Ratings based on 155 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
34% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated but clean motel off the beaten path

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Property was very dated with few modern amenities other than cable TV. However, the motel is a viable and affordable option for Penn State football weekends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
THANK YOU FOR STAYING WITH US.WE RESPECT YOUR CONCERN. WE ARE IN THE PROCESS OF RENOVATION. WE UPDATED LOT IN LAST FEW YEARS AND STILL WE WORKING ON IT. WE ARE LOOKING FORWARD TO SERVE YOU BETTER IN YOUR NEXT VISIT. AGAIN THANKS FOR YOUR BUSINESS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Good motel to stop-by for overnight stay. It is located in very beautiful location (surrounded by mountains)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by RUKENDRA, Hotel Management
THANK YOU FOR STAYING WITH US. WE LOOKING FORWARD TO SEE YOU AGAIN. WE WILL IMPROVE OURSELVES TO SERVE YOU BETTER THEN YOUR LAST VISIT. THANK YOU AGAIN FOR YOUR BUSINESS
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprisingly pleasant & comfortable

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
I was visiting Altoona to see its famous railroad sites and booked this hotel for its proximity to the city. I was apprehensive at check-in but wound up loving this place and not wanting to leave. The exterior appearance of this older inn seemed a bit shabby as I approached. The office was dark (a sign said to ring a bell when the door is locked) but when I actually tried the door it opened, and a pleasant and helpful lady checked me in. I told her I needed a quiet room (a bar is on the premises) after two nights in a noisy motel elsewhere. She graciously accommodated with a room in the back of the property. I was a bit miffed to see there was a $4 fee above the amount hotels.com said I'd be charged--a surcharge for using a credit card as payment. When I got to my room I noticed a stuffy smell, apparently because my back room was seldom used, but it dissipated after a while. The furnishings were older; there were some retro touches (a rotary wall phone in the bathroom!) and the interior could use some sprucing up here & there (chipped paint). After I settled in I started appreciating the advantages. Not only quiet, the room was comfortably sized, with a nice fridge & microwave, couch & comfortable easy chair, wonderful bed with quality pillows and crisp, fresh bedding. Good wi-fi. The bathroom was large, the shower was great, with a nice massaging showerhead. Towels were big & soft. The TV was old style but worked fine, decent cable TV lineup. The A/C was quie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff and the bartender at their bar was very nice.
Cons: It is just an older hotel. I also couldn't get the volume to work on the television.
Location: It was closer to PSU than the other Altoona hotels but it wasn't near many places. In fact, I had to go to a grocery store to get something to eat .
This was a good hotel for me because I was visiting my daughter at Penn State the next day and couldn't find an affordable room in State College. It was close to the highway and all I really needed was a bed for the night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New jersey

Noisy, to staff around at front desk,

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: price but it still was not worth it.
Cons: noise level, no accessable staff, 1 tv channel, outside was unkept, rooms very small
Location: location was very isolated about 2 miles off I-99, nothing real close to do I think there is a historcal landmark a fort nearby, altoona is a typical
found this motel to be very uncomfortable beds, they advertise cable tv and wifi, there was no wifi signal, and the cable tv only had 1 channel. there was several people banging things in a room a few doors down late at night , could not sleep due to noise, no one at front desk area to complain too. rooms are very small and outdated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what promised on Expedia

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: Check-in was good. That's all.
Cons: Don't lie in your info you put on Expedia! Fix TV and shower! Insulate walls so you can't hear everything in your neighbor's room!
Ad said it had free wifi but there was none. Ad said 10 minutes from state college but it was 35 minutes. TV would turn on but impossible to change channel or volume. Walls were paper thin and we were woken up all night by neighbor on phone. Shower had no hot water. Overall terrible sleepless night and very disappointing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Motel

Posted Oct 2, 2016
King size bed instead of the 2 full beds I reserved, gross couch, no blanket on bed except gross duvet. Towels looked and felt disgusting plus only two towels. Overall gross.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Ummm eeewwwww

Posted Sep 18, 2016
The hotel needs updating in a major way and a good deep cleaning . The staff was wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Would not stay there again and they need to update things.
4 out of 5
by Joseph from Texas

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
I was on a long drive and needed some place to crash for a few hours, and it suited my needs perfectly. Room was outdated, but clean and the staff was friendly. They let me check in early.