Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from PA

Room location.

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Everything was fine except the location of my room. It was on the second floor outside the open lobby area where guests could sit on the computer, lounge on the couch and watch the football game and chat. It was way too loud. The guys finally stopped at 1am!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Pleasant Experience, Indeed!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: See above.
Cons: Nothing needs improvement.
Location: Near good restaurants: Perkins, Olive Garden, Red Lobster. Close to Horseshoe Curve, the Railroad Museum, and YUMMY Mallo Cup factory outlet store!
All aspects of our stay were positive: the staff, the room, the location, local discounts with room key, and a delicious breakfast. They are in the process of major renovations -- but all was clean, despite this.
2 out of 5
by Brian from Altoona

Altoona Clarion

Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
it was ok
4 out of 5
by Laura from Pittsburgh

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel overall nice. Good location next to many restaurants and close to Altoona Curve ballpark. Only complaint was a hard mattress.
5 out of 5
by Anthony

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 15, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by D C

Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels
The last two trips booked through Hotels.com I was given a handicapped accessible room. Both hotels were approximately one-third full. Since I did not request such a room I do not understand why I am assigned one when the property is not full. In both cases the function of the showers were not acceptable. Upon check out from the Clarion the desk told me the reason for the assignment was because of Hotels.com. If the net result of obtaining the rate deal is to receive less that suitable accommodations through Hotels.com then alternatives need to be sought.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointment after many years

Posted Jan 12, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed in the hotel, thru all the name changes, for over 30 years and have always been extremely happy. This was our first trip under Clarion and it was an absolute nightmare. At first sight our room appeared to be cleaned, but when I went into the bathroom, there was a full bottle of shampoo on the tub siding. When I came out of the bathroom, I noticed a plastic bag with hair wax, toothpaste, comb and a toothbrush that looked like it had scrubbed the floor for the last 20 years. When I went to the front desk to request another room, the manager that night came out of her office and waited on me. It took her 17 minutes to come up with a room, which happened to still be on the first floor at the opposite end. We had not specifically requested a room location. Well the room she assigned to us was next to a room with a dog that barked until midnight !!! I have no idea as to why she would not assign us to the second floor or to another room that was not next to a pet occupied room. This certainly did not reflect the best alternative in providing client service. There are many new hotels with very competitive rates being built in Altoona. Poor service has forced us to pick service over loyalty.
4 out of 5
by Angelo from Kane, Pa

Holiday Inn now Clarion Inn

Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
Really nice hotel but changed from Holiday Inn Express to Clarion Inn earlier in the week and we weren't notified. Drove around many one way streets and finally went where GPS kept directing us. Close to shopping and restaurants. Parking lot was very littered with trash, but inside very clean and comfortable. Great breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Susan from Pittsburgh, PA

Good location, nice staff and amenities

Posted Oct 27, 2015 on Hotels
In town for a class reunion. Good location, very convenient to everything. The hotel is a little motel-like, but aide from some garbage truck noise for 10 minutes in the morning, it's all good. Next door to a Perkins. A little expensive, in my opinion, but not outrageous.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Check your bill

Posted Oct 24, 2015
Nice hotel, but we were downgraded to a standard room after the suite we paid for had been given to someone else. Communication of this was not good until checkout, when we were told what had happened. No refund of extra rates from Expedia. Would not recommend Expedia or this hotel, I lost money.