Ratings based on 630 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spring Hill, FL

Great Location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: The room, staff, location.
Cons: I would like to see no smoking close to the hotel.
Location: Plenty of restaurants, shopping, close to the Curve's baseball field and within easy driving distance to State College, PA
My sister-in-law and I went to PA for a funeral and stayed at Motel 8. The room was very clean, staff was very friendly, they have a simple breakfast to get you going, there is a local newspaper at the front desk for you to read and the internet speed was very good. It's a great location close to anything you want to do. Would stay again without a doubt.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new castle ,pa

Punish those who book with expedia

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: It was close to where I had business
Cons: more personalized service and appropriate rooming when there is availability
Location: Decent restaurants are nearby
If you book this hotel via expedia or third party they will punish you by placing you on the second floor far from any exits. They will do this even if there is plenty of room on the first floor and you booked the room in advance. The staff were not friendly or helpful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok Hotel.

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: The room was clean.
Cons: The cigarette smell in the hallways and lobby was overbearing.
Location: Not a great location. Need a car to get to the stores or to get food.
Location not that great but the room was pretty clean. Only thing was that it is a smoking hotel so the hallways and lobby stank of cigarettes.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Friendly hotel with easy access to Altoona

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Convenience, cleanliness, nice breakfast, helpful staff.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Railroad museum; wineries; 3 historical cemeteries: African-American, Old St. John's, St. Mary's (off 1st Ave. & 10th-12th St.); near State College
This hotel was such a pleasant surprise given its proximity to a main highway with easy access to Altoona. The room was spotless, very comfortable, and quiet even though it was near a main road. It also included a coffee maker. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was ample: hard-boiled eggs, bagels, cream cheese, toast, butter, cinnamon rolls, fruit basket, orange juice, apple juice, coffee, tea, milk. There is no elevator but there are accessible rooms on the first floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dro, Hollidaysburg, PA

It was nice, relaxing,.

Posted Jan 30, 2017
It was nice, relaxing, close to things that you can walk to...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2017
very nice and very comfy rooms. staff was friendly and location right off freeway close to everything.
3 out of 5
by Jenifer

Fair

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
While when checking in the worker was very unsocial and unfriendly, the room is in need of updates, and the bed was very warn and the mattress needed flipped. Room was spacious, this was a spontanous stay for a sporting event. I would not use them for anything longer than a quick over night.
1 out of 5
by James

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
was forced to change a family trip from Niagara Falls to DC and back home again. We had a conflict returning home (I was going to drive halfway home and stay in Altoona) and neede to stay in DC longer. When I called to cancel the reservation it was past the 4 PM deadline so I was to be charged for the room anyway. The woman at the desk told me her manager was going to back to me the following morning to resolve the problem, but never called. I left DC Sat morning and skipped the festivities that were planned for me and my son and drove to Altoona and paid the Bill in cash, and kept right on going. When I called the 800 number to see if anything could be done, they said it is up to the specific hotel, and since they never returned my calls I guess I am just out the money. I understand it is their policy, so I paid for the night and never stayed, so I really cant rate the room per say. I can say this I WILL NEVER STAY at a hotel in this group again even if it was free.
4 out of 5
by Marguerite

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Antoinette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2017 on Hotels