Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: The location was excellent. Parking was easy and convenient. Value for money was excellent. It also gad a leisure centre which we didn't have time to use.
Cons: The rooms are a little small but ok for one night. Bathroom was a bit tired and raps over bath were a bit stiff
Location: Great location within walking distance of Hale and Altricham
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Faded grandeur

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Not a great deal
Cons: See above
Rooms not exactly expensive but was surprised how tired the hotel was for a Mercure. building needs significant investment. Our room was tiny and the bathroom had seen much better days.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from derbyshire

no lift

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Clean lovely area comfortable
Cons: Needs lift
Location: We walked to hale nearby lovely area
Lovely hotel but no lift difficult to handle large cases up all the stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

We stayed at this hotel for 2 days

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Cons: A fridge in the room
Location: Flower Show very nice area for eating out.
We stayed at this hotel for 2 days which was to enable us to visit Tatton Flower Show. It was very close for the show, the hotel although old is comfortable and very clean with very helpful staff. The only disadvantage I could find was that the room had no fridge.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shabby and run down

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment. Disappointing stay as I booked on the basis of the Mecure usual hotel standard. Found out that the hotel no longer belongs to Mecure and has been bought by an undividual. The name of Mecure should not be used as its mis-leading customers who may expect it to be comparible with their other hotels. The corridors are dark and shabby with stained carpets there are ceiling tiles missing as well. The rooms are dated, very small and very hot. Never will stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Hotel in good location

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Room was comfortable
Cons: The disabled access was actually the Fire exit at the end of the building, a long way from the main reception doorway, which had a number large steps.
Hotel served its purpose being close to the Church and reception center for Family Wedding
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

The hotel is well located in a nice area

Posted May 20, 2016
Room 131 was quite small and located at the back of the hotel- it is supposed to be a quiet room. Woken several times during the night with constant doors banging by other guests- the room is located on a landing with 3 entrances/ exits. The room could do with having a bit of a revamp- paint work had several scuff marks and was a bit grubby, the mirror had age spots on, the bath had some enamel missing and the shower screen had holes in! The TV signal was too weak to be used.... good job I had a book with me. The hairdryer only has 2 settings, inferno and hot as the sun; the drawer it is kept in was full of hair. Overall not impressed with the room, however the staff were friendly and the breakfast was very nice. I wont be staying here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Standard hotel

Posted May 19, 2016
Stayed in the Mercure last Friday. Arrived and check in was fine. Room was pretty cramped but it done the job I suppose. My issue was with the staff and the amount of time stood waiting around for service in the bar area. Having to stare towards reception to hint nobody was at the bar and still to be ignored is completely unprofessional. Then when served at the bar a member of staff was very rude!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from York

Fine for an overnight stay

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Convenient for the station (5 minute walk) and good value for money. Fine for a brief stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Could do better

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: location, parking, professional staff
Cons: Maintenance. Room temperature control. Better quality waste bin in the bathroom. Better coffee @ breakfast
This hotel was in a convenient location for us, and we appreciated the availability of enclosed parking. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient, the bed was comfortable and the breakfast was adequate. Our main complaint was that our room was in need of some basic maintenance. Our bathtub had a chip, the shower screen leaked badly at the hinge (huge puddle on the floor after showering) the bath panel was loose, the silicone sealant was black in places and missing in others. Part of the security lock on the room door had broken off and had not been replaced and this was also the case with the hook on the bathroom door. The public areas of the hotel appeared to be in reasonable condition, (although there was a mark on the ceiling in the main part of the hotel from a previous leak) but our room had a very neglected look and we felt that a room which cost about £100/night (at a reduced rate) should have been in better condition. As is usual in most hotels, the bedding was far too hot for summer conditions and we had to resort to taking the duvet out of its cover and using the cover as a top sheet. The sound insulation between the rooms was also very poor. Last but not least, we were woken at 4.45 a.m. on the first of our 2 nights by a loud knocking on our door. Someone (but not us) had requested a wake-up call - I thought they usually did this by phone!