Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Dunnia

beautiful view!

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
The view was amazing from our balcony. Although we didnt sit out there much because we were always out and about. The pool was nice but didnt use it since we were always out. the breakfast was great except the eggs, they seemed like powder eggs. the staff at the front desk was great and helped us book train tickets back to rome. I suggest walking uphill to the next small town about 5-10min. food is great and very affordable compared to Amalfi town. the hotel has a free shuttle about every hour that goes back and forth to Amalfi,which was great. The private beach the hotel has is cute and the umbrella and chairs are included which saves you 20-25 euro a day!overall great stay!
4 out of 5
by John from Bramley

Excellent and memorable holiday.

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great short break in a stunning location with fabulous views of Amalfi and the coast. Swimming pool was excellent, having a private sun terrace and balcony was terrific. Good old fashioned service especially Antonio the Head Waiter. Hotel was very much of its [sixties] time but well maintained and in keeping with the location. Shuttle bus to town was useful and efficient. Food was good but not exceptional. Very enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views but not so good food

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Lovely spot, nice guests and staff. A little too far out of the way.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Bus arrangements were very helpful. Loved the beach. Breakfast was unappetising, sorry, lunch with salads great. Would be good to be able to make tea in our room. Friendly staff- including the beach team!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from basingstoke

Great hotel up on the hill

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Fantastic location up on the hill just outside centre of Amalfi. The hotel has a regular free shuttle bus to the private beach and centre. Staff here were great nothing was too much trouble. Well worth a stay
4 out of 5
by Susan from Oxford

Wonderful views

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
The shuttle bus service was excellent to and from the hotel. The views were amazing and the village above had some little bars where we ate, Gerrys bar was brilliant and provided us with a car service. The downside of the room was that there was no place for soap in the shower and the shower head wasn't very good. Our last 4 star hotel had had tea making facilities but this one didn't which was a bit of a disappointment. There also wasn't a safe in the room but one at reception, not very convenient.
4 out of 5
by Graham from Southport

Week in Amalfi

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
Old fashioned, but best value for money around. View fantastic
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zurich

Scandalous staff behavior

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: At the end glad we did not stay at this place
Cons: Reading the 40 "terrible" ratings on TripAdviser, it tells it all.
My fiancee and I booked an October weekend at the Excelsior Grand Hotel Amalfi through Expedia travel service, with a non-refundable fare. 10 days before, my fiancees father suffered a heart attack, and it became unclear if we will be able to travel. I contacted the hotel to inquire if the hotel, in case we will not be able to attend the weekend, would be able to offer a voucher or similar, allowing us to postpone the trip. I was advised to write an email explaining the situation. Until now, I was not contacted back with a response. Despite the health situation of my fiancees father fortunately improved, with the stressful past days she fell ill, and a day before the departure to Italy I had to contact the hotel again to explain that we will have to cancel our trip all together. The telephone conversation (in Italian) with lady at the reception was the most appalling I had so far with a hotel staff (although being a frequent business traveler since 20 years): Me: “Would it be possible to attend the weekend at a later time? Maybe by issuing a voucher?” Receptionist: “No, we do not offer such a service.” Me: “Can you tell me a name of a manager I can speak tomorrow?” Receptionist: “No, just call the reception” Me: “Can you tell me your name for reference?” Receptionist: “My name doesn’t matter. You now called for the third time, but this is your problem, we cannot help you. I think you should not come back at all to our hotel”. WOW!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Good views but...

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Reasonable price for the area
Cons: Food - nothing is fresh, general low quality
Location: About 4km away from the town Amalfi, there is a courtesy bus but becomes a chore to catch every time you want to go antwhere
Pros - good views, helpful staff Cons - terrible food, needs modernisation, a bit far away from anything