Ratings based on 160 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

We slept on a pullout couch bc bed was hard

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Location: Amalfi is beautiful. This hotel does have a free shuttle to and from the bottom of the mountain into the center of the town.
The hotel is in a beautiful location. we arrived at 9:00pm an were tired from our trip wanting to get a good night sleep. The room was shabby with walls that needed painting and bedspread which was beyond its lifespan looking worn out. The room was clean but we found it impossible to sleep on the bed bc it was as hard as a board. we asked for a change of room and were told by the night clerk that all the mattresses were recently changed and this is a common complaint received at the front desk and there was nothing they could do except offer a couple of thin blankets. We decided to try the pullout couch in our room and it was not comfortable but a tad bit better than the bed. Staff assured me the next morning that they would "work on it"as we planned a 2 night stay. This proved untrue as the evening staff had no idea we had an issue. No attention to comfort or customer service. I travel quite a bit in Europe 2-3x per year and never had this experience. It was very disappointing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Probably better value for money else where

Posted Oct 2, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel could do with a refurb. Dated. Service wasn't great. Hote Purposely snapped off cork screw so they can charge €3 corkage fees if you bring your own wine to the hotel. Given price of the hotel that is unnecessary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with fantastic view of Amalfi

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Location and views. Quiet at night away from the main center of Amalfi but only a 10 minute shuttle ride into Amalfi.
Cons: Shower stall was very tight.
Location: walk through the little town of Amalfi filled with restaurants and shops. There were tours departing from there to other locations on the Amalfi coast
Hotel was very nice, high up on the coastal mountainside with fantastic views of Amalfi and the area. The meals were very good (we had the breakfast plan only, but ate lunch and supper there once). Staff was very friendly and helpful. Shuttle bus was very convenient to go into town and back (however the air conditioning in the larger shuttle bus was not working properly at the time and it was sometimes hot in the bus). Nice pool and mutli-level grounds. We had a two level room which was very spacious, with a walkout patio off the lower level. Shower stall was a bit too small. Other than that it was a good hotel, with a very charming atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Towering Above Amalfi

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Great views. Very friendly staff. Food and service very good. Hotel kept very clean. Need to change up breakfast items..same food every day. Hotel decor dated. Wifi very poor.
4 out of 5
by richard from San Mateo, Ca

Italy Birthday Trip

Posted May 19, 2016 on Hotels
Great views, hotel had a restraunt, bar and terrace. We had a new and modern room
4 out of 5
by Martin from Brighton

It's about breathtaking views

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is all about the views. The service was great, good transfers down into the town (10 minutes) and their own private beach (7 minutes). Hotel itself is a little bit tired. Our room was away from the main building, I think we were allocated a superior room because we were more mobile than some of the other guests. I would stay again if I ever visited the area again
3 out of 5
by Dunnia

beautiful view!

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
The view was amazing from our balcony. Although we didnt sit out there much because we were always out and about. The pool was nice but didnt use it since we were always out. the breakfast was great except the eggs, they seemed like powder eggs. the staff at the front desk was great and helped us book train tickets back to rome. I suggest walking uphill to the next small town about 5-10min. food is great and very affordable compared to Amalfi town. the hotel has a free shuttle about every hour that goes back and forth to Amalfi,which was great. The private beach the hotel has is cute and the umbrella and chairs are included which saves you 20-25 euro a day!overall great stay!
4 out of 5
by John from Bramley

Excellent and memorable holiday.

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
Great short break in a stunning location with fabulous views of Amalfi and the coast. Swimming pool was excellent, having a private sun terrace and balcony was terrific. Good old fashioned service especially Antonio the Head Waiter. Hotel was very much of its [sixties] time but well maintained and in keeping with the location. Shuttle bus to town was useful and efficient. Food was good but not exceptional. Very enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful views but not so good food

Posted Sep 12, 2015
Lovely spot, nice guests and staff. A little too far out of the way.