Ratings based on 237 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Nice upscale hotel.

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Staff, breakfast, upscale modern room
Cons: The bath needed deep cleaning, there was soap residue in the dish in the tub, and the tub had too much muck
Location: Not sure, Altoona seems to have a lot, don't stay long enough to explore. There's food nearby and a movie theater.
I use this hotel frequently as it's in the halfway point of a 10 hour drive. I like the hotel in general, it feels upscale, the staff are friendly and the starbucks/bar is very convenient. This particular stay was easy as always, quick check in, some friendly advice on food delivery etc. My room was spacious, beds comfy, and the tv channel selection was really nice, good quality picture. The bathroom had some issues though, the soap dish still had residue from the previous resident, there was a dab of toothpaste on the faucet, and when I ran a bath for the kids there was too much gunk from the drain and a hair. Also the door was very heavy, I panicked slightly when I thought I was locked in, and the fan wasn't working properly. I could see some mold on the ceiling and shower curtain starting. It was a like a sauna. I've stayed here at least five times and this is my first complaint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Caroline, As our valued guest, we appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great stay. With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback, which outlines both strengths and areas for improvement, is integral to enhancing our services. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon. Best, Anton Safonov General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from avella, United States of America

A Hidden Gem!

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location was a was far from the nearest highway so it was quiet. No distractions from getting a good night sleep.
Cons: The bedding was thin. Could have used a blanket or two.
Location: Not far from civilization. Movie theater is directly across the road. About a mile from local shopping and restaurants.
Was traveling home on a Saturday Night and needed a room. I picked this hotel because of the brand and the price. I've been to the Altoona several times but was unaware that this hotel existed. Hotel is a convention hotel. It is a little off the beaten path (you can't see it from the highway). It was as nice as the any of the hotels along the highway and the nearby PA Turnpike, and much quieter. It was also $50 cheaper.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Did an overnight stay after attending a football play off game for grandson. Hotel was perfect for our needs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Emlenton PA

Easy access

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Seemed a little worn out. Breakfast could be included for the rate charged. I have stayed at less expensive hotels and got more for my money.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Kelli, I regret that you did not find us to be a good value. The Courtyard brand has been designed to offer a modern a la carte menu in a bistro-style concept in order to provide a wider range of options and healthier selections (as an alternative to a free continental). We value your feedback and will take it under consideration as we strive to provide superior stays. Thank you for choosing us and for your time in reviewing our hotel. Sincerely, Anton Safonov General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Price was a little on the high side. Was expecting to have a complimentary breakfast, which most hotel offer, but this one did not.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Christine, I'm very sorry that you were not happy with our breakfast offerings. The Courtyard brand has been designed to offer a modern a la carte menu in a bistro-style concept in order to provide a wider range of options and healthier selections (as an alternative to a free continental). We appreciate your comments and will take them under consideration as we monitor our guest offerings. Thank you for staying with us. Sincerely, Anton Safonov General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over priceD and dirty

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Dead bugs on the floor all along the window. Elevator floor full of dirt and trash. Bed linens smelled musty Not clean. I paid $249 for one night because 40 miles away in State college there was a home game. At least have the courtesy to give me $249 worth. How about vacuuming next time. Dead bugs all over the floor and the elevators were so dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for taking the time to write. I regret the level of service you received while staying with us. This is not up to our high standards; please forgive us. I have already addressed our lapse with the team. Your valuable feedback heightens our awareness of such issues and encourages ongoing improvements. Sincerely, Anton Safonov General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, New York

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 7, 2016
I wish the checkout time was a little earlier. Check in time is 3:00 p.m. and I have a 6.5 hour drive and wish I could go straight to hotel but need to wait until 3:00 p.m. The check in process is smooth and the rooms are clean. The staff is also very accommodating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Attractive, Clean Hotel, Staff not the Friendliest

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Attractive room, but noise insulation was fair/poor. Overall, Staff was efficient but lacked warmth. The Black Male employee working at the bar was especially cold.
4 out of 5
by Courtney

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore, MD

Clean, quiet hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
This was a clean, quiet hotel. Staff was friendly. Pool is small but does look genuinely accessible (has a lift for someone in a wheelchair). Breakfast was the only disappointment. Staff was unenthusiastic and coffee - for the area - was expensive. We chose to skip the limited and even pricier breakfast options and headed to Denny's instead. Still, we'd stay here again. Rooms were a good size. Some appear to have small balconies. It is convenient to shops/the mall/convention center. Beds were comfortable. Place felt clean. Front desk and cleaning staff were friendly.