Ratings based on 482 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Good enough for the price

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: If only the shower was a little larger.
Location: Very convenient to all sorts of good shopping and Christmas markets. Excellent location to public transportation.
The location was very good. Our second set of rooms were a little better that the first set. I would stay there again because of the location and price with very basic comforts. The staff was great. We also appreciated them taking care of our luggage while we took a side trip for a few days.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to city centre

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: The staff and location
Hotel was close to Marienplatz only a 5 minute walk. Also was close to a underground station. staff were very helpful with questions and helped with directions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Das Team Hotel am Sendlinger Tor , Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for visiting Hotel am Sendlinger Tor in Munich and for taking the time to share your feedback with us that you enjoyed this central area. We would love to welcome you back in the hopefully not too distant future. With best regards, das team Hotel am Sendlinger Tor
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 4, 2017 on Hotels
Great location. Small rooms, tiny shower, but overall a clean place to sleep.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017
Hello, Thank you for sharing your highly appreciated feedback regarding your last stay with us. We are more than glad to read that you spent a great time in Munich. We would love to welcome you back in the hopefully not too distant future. With best regards, Hotel am Sendlinger Tor
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel, close to heart of city, way over priced.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The good: Hotel was clean, easy check-in (room was ready to go before scheduled check-in time), just a few minutes walk away from Marienplatz, and located virtually right next to the U-Bahn, only one stop from Hauptbahnhof (main train station). The bad: breakfast not included, very pricey to add on, and the hotel wouldn't change our 100 Euro bills (NO German bank will unless a customer and it seems most businesses refuse to accept them), and the beds we're utterly horrible. The matress was like 3 inches thick and if you are heavy, you would feel the metal underneath (luckily both my wife and I are fairly light), plus the pillows were clumpy. Lastly, there is virtually NO sound barrier between your room and the hallway. Every time someone came in, it sounded like they were in it room, and after people get back from drinking, that is not pleasant. We spent more on this room than any other place on our vacation, including Paris. (More for 2 nights here than 3 in Paris!).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Tired and in but only 15 minutes from the station.

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Decent shower. Location.
Cons: In need of a complete refit or reduce status to hostel with associated pricing.
Location: Excellent location 15 minute walk from the station and on the edge of the old town. All the tourist and shopping sites were a short walk away.
Caveat - we didn't know the main parade of Oktoberfest would be taking place on the Sunday (We only stayed Saturday evening) and paid a really silly amount of money for the room and it was only for one night. But, had we paid the cheapest advertised rate for the year we would have still felt overcharged. The tiny reception was functional with vending machines (think taxi office). The lift worked but was so small and slow we mainly took the stairs. On leaving we were jammed in by a third person and a warning light flashed before the lift descended. The carpets in the corridors showed evidence of much wear and staining but were, I think, clean. The same was true of the room. The room was large enough for two single beds, an open wardrobe (no space for doors), an unstable desk with chair) and a TV. The aerial socket for the TV was hanging out from the wall and the door seemed flimsy. Poor quality repairs / finishes gave a really poor the impression. But the room was clean and safe. The bathroom was spacious compared to the room; it appeared to have been recently refurbished and re-plumbed. Even so racked tiles and rust under towel holders let the space down. The beds were soft and, exhausted, allowed us a good quality sleep. We were only staying one night and had to leave early next morning.
4 out of 5
for Families
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Big room in great location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, giant room.
Location: Go through open air market right next to Marienplatz after you've done the tourist starring at the Glockenspiel clock.
Largest room of any hotel, ever. Young man on desk mornings very helpful, good sense of humor. Don't let lobby put you off, wait until you get upstairs. Our room, however did require you to sit sideways on the potty. Easy walk to Marienplatz and open air market. Beer for breakfast is tradition a former student of mine introduced us to. I stuck with coffee, my family liked the idea. Few restaurants take credit cards even in tourist areas; have some cash.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nicht toll | Not great

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Unser Zimmer was ganz klein, nur ein bißchen mehr als das Bett. Die Wände war krumelig, und die Decke hat Löcher darin. Wir hat nur eine Nacht geblieben, und dann finden wir ein anderer Hotel. Our room here are incredibly small and cramped, barely larger than the bed. The condition of the room was quite poor, with crumbling plaster and holes in the ceiling. We checked out after one night, and found someplace else to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017
Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry, that you did not like your room in our hotel.You should reserve a double room the next time you are in Munich. Our double rooms are more confortable then the hostel room you had have this time. We hope we can convince you during your next stay. Hope to see you again in Munich. Your Team of Hotel am Sendlinger Tor
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel close to the centre

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Cheap
Location: It's extremely close to the centre--just 15 minutes from the main platz.
This hotel has the bare minimums, which is fine if you need to be central but are on a budget. I still think it's pretty steep for what you're getting though--not even a kettle, barely can turn around in the bathroom, people were loud in the halls, and the bed is pretty uncomfortable. The staff were nice and they allowed us to leave our luggage in the luggage room. We didn't have enough time to really research about what our money could get us, but I definitely suggest looking around before committing to spending your money here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Hotel am Sendlinger Tor, Hotel Management
Dear JJ, thank you for your feedback. The location is a big plus of our hotel. You can reach all important places in Munich by feet or by Metro in a few minutes. The staff was glad about your nice words. We are sorry that you did not like the rooms. Maybe you can reserve another kind of room type with more comfort for your next stay. We hope to see you again in Munich.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Everything amazing... except the bathroom

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was perfect.... except the bathroom! Check in was a breeze, staff was more than friendly, the location is perfect, 10 minute walk from marieplatz and close to ubahn. The room was big (for europe standards) we had a great view and 2 windows that let in a lot of light, but the bathroom was mess!! The toilet was almos inside the shower, and the showercurtain kept a. Flying into th shower or b. Flying out of it floding everything.
2 out of 5
by Shyama

Overpriced hostel type hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Hotels
Way overpriced. Paid Euro 115 per night for a hostel type room. Don't know who has rated this hotel as 2.5 Stars!! Should not be more than 1 star. The bed is a typical hostel type bed. Mattress is okay. Room has no mini fridge, no coffee machine and not even a telephone to call the front desk. There is no fan or Air-Conditioner. There was no breakfast. The temp was around 30 first day and could not open the window fully. Could not open the window at night as there was too much outside noise. The noise isolation between rooms is bad as well. I would not have said all this if I paid less but Euro 115 for this tiny room was unacceptable. The only good thing I would say is the location, that's it.