Greetings Annette Bätjer General Manager
5 out of 5
by Tony

Posted Aug 22, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2017 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Lieber Tony, herzlichen Dank für Ihre 5 Punkte Bewertung. Wir freuen uns, dass wir zu einem gelungenen Aufenthalt in Hamburg beitragen konnten und Sie sich bei uns wohl gefühlt haben. Es wäre schön Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu können. Herzliche Grüße Annette Bätjer Hoteldirektorin
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Very interesting building.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It is quite an experience to stay in this building. It is quirky and far from ordinary and as a place to stay it ticks all the boxes. We have given the reception staff a low rating because we ordered an early morning wake up call which did not happen. Fortunately we woke up anyway!! With an aeroplane to catch it could have been disastrous. Our request had been correctly logged to our room but the male receptionist could give no explanation and certainly no apology.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the charm of our historic water tower. We have to apologize for the missed wake up call. This does not meet our standards and we forwarded the matter immediately to our front office. We would welcome the opportunity to be your host again in order to offer you the service you expect. Kind regards Annette Bätjer General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fab hotel with a difference

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Super hotel and a really interesting building. We had a fabulous view of the harbour from out room on the 16th floor. Very convenient for the S-bahn
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 1, 2017 by Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we would like to thank your for your nice review. It was our pleasure to host you and we are happy that you had a great time here in Hamburg. It would be great to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Annette Bätjer General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Motel in Midwest ,not hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The inside is a Work of Art !! Very clean quite comfortable rooms . Grate breakfast, very polite helpful restaurant staff
Cons: Very simple , just change its management
Location: Rough neighbour hood, grate if you are fan of graffiti art, seriously, as I saw people taking photos of. loose chains & Coins needed for the homeless
Gross disappointment, arrived late night, hotel entrance locked, no sign of life. Lucky group of young Chinese tourists let us in ! Came with elderly disabled persons.No staff at entrance, facing two convay belts going up & down . No lifts from ground level to reception.Struggled to get to main reception end of conveys belt with luggage and no trolley. booked two rooms, Asked for compatible security cards for both rooms, as I have an elderly woman , mission impossible,after so many attempts by the reception staff.Very cold room , Rocket science needed to control Aircondition setting, you may think it's a jock ,but it needed three visits from different level of staff just to operate the dials in the rooms. All this in the middle of a very rough area in town , from a luxury hotel without the curtsy to provide a 50 cent complementary water bottle to its guest ! What a hospitality!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We would like to thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write this review. We are happy that you enjoyed our quiet rooms and our breakfast, as well as the architecture of our historic water tower. We always aim at offering a first-class service and strive to ensure a comfortable stay for our guests. Our Bellboy service is available from 9.00 am until 6 pm and our reception is occupied at all times. Please rest assured that our team on site is also always here to make your stay enjoyable and this before, during and after your stay. Our air conditioning system is centralized-controlled, but can be adjusted individually within the rooms, we are sorry to hear that it did not work properly during your stay. Our reservation team would be happy to reserve a room for you according to your preferences for your next visit to Hamburg. We would welcome the opportunity to be your host again in order to offer you the service you expect. Kind regards Annette Bätjer General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting Architecture

Posted Jul 10, 2017
The hotel used to be a water tower and there are some really intricate brick work in the lobby ceilings, etc. Pretty cool if you're in to something a little different! The hotel can be expensive for meals, particularly for breakfast (23 Euro per person) although the food and selection is excellent. There are several cafe's within walking distance but we found a language barrier at some of them. However, the hotel staff could all speak at least some English and we found it was easier to eat there instead.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg, Hotel Management
Dear guest, We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our historic water tower. We like to focus on fresh and local groceries as well as high quality products, to provide a wide range of delicious food for our breakfast and we are happy that you liked it. It was our pleasure, to host you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards Annette Bätjer General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Marketing Coordinator, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, vielen Dank, dass Sie unser Mövenpick Hotel Hamburg bewertet haben. Wir hoffen Sie hatten einen angenehmen Aufenthalt bei uns im Wasserturm. Wir würden uns freuen Sie erneut bei uns in Empfang nehmen zu dürfen. Mit freundlichen Grüßen Annette Bätjer Hoteldirektorin