Ratings based on 442 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque

Big room in great location

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Pros: Location, staff, giant room.
Location: Go through open air market right next to Marienplatz after you've done the tourist starring at the Glockenspiel clock.
Largest room of any hotel, ever. Young man on desk mornings very helpful, good sense of humor. Don't let lobby put you off, wait until you get upstairs. Our room, however did require you to sit sideways on the potty. Easy walk to Marienplatz and open air market. Beer for breakfast is tradition a former student of mine introduced us to. I stuck with coffee, my family liked the idea. Few restaurants take credit cards even in tourist areas; have some cash.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel close to the centre

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Cheap
Location: It's extremely close to the centre--just 15 minutes from the main platz.
This hotel has the bare minimums, which is fine if you need to be central but are on a budget. I still think it's pretty steep for what you're getting though--not even a kettle, barely can turn around in the bathroom, people were loud in the halls, and the bed is pretty uncomfortable. The staff were nice and they allowed us to leave our luggage in the luggage room. We didn't have enough time to really research about what our money could get us, but I definitely suggest looking around before committing to spending your money here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2017 by Hotel am Sendlinger Tor, Hotel Management
Dear JJ, thank you for your feedback. The location is a big plus of our hotel. You can reach all important places in Munich by feet or by Metro in a few minutes. The staff was glad about your nice words. We are sorry that you did not like the rooms. Maybe you can reserve another kind of room type with more comfort for your next stay. We hope to see you again in Munich.
4 out of 5
by Mohamed

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
The location is amazing
5 out of 5
by dale

Nice and hassle free place

Posted Mar 15, 2017 on Hotels
I needed a nice, inexpensive place to stay for two days between trips and your hotel fit the bill.
5 out of 5
by Alison

Cheap clean stay

Posted Mar 10, 2017 on Hotels
Great price for location a few mins walk to pedestrian area and only a few mins more to hoffbrau house
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not impressed

Posted Jan 17, 2017 on Hotels
The room was similar to a hostel. We stayed over New Year so expected the price to be inflated. However, a room of this standard should not ever be allowed to charge £95 per night.
5 out of 5
by edward

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Really good, management was happy to postpone the booking for a day
4 out of 5
by Greg

Great hotel

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel was great. Good sized room, clean, comfortable bed, close proximity to the Rathaus and ease of checking in and out. Would definitely go back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but poor hotel

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
Munich was lovely, especially at Christmas time with all the markets. The hotel was well positioned for the city centre, but the rooms were too small and they were in poor condition (e.g. Lights not working, cracks in the bathroom [shower and sink], my sons room had a strange stink coming from the bathroom), also the walls and doors were so thin that every noise had the poential to wake you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Helsinki

Convenient location near subway and center.

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Ebookers
Pros: Convenient location, good restaurants close, nice coffee places around
Cons: floors were cold at least in November
Location: Wirtshouse restauran near is good for great schnitzels
Nice personnel. good hotel if you need just standard accommodation and bed to sleep. No breakfast needed since there is good bakeries near to have a cup of coffee and something to eat