Ratings based on 294 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bloomington, indiana

Well located, slightly tatty, charming, expensive

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Rooms are comfortable, but look tired, slightly soiled, questionable for the prices being charged. Dining room(s) have indifferent food. Good bar. Very nice and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by ThomasK, Hotel Management
Dear John, thank you for your honest Feedback. The Hotel will be renovated starting in January 2018 - until June we will close therefore. So we expect to bring back all the rooms to a modern luxury standard without changing the characteristics of this historic hotel. We hope that you will visit us then again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

right in the heart os Salzburg

Posted Jul 2, 2017
If you are visiting Salzburg- This hotel is the place to stay! The location is probably the best part. If you are accustomed to high end hotels, bare in mind this is a very old hotel. The facade dates back to the 12th century and it is just magical in a very Hansel and Gretel kind of way. The service is impeccable and the Austrians are very welcoming. Also- great for families! We tracel with 3 children and the family rooms are perfect! Inquire about rooms 47 and 48 - they connect and are huge!
5 out of 5
by Lloyd

Great Weekend in Salzburg.

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
The accommodations were fabulous. Right down in the middle of Old Salzburg and the staff was spectacular! Make sure to have the Concierge help coordinate a private tour. It wasn't that much more expensive than the public ones and we probably saved money by doing 3 tours in one day!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Character hotel in the midst of atmospheric city

Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in an excellent position, right in the middle of a main shopping street and minutes from Mozart's birthplace but this does make it a little difficult for the taxis to reach the front entrance as it is really a pedestrianised street. The hotel is in a listed building and the style is cosy and old but the bathrooms are updated and the service is excellent. We arrived just before midday and our room was ready. The breakfast was great - plenty of choice. The staff were extremely helpful with all our requests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Fabulous in every way

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Trip advisor reviews
Cons: Nothing
Location: Everything is within walking distance
Located in the heart of the old town. Staff was exceptional! Room was spacious and very clean. Could not have been happier!!
5 out of 5
by DAWN

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
It is chic in Europe to have a five star hotel with worn furniture coverings, not where I come from though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oalland ca

Great location

Posted May 7, 2017
One of the oldest buildings in Saulsburg this hotel was centrally located the staff was very cooperative and helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best location

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Olde world charm and location
The most charming Austrian hotel with the best Salzburg location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottinghamshire

Lovely Hotel in the Old Town

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Lovely staff, comfortable bed and very clean.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Central in the old town. Shops and local visitor attractions nearby.
The Hotel Goldener Hirch is a pretty old hotel in the old town. We had a lovely welcome and the staff were very friendly and informative. The room was large with a very comfortable large bed and sitting area. The room was very clean and had all toiletries and hairdryer and everything else that you would require. Our room was at the front of the hotel so was a little noisy early in the morning when they were cleaning the street outside.