Ratings based on 73 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A delightful get-away destination.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Lots to do and see for people interested in 19th century history, viewing gorgeous scenery, quaint little, and seeing picturesque Victorian architect
Good food, nice rooms, vintage feeling, wonderful service.
5 out of 5
by Charles from Roseville

Imperial Hotel - Good alternative in Gold Country

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Hotels
Old historic hotel that has been updated but retains old charm. Excellent staff, friendly and attentive. Great breakfast included served in dining room. Good value and will return.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Gregory

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kathleen from Dayton

Posted Feb 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great food, friendly staff, fun hotel.
5 out of 5
by Camilla from Malmo

In a desert of bad comfort food this is an oasis

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
We absolutely loved our stay at the Imperial from start to end. The small town Amador city is so cute and you get the feeling of traveling back in time. Hotel is beautiful, well preserved but with modern touch, so if you enjoy the comforts of today but wants to experience old times then this is the place to go. Also if you appreciate really excellent service than you are also at the right place. It is one of the best experiences we had during our 2 weeks inCalifornia. We had dinner in their resto and omg, the food is delicious! The complementary breakfast is also great. We are so happy we booked this hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, ca

Great place nestled in Gold Country

Posted Oct 4, 2015
I almost hate giving this place a good review because I'd like to keep it all to myself but I suppose I should share that it's lovely with the rest of the world. I spent a romantic birthday here with my boyfriend to get away from the city. The staff was friendly and great at answering questions. We stayed in room 6 which was nice and roomy with a little seating area. There was a big stain on the carpet that should be worked on or covered with a nice area rug (looked like a red wine incident) but very clean otherwise. The sheets were like butter and the mattress was comfy. The weather was nice so we enjoyed sleeping with the window open and waking up to the sound of birds chirping. The food was simple but good and the wine was delicious in the restaurant. For the price I can't complain and would totally stay here again.
4 out of 5
by David from Rancho Cordova CA

Character creaking and charming

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Old rustic historical hotel with character and charm. The staff is outstanding and the location is pleasant. The building is very old so don't expect fancy and modern. Enjoy the funky creaky hotel.
5 out of 5
by Rosemary from Los Angeles

Special place

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
What a special place. Absolutely lovely room and excellent service. Breakfast was a work of art and delicious. We are already planning our next visit to Amador City and the Imperial.
4 out of 5
by Art from monterey county

Posted Aug 24, 2015 on Hotels
We`ve stayed here 3 times before this time. the other times were always very nice. this time though, the carpet had a large stain in the middle of the room. It made it feel dirty. the hair dryer didn`t work. someone had put kleenex in the air outlet. also, the room was too warm even with the ceiling fan on.we slept on top of the covers. Next time we visit the area, we will try staying somewhere else.