Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denmark

Træt og slidt hotel, med en sublim beliggenhed.

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Beliggenheden og udsigten fra vores værelse, samt det venlige og hjælpsomme personale.
Hotellet har en uovertruffen udsigt, det fås ikke meget bedre. Personalet var yderst serviceminded og professionelle. Men hotellet er træt i udseendet, både indvendigt og udvendigt og var det ikke for den sublime udsigt og beliggenhed, så havde jeg været skuffet. Men de store balkoner i værelserne og den smukke udsigt hjalp på dette. Der var morgenmad inkl., og den var virkelig skuffende. Tørt brød, ingen frisk frugt (der stod en opsats med æbler og pærer), men ikke tillokkende på nogen måde. Scrambled eggs var vådt og med en mærkelig eftersmag, som smagte meget syntetisk. Alle varianter af juice var koncentrat og de små "brunch pølser" var af kylling (eller kalkun) og var kogte istedet for stegte. Marmelade og alt andet, som kunne smøres på brødet, var de der triste engangspakninger, og smagløst. Osten var "papirost" i skiver, og smagte af ingenting. Dette var helt ens alle morgener, en absolut skuffelse ift. morgenmad. Det skal dog siges at kaffen virkelig var god (hver morgen). Min kærestes og min opfattelse af dette, var helt ens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

ビーチとプールの両方が楽しめる絶景ホテル。

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: 景色、食事、プール及びビーチ
Location: アマルフィの街がホテルより見えて、街までは、バスで10分程度。
アマルフィの街へは、無料送迎バス及びSITAバスを使えば快適でした。ホテルのビーチへも街へ行くバスが経由してくれて快適でした。ランチもホテル内にあり、味も景色も良かったです。朝食も同様に景色も内容も満足です。また泊まりたいホテルになりました。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from basingstoke

Great hotel up on the hill

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Fantastic location up on the hill just outside centre of Amalfi. The hotel has a regular free shuttle bus to the private beach and centre. Staff here were great nothing was too much trouble. Well worth a stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wien

Charmantes Hotel mit tollem Ausblick

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Der Ausblick
Location: Nicht weit vom Zentrum und mit dem Shuttlebus ist es in jeder Zeit erreichbar.
Das Hotel ist wunderschön mit herrlichem Ausblick. Das Hotelteam ist professionell, kompetent und hilfsbereit. Ich möchte zwei Namen extra erwähnen: Salvatore an der Rezeption und Antonio im Restaurant, beide waren freundlich und nett und konnten gut deutsch sprechen. Nicht nur das Zimmer war groß und sauber, sondern auch der Balkon, der mit Balkonmöbel ausgestattet war. Der Shuttlebus funktioniert super. Der hoteleigene Kiesstrand war auch ok. Das Frühstück war ausreichend und vielfältig. Ich würde das Hotel gerne weiterempfehlen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Fabio from Rio de Janeiro

Vista Deslumbrante

Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
O hotel é excelente e têm uma vista deslumbrante. O café da manhã é da melhor qualidade. O único ponto negativo é a localização, bem distante do porto de Amalfi. O hotel até oferece transporte, mas só até as 18h depois disso você precisa utilizar os ônibus da cidade que também funcionam até as 21:30 ou 22h, ou pegar um taxi que gira em torno de 30 euros até o hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gonzalo

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Susan from Oxford

Wonderful views

Posted May 18, 2015 on Hotels
The shuttle bus service was excellent to and from the hotel. The views were amazing and the village above had some little bars where we ate, Gerrys bar was brilliant and provided us with a car service. The downside of the room was that there was no place for soap in the shower and the shower head wasn't very good. Our last 4 star hotel had had tea making facilities but this one didn't which was a bit of a disappointment. There also wasn't a safe in the room but one at reception, not very convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Zintae from Seoul

Nice hotel in Amalfi

Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels
Extraordinary view, nice staffs and cool location on the hill. Will stay again when I come to Amalfi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Graham from Southport

Week in Amalfi

Posted May 9, 2015 on Hotels
Old fashioned, but best value for money around. View fantastic
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zurich

Scandalous staff behavior

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: At the end glad we did not stay at this place
Cons: Reading the 40 "terrible" ratings on TripAdviser, it tells it all.
My fiancee and I booked an October weekend at the Excelsior Grand Hotel Amalfi through Expedia travel service, with a non-refundable fare. 10 days before, my fiancees father suffered a heart attack, and it became unclear if we will be able to travel. I contacted the hotel to inquire if the hotel, in case we will not be able to attend the weekend, would be able to offer a voucher or similar, allowing us to postpone the trip. I was advised to write an email explaining the situation. Until now, I was not contacted back with a response. Despite the health situation of my fiancees father fortunately improved, with the stressful past days she fell ill, and a day before the departure to Italy I had to contact the hotel again to explain that we will have to cancel our trip all together. The telephone conversation (in Italian) with lady at the reception was the most appalling I had so far with a hotel staff (although being a frequent business traveler since 20 years): Me: “Would it be possible to attend the weekend at a later time? Maybe by issuing a voucher?” Receptionist: “No, we do not offer such a service.” Me: “Can you tell me a name of a manager I can speak tomorrow?” Receptionist: “No, just call the reception” Me: “Can you tell me your name for reference?” Receptionist: “My name doesn’t matter. You now called for the third time, but this is your problem, we cannot help you. I think you should not come back at all to our hotel”. WOW!!