Ratings based on 580 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Well placed comfortable hotel in the centre of Munich
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

Absolutely TOP LOCATION and accommodation.

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness, ambiance, reception staff ultra helpful, location.
Cons: Perhaps some in-room coffee/tea making facilities. Although there are plenty of places all around the hotel - the wife does like her 'wakeup' drink.
We are a well-travelled couple in our 50s and spent a few days enjoying the German Christmas market experience. I have to say that this is the cleanest hotel we've ever stayed in - we never found a fingerprint! The room an bed were spacious. The bathroom was clean enough to eat in and even the hotel lifts were pristine. The location, in the 'Platzl' district is perfect for Munich Old Town; our rear hotel room overlooked the Hoffbrauhaus - literally across the street! We were initially perturbed by this but can honestly say that our sleep wasn't disturbed in the slightest. The double (treble?) glazed windows were truly exceptional in excluding any outside sound. The hotel is around the corner (3 min walk) from the Munich's famous 'Marienplatz' one side of which is occupied by the magnificent gothic 'Rathaus' . Also, right next door is a fantastic authentic German restaurant called Haxnbaum - seriously, you need not look elsewhere for Pork Knuckle, Schnitzel etc. The fantastic 'Victualien Market' with all its fresh produce and meat feast temptations is also only a 5 minute walk. Seriously you won't find a better location. The hotel staff? Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them; my wife forgot an adapter for her phone-charger, the reception found her one in 2 minutes. They even advised us on the cheapest rail tickets for a trip to Regensburg. We have nothing but good things to say about the hotel and staff. Thank you so much, we'll be back. AA+++
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2017 by Heiko Buchta - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Allan, What an absolutely amazing report about your whole experiences at our Platzl Hotel. Thank you so much! We love to read that you enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest. It is our goal to combine the traditionally aspect of our Hotel with all modern features that make your stay more comfortable. The short distances to many attractions of the city makes the location of the hotel quite convenient for Munich visitors and our windows are treble glazed, therefore it is not too loud inside. In our superior and deluxe categories we offer coffee facility’s in the rooms, so I would recommend it to you for your next stay. We highly appreciate that you took precious time to let us know that you were satisfied with our overall service performance. Your appreciation has been passed on to our employees and I can assure you that your comments will definitely be an inspiration to our team to continue their efforts. We are looking forward to welcoming you at the Platzl Hotel again soon. Best wishes from the heart of Munich! Heiko Buchta - General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great central location

Posted Dec 5, 2017
A great hotel in the heart of Munich. The tube network delivers you from the airport within 40 minutes. The staff are helpful, polite and attentive. The breakfasts are outstanding in quality and set you up for the day. I wished there had been a few more English speaking channels available with the tv package. Otherwise can’t fault the Platzl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Lothian.

Very near Christmas markets,S Bahn underground etc

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Pros: Location is superb.Breakfast plenty choice in the buffet also an eggs menu if required. Room was large with all amenities required plus i pad.
Cons: Nothing.Keep on doing what you are doing.
Location: Easy access to various towns in the area.Munich itself is a beautiful city to explore whatever the season
Location was excellent for our trip. Effortless to get round all the Christmas markets in Munich.Also did a few markets in the area. There is a lovely fondu restaurant at the top of the street, booking required.Very Christmas feeling which is great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 7, 2017 by Heiko Buchta - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your time to rating us here on Expedia and your wonderful review. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay to the fullest and had a good time in Munich. We would appreciate to welcome you again. Best regadrs, Heiko Buchta - General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Almost there

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: Position and character
Cons: Bathroom space and WiFi
Location: Central with transport, shopping, restaurants, bars and museums within walking distance
Perfect location for a Munich break. Everywhere tastefully furnished. Generous and varied breakfast with very pleasant service. Our room (449) had temperamental WiFi. I know that it’s an old building, but there are devices to boost it. The bathroom was very very small, not helped by having a bidet using up very precious space. I am not sure why it was plonked there, because the toilet was across the corridor, so it had somewhat limited appeal if you were inclined to use it. Still an excellent hotel I would return to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, Mn

Great location

Posted Nov 25, 2017
Great location with a lot of sites within walking distance, and those that aren’t can be easily reached by public transit. We bought breakfast as part of our stay and were pleased with the options, especially because fresh fruit and vegetables were hard to find on a lot of menus around the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Excellent location, slightly pricey

Posted Nov 21, 2017
This hotel is top notch and the location could not be better. The staff was wonderful, always looking for ways to make your stay better. We had the breakfast option and the breakfast buffet was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Perfectly located and absolutely fabulous place all around!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Excellent Location-

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Conveniently located in the heart of the old town of Munich. Steps away from the Glockenspiel and shopping. Staff was courteous , helpful and dressed in Authentic German attire. Breakfast was fabulous. We highly recommend it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny,ny

In the heart of Munich

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: Location,atmosphere..
Cons: Not much..
Location: Everything you come for in Munich is “just around the corner” or within comfortable walking distance,including the English Garden,museums,etc.
The hotel is very conveniently located in the old city and is within walking distance from many sights,museums and the train station(if you are traveling light)..although centrally located,it is very quiet.staff is good but not all of them friendly or helpful.. Overall,charming hotel with some traditional elements,which is nice..would stay again..
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2017 by Heiko Buchta - General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Martina, Thank you very much for this review you posted on Expedia. I am glad to read that you had a great time in Munich and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is nice to read that you liked our central location and did a lots of sightseeing and shopping. We would appreciate to welcome you again. Best regards, Heiko Buchta - General Manager